We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits the Bill”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

When you travel from Sydney to Istanbul via, Singapore and London in one hop, you dont want the hotel to dissapoint. A welcome smile , apple tea and quick city info guide was our Erboy introduction. OK, we got 2 single beds instead of a double, however they would change us the next morning. Got the choice of 2 rooms, small by our Australian 3 star standard, bathroom lighting was poor to average and an inconvenience of no fridge and tea making facilities, but thats what you get when you travel. Good breakfasts, clean rooms, opening windows for fresh air , great staff throughout especially John on the front desk, terrific location for tourists like us that are out after brekky and return late in the evening, for a rooftop beer and coffee. Thanks Erboy just another good thing from a great city, Istanbul

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel for around two and a half weeks altogether and it was the great! The staff were all really friendly, and happy to assist with anything you might need. The rooms are nothing special, but they are clean and have good bathrooms (we stayed in 3 different rooms by the end). There is a cute little bar which is usually empty unless you go there yourself, and there is free internet in the lobby. The hotel is in a FANTASTIC location, just a short walk to all the historical attractions (or close to the tram if you prefer) while if you head in the other direction you get to the water and can walk over to the Asian side. There are lots of good restaurants and food places, as well as a supermarket and laundry service close by. The breakfast is OK, basically just cheese, bread, fruit and cereal, but they do also have some hot food such as sausages and potatoes.
All in all, a great hotel in a fantastic location in an amazing city - would definately return!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

An excellent hotel. It is good value, clean and ideally located and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is about 100 yards from Gulhane tram stop making getting around quick and easy. Ideally located for the main attractions like Topkapi and those around Sultanahmet.

I always try and stay here if I can.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Everything about this hotel is great: friendly and helpful staff, services provided, delicious breakfast included, clean room and the location is THE BEST! Walking distance from markets and sites, plus just down the road from the tram, which you can take (with a change to the metro), to the airport for just 3 lira (1.5 tram and 1.5 metro). You can also take a hotel provided taxi for just 35 lira, and I say "just" because the other services will charge you 70 and tell you there isn't any cheaper. We had 6 suitcases and they didn't charge any extra. The rooms are small, but manageable. We stayed 3 times over the period of a month, so we saw a variety of sizes, views and colors (one was lime green). All spotless and well maintained. The hotel is also linked to two others just a couple of blocks away (Orient Express 4 star, and Sirkeci Konak 5 star), and all three have great restaurants. Though we don't typically dine in, this is great for those eves you are too tired to go out. Three of the four restaurants are rooftop, with great views. The street level restaurant at the Erboy is great too. By the way, the star system in Turkey (and Egypt) is defined by number of amenities in the room, i.e. room safe, TV, conditioner, free snacks and water and a bit by room size and decoration. The Erboy is a 3 star, so it only has shampoo and a TV as extras, and the rooms are simpler, but it holds its own with the other two, for an even better location and outstanding staff. While we were staying there, they also installed a 2nd laptop for use in the lobby. You cannot go wrong at the Erboy, they will help you with anything!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasmandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Erboy Hotel was recomanded to me by my parents, they were there las year in December and they said: " If you ever go to Istanbul you should stay at Erboy Hotel, because it's has a good position, near the historical center, it's very nice and with good services"
They were right, i loved my staying at Erboy Hotel, the room is very nice and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
I recommend Erboy Hotey to everybody, the price is very good and at breakfast there is plenty of food and very various.
And if you come by train (as we did) it's near the train station so you don't have to pay any extra money for taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatrinaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I chose Hotel Erboy after a lot of research and the main reason why I chose it, was value for money and location. We got special rates, even though it was the weekend of the Formula 1 Grand Prix, no other hotel was prepared to do that over this specific weekend where prizes rise dramatically because of this event! They also offered a free airport transfer for a longer stay (three nights) and because of the good rate we received, I was able to reserve for one extra night in order to have the room available till late on the night that we left Istanbul to fly back home.

Service was good. They assisted is with transfers to Istanbul Park for the GP on both the Saturday and Sunday, which was a great help to us, as we only arrived late Saturday morning.

Our room was very small (508), but had a great view of Aya Sophia! It was not to close to the elevator and relatively quiet. Breakfast was good, we had no other meals there.

The hotel is within easy walking distance from all the major sites. Aya Sophia, Gulhane Park and the Blue Mosque is the closest. The Grand Bazaar was 20 min walk away and the tram is right at the end of the street. The other hotel of Sirkesi group is right on the main, noisy tram street, so Erboy was the better choice. It was also easy to walk to Eminonou at the waterside to catch ferries as well as go to the Spice Bazaar.

If you want luxury don't go to Erboy, but if you want excellent value for money and a good location, book here. I will definately stay here again. I also considered other, more traditional hotels, like Empress Zoe, but have learnt from experience to go for a hotel that is practical (with elevator for one!), especially at the end of your trip!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ters317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Brilliant stay at the Erboy. the manageress, Ayse, takes the time to greet all her guests with apple tea and half hour to explain where you are, where to go and what to see, it helps and is a great touch! the cleaning staff do a great job and all other staff are friendly and helpfull. breakfast was a bit continental but you dont expect a fry up in Turkey! I emailed ahead to explain we were there as a treat for our 40th birthdays and were given a lovely room, just ask, they are very accomodating! The rooftop bar is lovely, great views and a welcome rest after lots of walking (and boy did we do some walking!) Erboy is central to everything and surprisingly cheap for its location. We didnt actually get around to eating in the resteraunt but met another couple who said the food was great! anyway a fantastic time had by us both at the Erboy, and Istanbul, what a place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embird69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,783 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#268 of 1,175 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#52 of 1,175 in Istanbul
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,060 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing