We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second visit, just as good this time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #84 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“second visit, just as good this time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

we went back to the Erboy because it was so good last time and we were very happy with it this time too. The staff are helpful, friendly, efficient and kind. The food in Pasazade is excellent and the breakfast is unsurpassed. I accidentally left an empty backpack behind and they posted it on to me at my next hotel with no problem and no charge. We will be back again, no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    800
    114
    21
    5
See reviews for
483
972
164
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated within an easy (10-20 min) walking distance of almost every site in the old city. Add a warm and accomadating staff and scenic views of the harbor from a roof top bar/sitting area and there is not much more to ask for. A robust breakfast with local influence (including honeycomb direct from a hive!) is included. Minor drawbacks include spotty (but free) wifi and high tubs that could make it challenging for some older folks to shower. Otherwise great location, better staff & value!

Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just back from 5 nights at Erboy and we were very impressed. The location is absolutely fantastic with Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and a bunch of other attractions within a 5-15 minute walk away. You are also a stones throw from the tram line to go a little further afield and close to the main docks where a lot of the Bosphorus cruises depart.

The room was fairly basic but importantly clean, quiet and comfortable with good air conditioning.

The staff all spoke great English and were very friendly and helpful. Thought it was also a nice touch that the lobby has a computer with a printer to allow us to check in and print our boarding passes for the return flight. There is also wifi throughout the building and this worked really well and was impressively quick.

The breakfast was fine, a decent selection of hot and cold food with a mix of Turkish and western dishes. The roof top terrace was also a great spot to spent an hour or two with a drink.

I would say that to me, its not quite at a 'budget' level in that we still paid around 72 GBP a night, certainly not expensive but there are cheaper options in the city. I suspect however that Erboy will offer much better value for money as considering what we got, couldn't complain about the price.

Would advise anyone to look directly on the website for bookings and info as there are a couple of offers running now - free airport transfer if booking over 3 nights and a 7% discount on your bill if you pay in cash on arrival. We unfortunately booked on a third party site so missed out but they are a nice bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil7908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed in Istanbul for three nights. Flew there on Turkish Airlines , they were excellent going and returning. Istanbul Airport has only one terminal and its huge so be prepared for long walks.
The hotel arranged transport from Airport to Hotel and return , efficient and reasonably priced.
The Erboy is very well located for Hagia Sophia , the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace and the Cisternbut be prepared for long queues , we were advised by other Brits to hire a guide this gets you to the front of a long queue be prepared to haggle with the guides.
Hotel clean and efficient staff friendly , rooms small but en suite with air con , worth a visit to the roof terrace . Breakfast was interesting with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barryhodgkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

The hotel was central to all facilities. the rooms were on the small side, but very clean and were kept to a good standard on a daily basis, clean towels, bedding etc. Breakfast was very good with a choice of hot or cold buffet style menu. Would stay again, or recommend it to any one that wished to explore this wonderful city..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We choosed this hotel from the internet for our honeymoon. We stayed at room 1407 at the 4th floor from 8-13 May. As a bonus for staying 5 nights they offered us a complimentary dinner of 3 courses at the Pasazade restaurant of the hotel which was more than delicious. Further more they picked us from the airport free of charge and as a result of a delay they offered us another shuttle back at the airport at the departure. The hotel is definately a 4 star hotel overall, breacfast is more than enough with open buffet breacfast with excellent choise of food serving from 7-11.
The room we stayed was away from the elevator viewing in the front street , non smoking big enough for us and our 3 luggage. Every day they changed towels and bed lining all smelling very good on the big double bed. The amenities of the room was very good also with heating kettle and tea or coffee to choose from. It is quiet hotel and with great safety.
What can we say about the stuff!!! Excellent proffesional behaviour, they are providing every info you need to make your stay there as easy and pleasant as can it be. They always smile and they speak english very well, many congratulations for the guest relation managel Ayse and the receptionists Tolga, Tuba and Can hopefully one day we will be back at this hotel. All of the hotel areas were very clean and neat and there is also a very nice terrace at the top floor which offers great view of Agia Sofia, Topkapi palace and Bospurus bridge.
If you wish to use a swimming pool the Orient Express hotel has an indoor 35sm pool with showers. Guests staying at other sirkeci group hotels are wellcome to use the pool at daily rate of 5 euros pp. The pool is open every day from 9:00-24:00.
The hotel area is Sirkeci 50 metres away from the Gulhane tramway station and very close to the main attractions of Sultanahmet area which you can visit on foot. We recommend this hotel without a doubt for anyone visiting istanbul.
Many thanks to everyone and keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the top floors and away from elevator to less tha noise down facing the street for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, everything about this hotel was fantastic. The staff are superb, willing to help out with anything you may need. The location is prime with easy access to major sights and places you would want to visit. My wife is 6 months pregnant and found the walking distance easy. The streets outside are littered with fantastic little restaurants. Food was 100%. Rooms are not extravagant or large by any means but they are not tiny nor uncomfortable. We actually booked another hotel for our last day in Istanbul after travelling to other parts of the country and regretted it. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 2303 was great for us as a couple. It faces onto the street with the restaurants so live music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#66 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#138 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#121 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#51 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#433 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Property: Erboy Hotel
Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing