We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Barin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barin Hotel
Ranked #653 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Barin hotel is a great place to stay. Close to the Grabd Bazaar, ysou can take the tram, but also walk - it takes some 10 minutes. Rooms clean, breakfast good. Hotel personnel very nice and helpful. We stayed there for three nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking at the street. Corner rooms are the best, even have a small balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mietsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Barin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

We found the bar/reception area steril - no TV, no atmosphere. I mean the place was fine, but very ordinary. I suppose that's enough. No complaints - it's clean; the front desk people tried to be helpful; the rooms are standard. The breakfast is regular European style.

The location is pretty good for the major attractions. They will set up any tours for you that you may want. The tram is a few blocks away which is good for getting around.

There are plenty of good restaurants in the area.

Overall we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had the misfortune of having our passports stolen in Istanbul and moved to this Hotel as our tour group was returning home the next day and our previous hotel did not have availability for us. The hotel, staff and food was excellent. We had to stay for another week until we received a temporary passport to return home. The staff helped me set up gmail so that I could communicate back home in Canada and talk with our government to try it get our passport process expeditated. Each day they inquired as to how we were doing and gave us directions on how to get around the city. the rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff talked to us like family.
When we finally got our temporary passports, the tour company did not arrange for our flight home as promised and the the Hotel manager arranged to look up direct flights for us to return.
The staff gave us suggestions as to places to eat and were very reasonalble. I would certainly recommmend this Hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul and it is centrally located within walking distances of several attractions. Great value and amazing staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TorontoJohn022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel was just about 15 minutes walk from the Old Town attractions like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and 5 minutes away from the Grand Bazaar. We took a package tour with our national airline, Air Malta and paid just under 400 euros each for flight and 7 nights on Bed & Breakfast basis. The room allotted was 109 just one floor above the restaurant. In my opinion I did not find the breakfast very exciting. I would have preferred more fresh fruit. The coffee was lousy. The aircondition unit was not very efficient and the WiFi connection quite weak.
I would have preferred to stay in a hotel closer to the Old Town.

Room Tip: We had room 109 and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickiHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Lovely place with a comfy family friendly atmosphere. Perfect location. Yummy breakfasts and very kind and friendly staff. I'd recommend everybody who is looking for money value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel fills the basic needs of a traveller, though there's nothing special or extra to it. The location is a bit far for walking to the top tourist sites, but the area itself is a lot more peaceful than, say, Sultanahmet district. The room we stayed in was very small and the walls were quite thin - I used earplugs so no problem with that at night... The room was kept clean very nicely. AC did not work at all, or we couldn't figure out how to use it. Wi-fi a bit weak and unstable. Average breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. Next time in Istanbul we'll stay in another hotel, but if I hear that a friend of mine has booked this hotel I'll tell him: "It's ok".

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of corridors are more spacious. Corner rooms facing the junction of street are most...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elomaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I found this hotel pleasant enough, but nothing special. The location is quite a good base for exploring the Old Town (Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Tokapi palace etc). The rooms were clean but basic. Staff were a bit hit-and-miss; some very helpful and informative, other not so much. Breakfast, again, good but not spectacular. I have no real complains about this hotel, but wouldn't stay there again if I was to return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Maya Hotel
Maya Hotel
#458 of 1,159 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#475 of 1,159 in Istanbul
221 reviews
Grand Ons Hotel
#906 of 1,159 in Istanbul
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ant Hotel
#885 of 1,159 in Istanbul
151 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#867 of 1,159 in Istanbul
110 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Buyuk Keban
Hotel Buyuk Keban
#307 of 1,159 in Istanbul
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barin Hotel

Address: Fevziye Cad. No:7 Vefa, Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #653 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barin Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing