We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the tourist sights!”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #95 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    324
    92
    26
    7
See reviews for
199
262
83
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Ialong with my family & friends stayed in this hotels from 6th May 2012 to 9th May and again on 15th May 2012. We took 4 double/twin bed. First day we had some problem in allocating the room however they contacted out travel agent and sorted out the issue quickly.
The location of this hotel is fantastic and ll important location of tourist interest within walking distance. The surrounding are of the hotel is full of life. Of course if any body wants calmness, he.she should not look for this hotel. We like it because of the busy street , good cafe, lot of shops etc.

The staff are extremly helpful. The real value for money at the heart of istanbul

Room Tip: no suggestion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalyan kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a very affordable hotel in a great location. I sayed here with my boyfriend for 4 days, during Easter 2012. Main attractions in the Sultanahmet area, Grand Bazar, Eminou are within walking distance. The tram provides good access to the main ferry stations and Taksim. Rooms are small, but very clean and have all you need for a sightseeing holiday. Staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was not the greatest, the same every day, but overall I had a very good experience with this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main street can be nosiy due to the traffic. All rooms have been nicely redecor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigi_55_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sochi, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed ın Ilkay hotel for the 3 time. It s perfectly located (near to Sultanahmet - the historical part and Eminonu - the sea and bıg bus station). The breakfasts were always tasty and the personal - frıendly (especıally thanks to UGUR), the rooms are very clean. That the best hotel for ıts prıce and servıce.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I and my daughter spend 3 nights at this hotel and stayed at room 103. It was facing the street but I barely noticed the street sound. We were too tired from walking the whole day and slept soundly all night through. If your on a budget, I would recommend this hotel. Its close to all the major sites, the rooms were clean, they had a nice breakfast buffet and since we stayed for three nights we got a free airport transfer from the airport. They also offered discount if you pay in cash. A good deal indeed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tates12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel already in 2010 and I must say, it is still the best choice in this location. Just few steps from tram stop and to all main monuments (Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Gulhane park, Yerabatan cistern) and few steps to the sea and great fish restaurants and to the train station Sikeci. I was very nicely surpriced that they made a huge renovation of all hotel and they have very modern rooms with elegant decoration, great modern bathroom. Absolutelly profesional very helpfull and kind staff, guys on reception - my big big thanks - first night when the hotel was full and didn't have room for us (we didn't have reservation here) they called to cca 10 hotels to find the accomodaion for us and then they offered us, that one room will be available after 21:00 and that in our situation they can clean it imidiatelly and have this room for us, which was exceptional! Breakfast is very tasty, plenty of cheeses, ham, scrubled eggs, sausages, and what I apreciate: house made jams! The only "cherry on the cake" would be a roof terrace with a view which some of the hotels in this location have. But this doesn't allow the position of the building unfortunatelly ... ;o) Next time definitelly again Ilkay hotel in Istanbul!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena_S39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel has superb location right on trolly line, near the big historical sights. For $80 a night we got a corner suite and buffet breakfast. The room was clean and nice with the exception of some furniture pieces with old cigarette burns. Go figure why they wouldn't fix this!

The bathroom was in good, modern condition, but, again, had cigarette burns and peeling veneer on the ledge above the sink. If you can hold your nose to these small problems, the hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstrasburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#57 of 1,141 in Istanbul
972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#154 of 1,141 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#72 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#56 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#205 of 1,141 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#157 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing