We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Clean rooms, but this is a motel not a hotel”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #856 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Metropol hotel is close to the riverside and is 1-2 kms from Aya Sofiya and Blue Mosque.

The rooms are clean but very tiny, elementary and do not have any amenities for Tea/Coffee etc.

The whole place has a old, worn out feel to it.

Located in a congested narrow lane the view from the room is very bad, mostly overlooking under construction buildings, storage area on other areas, cramped up houses. The breakfast buffet needs more variety and freshness.

The staircase is dirty and reception areas are dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piyali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

If u r backpacking, and need a room at cheap price, then u may opt for Metropole. Its located conveninetly near the riverside, main road which has lot of eating options, and is 5 mins away from Aya Sofiya and Blue Mosque.

Rooms are very tiny, and if u r 2 people, with big suitcases or luggage, u may be constrained for space. Bath is also very tiny. The staircase is dirty, and the elevator doesnt give u a safe feel. However the rooms are clean, even if outside the rooms, and the reception areas are dirty.

Pls ask for a room away from the street as the night can be noisy with some construction work which was on during our stay.

Room Tip: Pls request for a room away from the noisy street. Lower floors are preferable, as lift is mostly bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

highly recommended
in the heart of old city, nice clean room, good friendly staff especially waiter "serkan", average breakfast but no doubt I'll go back very close for all the attractions (galata bidge & tower, bosphure docks, sultan ahmet area) and all walking distance i didn't use any transporation during my 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Its really old and the rooms are dated. Our bathroom was pretty bad - the shower door was cracked and came off the rails easily. Breakfast is ok. The hotel manager was very helpful and very nice and the location is excellent. The hotel isn't too bad, its just I didn't think it was very good value for money. Shop around and book early in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is close to the Tram, and major througfare. Major attractions are within walking distance. The breakfast that was provided was adequate, and staff was helpful.
The rooms are rather tiny but clean. Biggest complaint was the construction of the tunnel nearby that went on all night and the rock hard mattresses.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAA78660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here after a hiking holiday. It is cosy and welcoming. The main attractions and bazzars are all within walking distance, we did 4 major attractions in one day! Breakfast is basic but OK - juices are dreadful and coffee is weak. Most staff are helpful but a few .. well not everyone loves their job.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pswiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed 4 times during our 6week Turkey and Greece trip. We found the staff were willing to help, most spoke good english. Location to all major Istanbul attractions including: Grand Bazaar, Spice market, blue mosque, topaki palace, cistern & bosphorous, were all within walking distance. Plenty of places to eat. Rooms we had were all good size. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#838 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#74 of 1,173 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,157 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#14 of 1,259 in Istanbul
552 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#464 of 1,173 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: Ibni Kemal Caddesi, 38 | Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #856 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing