We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Much Going For It”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In many cities the restaurant hotel is usually not the best option, but in the Sultanahmet/Sirkeci district of Istanbul the hotels have some of the best restaurants and the Erboy is proof of that. While not exactly budget, the quality and value are there. The hotel itself is run like a 4-star with professional attention to service and a large staff. The rooms are clean with quality appointments, the bathrooms much better than average and useful English channels populate the satellite television. Everything is close to this hotel including the Gûlhane tram stop to get to places that aren't as close. There is a roof-top terrace for gazing out to the Bosporus while enjoying a snack and beverages. There's a breakfast buffet in the morning that has a good variety and is competitive with the other hotels I've stayed at in Sirkeci. This hotel gives you everything you've paid for and little more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel had great service with friendly staff, who spoke English and Turkish well. The rooms were a good size for the number of people, and the Wi-Fi was fast, definitely a plus. Our room had a small but working TV, and although the view was not great from our room, it was overall a 5 star hotel, especially for such a low price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights and we were very happy with our entire experience. when arriving to a new country after flying all night, first impressions are powerful. we walked into a quiet, calm and clean lobby and our check in went very smoothly. we were given a room on the 2nd floor, "the new wing". it had a shallow balcony with doors that opened for fresh air that we always enjoy. our room was situated over the restaurant and the pedestrian-only street, quite pleasant to hear the murmurs of every day life. our modern room and bathroom had all that we required. we appreciated the in room safe and the kettle. there is an elevator, not always available when travelling overseas. the location is excellent as we were able to walk to the main square, the sultanahmet, and the pier, in 10 minutes. the buffet breakfast that is included in the price of the room had a variety of selections, understanding that every country has their own customs with food. the bonus was discovering that one of the top restaurants in Istanbul was right in our hotel, the "pasazade", which was a huge relief to not have to go out and search for a place to eat at night. we went for a drink one night up top on the terrace, nice view. we were able to buy the 72 hour museum pass at the hotel. and they also provide a shuttle service to and from the airport, at a very reasonable cost. when we left @ 4:30 a.m. there was a bagged breakfast waiting for us. not many hotels can match all of this! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for two nights. We had a small room on the 5th floor. Clean and comfortable with good air con. A very powerful shower. The location of this hotel is probably its best feature. Walking distance to most major attractions and near Tram station. Breakfast was more than adequate, with selection of hot and cold food, pastries, cereals etc. Also an excellent restaurant. Ate there both evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a brilliant find. The hotel is in a perfect spot of the peninsula, surrounded by restaurants, and the tram station is just down the road. The rooms are small, but the bed is comfy, and the tv has a very generous range of stations in multiple languages. The real bonus to this hotel is the staff. The guest relations here are second to none. The staff really go out of their way for you. And of course the roof top bar is incredible. A brilliant view to the Asian side and the Haiga Sofia looks great from there. This is a real treasure of a hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Bobert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Erboy Hotel is an absolute gem in the Sirkeci neighborhood of many hotels. I greatly agree...it is the caring attitude of the staff which makes one's stay at this hotel a memorable, wonderful and enjoyable vacation.

On the day I arrived from Pamukkale, I quickly realized I have left behind my iPad charger in the hotel I stayed the night before. I asked for assistance at the Front Desk to contact the hotel for me. Fortunately, they found my charger and was advised that they had mailed to Erboy Hotel. However, we were departing early in the morning for our flight back to the U.S. As soon as I arrived home, I checked my email and found a note from Erboy Hotel that they already sent my iPad charger by post free of charge. Although tired and sleep-deprived from the long international flight, the good news made my day! I quickly replied to thank them for their attention, caring attitude and incredible customer service!!! What a team of good people!

There is no question about the property---the bedroom and bathroom is clean---everything you need is supplied in the room. Breakfast buffet is wholesome! We had drinks in their rooftop terrace and enjoyed a relaxing time before going back to our room. We had room service and food delivered was nicely presented, delicious and plentiful!

The major attractions in Istanbul is easily accessible because of their location. Take the Gulhane tram stop and in less than 10 minutes you have reached the hotel. There are many shops and restaurants within the vicinity.

Definitely, I will stay at Erboy Hotel again on a future visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay and the hotel was a perfect base for our 1st stay in Istanbul and we will use again on our next visit.

From the moment we arrived to very welcome cold drinks all the staff especially Guest relations & reception personnel, cleaners and the rooftop terrace barman were attentive, friendly and professional.

The room has all the facilities you require comfortable bed, good powerful shower, a/c, safe & wifi.

Breakfast was fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, bread & pastries, cheese & cold meats and about 4 hot dishes (eggs, sausages etc).

The meal at the Pasazade restaurant (see separate review) on our 1st night was an ottoman feast & the best of our stay in Istanbul, Included in our booking as a welcome dinner.

The rate was very reasonable and we then got a 7% discount for paying in cash.

The rooftop terrace was visited during the day, at dusk and at night and has great views of the Bosporus and City.

Location wise you are 10 minutes walk to the major sites of Sultanahmet and on top of a tram stop.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#416 of 1,159 in Istanbul
158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#133 of 1,159 in Istanbul
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#51 of 1,159 in Istanbul
982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#210 of 1,159 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#96 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £119 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing