We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than adequate”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Erboy hotel has small rooms, no views but is clean. The breakfast is fine, catering for a quick turnover of mass tourists. The best feature of the hotel is the location, near to all the main tourist attractions. This is also the downside since within a few metres of the hotel you will get pressured to buy souvenirs, ceramics, carpets and overpriced food. Chips and rice with everything.

The tourist attractions are overcrowded. Elbowed aside by schoolchildren and guided parties. Overwhelmingly uncomfortable. Better to stay in a more authentic part of the city and take the efficient tram to the attractions, but never on Sunday if the sun is shining.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobE186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    800
    115
    21
    5
See reviews for
483
972
164
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cysoing, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just back from Istanbul where I stayed with my husband and friends. The Erboy hotel is the ideal place to stay as long as the location is concerned. It's in Sultanahmet; Topkapi is at the end of the street, you can walk to the blue mosque and Haghia Sofia and to the hardour to get vapür (sort of ferry boats) to all places. We walked most of the time from the hotel and took the tramway (at the end of the street) or taxis to go to places that were a bit further away.
the hotel takes you from the airport when you arrive and they can arrange a taxi back if you wish when you leave, though the tramway is very easy to use and more convenient if your planes is during the rush hours.
The rooms at the hotel are not very big but they're ok. They're clean and the staff is very nice and helpful if necessary. Breakfast is a buffet and is fine - bread, cereals, eggs, jam, fruit, yoghurt, cheese etc.
The only little details I could say were not perfect are as follow : the bedroom we had had the smallest window I've ever had in a hotel, overlooking stairs and the bathroom was rather on the small side though the size of the shower was ok. The rooms are not exactly sound proof either...
I would recommend that hotel if you plan to visit Istanbul not if you plan to stay in your hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent being only a few minutes from the main attractions in the old city and a 10 minute walk from the seafront and ferries. The staff are most friendly and helpful. 4 of us stayed for 4 nights so our taxi transfers to and from Ataturk Airport were free. Having booked directly with the hotel, we were eligible for a 7% discount if we paid in cash on arrival and this was offered to us again on arrival, we did not have to ask for this.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Their English was superb as was their attitude to hospitality and guest satisfaction. The rooms are fairly small but this is true throughout Sultanahmet. There is enough space - even after shopping at the Grand Bazaar - and they are clean and bright.

A brilliant hotel at a very reasonable price - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeoelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is perfect. My answer to the old question Sultanamet or Taksim is, in my opinion, Sirkeci. Sirkeci is in the epicentre of the biggest attractions in Istanbul, close to all of them, but quieter than Sultanamet.
The hotel is very good. We were a family of five, and we reserved a twin and a triple room, thru their site. As we stayed three days, they offered the shutte from the airport. They upgraded us to what they called a family room - a double room with a single bed in a separated area, which is perfect for a couple with an older child, and a "superior room" with a double bed and a single bed. I found it hard to find twin rooms in turkish hotels, most of them use this last type of room instead.
The hotel has a very good management. The Istanbul Museum Cards were waiting for us, as we have previously requested. They have two computers in tle lobby, that you can use, including the printer (free of charge) which were very useful for printing our boarding cards for the domestic flights we made.
Breakfast is good enough, though not excellent.
I am not giving Erboy the perfect 5.0 score because last night we stayed there I was awakened in the middle of the night by a very loud machine noise (it was very very loud). I guess it was the aircon machine of the hotel, or of another close by hotel, working at full power. The first mission of an hotel is to provide their customers a sound sleep, and in that, Erboy failed, on the last night.
When I reported the problem next morning, at check out, they mentioned a vague "electrical problem", but I wasn´t convinced.
Anyway, if I should visit Istanbul again, I would certainly choose Erboy, and avoid the rooms facing the back street. My very critic 11 year old daughter couldn´t believe it was not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabelsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

ERBOY Hotel offers basic accommodations: clean rooms with en-suite bathroom, cable TV with CNN and BBC. A buffet breakfast with hot and cold options (even honey in a honeycomb - very cool!).

What we love about this hotel is their service. We were corresponding with the staff via email several times, including reservation changes, and all had gone as scheduled (airport drop off and pickup). My husband and I did a quick (and very hectic) day trip to Ephesus and we had to leave for the airport at 530am. They had pre-packed breakfast for us as we would be missing the regular spread offered. Wifi is not available in the rooms, but is present in the lobby and a computer station with online access is available for guests to use. Also, they can provide metro link card to use all over Istanbul and you would just have to leave a deposit for the card at the front desk (refundable when you checkout) and put in credit at the metro stations. As for the location of the hotel, it is right in the middle of Sultanahmet, the historic center. We walked to Ayasofya, the blue mosque and grand bazaar, but also used the metro for transport.
Tip: Try the hotel restaurant Pasazade, best meal we had in Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank periwinkle2lips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Erboy. Staff were very accommodating, the room fantastic, breakfast was lovely with a lot of variety and dinner at the Erboy is interesting and delicious for a reasonable price. The Erboy is close to all major attractions. Just fantastic. Thanks guys.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

As we stayed 3 nights I used free pick up service.
Room was slightly small but I felt no inconvinience.
Breakfast was good enough like English Breakfast.
Wifi was excellent
The location is excellent, you can go most of famous places on foot.

Tram station is less than 100m away and It takes 40min to get to the Airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennyjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#125 of 1,156 in Istanbul
278 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#446 of 1,156 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#66 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#203 of 1,156 in Istanbul
394 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#295 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Property: Erboy Hotel
Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing