We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel in the "old town" of Istanbul”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Erboy Hotel for nine nights. I chose this place based on other reviews posted on Tripadvisor. Could not have made a better choice! The location was, of course, perfect. A short walk to the tram station and reasonable distance (for those of us who are 55+ years and slow walkers) to the main attractions in Istanbul. The staff was courteous and very helpful, especially those at the Reception. They helped us plan many enjoyable trips in and around Istanbul. They gave us a free city map and explained the tram system clearly. We used the tram for most of our excursions in Istanbul. We enjoyed the terrace bar with its fabulous views. One evening it got a little chilly, but they provided us with soft (clean) blankets, so we lingered. The food at their restaurant, Pasazade. was excellent. We also had some great meals in some of the many restaurants close to the hotel. This area is probably the best place to stay for first time visitors to Istanbul. Gives one a nice sampling of what Istanbul has to offer.

Room Tip: Let the people at the Reception know what you want or need, and they will do everything possible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Poonam2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice hotel....best location ever...walking distance from all historical places,one minute from tram station that connects you to all Istanbul till airport.breakfast is nice..but the same for 4 days without any change,very helpful staff and also funny :)
Room was clean,small and Cousy,i guess thats european style room.but we enjoyed it and they had everything prepared as requested.
Only thing i complained about was the roof terrace,they didn't have good isolation so you could hear every single step above you,but the promised they will fix that soon
Airport transfer was in time and had a sign with our names.
Pay in cash to get a 7 percent discount.
Will return back to it definitely next time.

Room Tip: Stay a way from 5th floor specially room 502/503 as you will feel every single step above you on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kareim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When we was the first time in Erboy Hotel, we knew, that we come back there. Our knowledge of languages is very bad, but the personnel is very kind and helpful. Our room have been always clean and breakfast is good. We have been in Erboy Hotel six times and we are going back in august.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a great hotel, spotless, nice rooms, helpful pleasant staff and reasonably priced.
The location is great, 2 minute walk to the tram service, 10 minute walk to the waterfront, 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and nearby sights. The complimentary dinner in the hotel was superb, with no limitations on what you could choose. The bar/ terrace is great with a panoramic view over the city and down to the Bosphorous. Drink prices are also reaonable, much cheaper than the bar beside the tram station which should be avoided. The terrace is a great place to relax and watch the sunset.

The pick up and drop off service to the airport was also very efficient. Allow yourself plenty of time at the airport for, security and passport control. It is a very, very busy airport with lots of queues.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Jim
Northern Ireland

Room Tip: Ask for floor 5 to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is in a ideal location.
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and where quite happy with the hotel.
The staff are very frendly and ensured a comfortable stay.
We stayed in a family room,comparable to a 4 star hotel.
Once again thanks for the lovely service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocanu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Last september me and my husband spent wonderful vacation in Istanbul. We stayed at Erboy Hotel and it was great. Hotel is close to lots of main sightseeings and in middle of bubbeling streetlife in Istanbul. We stayed in first floor and even outside was restaurants we had nice sleep and room was clean and comfirtable. Stuff was careful, smileing and tryed allways help us. Publik transport was just end of the street, behinde coner and from there was possible go to everywhere.We booked hotel stright from their website and got extra welcome dinner which was delicious and seemed that waiters counted our bites, they was always there to offer someting extra......"abnormaly" careing:):) We felt ourselves like royalty:)
We strongly recommend this hotel for enjoying wonderful Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eili1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After quite a few days in research, we settled on Erboy for our 6 day family trip to Istanbul, estimating that it was close enough to everywhere we wanted to visit. We didn't realise how brilliant the location really was till we got there. Close to the Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, and of course you only had to get to the terrace pub to lay eyes on the beautiful skyline and the bewitching water.

The rooms were quite a bit smaller than we had thought though - the four bedded family room is what the double bed room should have been, size- wise, in our opinion. The bathroom was a tad too small and you will almost certainly bang into something there. The other small con for us was room service on weekends - definitely flustered staff what with the hundreds of tourists around. Took us a few calls to get water up to the room always. But that's how it was, there really was nothing that would completely throw or vex you. Small niggles, you just had to run with them.

Other than that, we had a really positive opinion of the hotel - all 5 of us. The rooms are very very clean, great beds, coffee-tea maker with included supplies (limited), effective air-conditioning, and a wonderful shower that would give you hot water at good pressure almost instantaneously. Housekeeping deserves a special mention - they were absolutely prompt and fastidious in their work and genial whenever we encountered them in the corridors - much appreciated. Staff at reception were also well-behaved and helpful, the star being the bloke staffing it at night who checked us in - shaved head and just the most likeable disposition you will find anywhere. Can't remember his name but remember him we will.

The terrace pub affords some wonderful vistas, something you should not miss - we would have paid for the views and it would still have been easy on our wallets what with those wonderfully reasonable prices. Absolutely great.

The complimentary breakfast spread at Pasazade, their basement restaurant, is a little repetitive but reasonably well put together in terms of the basic elements. Meats, eggs, cheeses, cereals, juices and hot beverages. The restaurant itself is clean, spacious and open long hours. The lack of variation was something that we really just swept aside.

The closest tram stop is Gulhane, a two minute walk out left from the hotel. Extremely convenient and really opens up the entire European side of Istanbul to you. The Asian side only means a walk to Eminonu for the hundreds of ferries available - takes about 20 mins.
If stocking up on water and the like is what you're looking for, really, you can look no further than Unal Supermarket right across the street from the hotel. And where eating out is the need of the hour, just walk to the streets behind the hotel for a thousand options, and then some. Open till nearly 3 am for dinner!! Maybe that's the story only in season but it still is phenomenal if you like your drinks to flow for a few good hours before dinner. Definitively, the biggest plus of this hotel is its astounding location.

In summation, this is the hotel you go to if you're a history buff on a budget. Vacationing on a budget and in town to take it in - fits here too. Heck, if you're convalescing and looking for peace, good weather and long walks, just go down to the beautiful Marmara - you will never forget it - and stay here so you can sit at that terrace pub for hours and never be too far from the water.

Cheers and thank you, Erboy.



Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank SandeepPatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#416 of 1,159 in Istanbul
158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#133 of 1,159 in Istanbul
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#51 of 1,159 in Istanbul
982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#210 of 1,159 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £119 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing