We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively Good”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #65 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Hi there,
Another trip to Istanbul, I tried a new hotel. This one was totally good but only according to its price. Although the room was clean, the air conditioning in this hot weather was so so. The break fast was average.

According to its price, in Sirkeci area it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: As always in Istanbul, IF you pay in cash you will get 6~10% discount on the room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed at Ilkay a week in August 2012. The personel is full of willingness to serve the guests at high level. The rooms are clean, nicelly designed, well conditioned. Good location. Free WiFi, free shutlle from airport. My appreciations to Sedat (a reciptionist) who sincerely tried to do his best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketevan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Nice place, very good location (10m on foot from interesting sites) public transport on the same road, good pub on the basement.
I recommend M.Sedat Mersin, he'll do his best to help and knows a lot of good places.
We will definitively go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed there from the 6th of july until the 11th. i had stayed in marmariz and really hated the hotel there so i was really concerned about this hotel; luckily it was a very nice hotel...very close to the touristic sites like hagia sofya, blue mosque, grand bazaar etc. The rooms were comfortable, clean, the guys at the reception were helpful and friendly, the lobby always smelled nice. Unlike my hotel in marmaris, ilkay hotel had free wifi access and the tv channels weren't entirely turkish (I speak arabic and was glad to find 4 or 5 arabic channels). Being at walking distance to the tram, bus and train stations was very helpful. I really recomnend this hotel to anyone on a limited budget and interested in visiting the city's historical sites.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ilkay. The staff was wonderfully pleasant and accommodatıng and services was excellent for a budget hotel. Ilkay is well located in the Sırkeci Distrist and many of the sights are within walking distance from the hotel. There was free wifi and a hearty

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bampoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel Ilkay is a great hotel. It's location is very good, nearer to Gulhane tram station. Its walking distance to Sultanahmet Blue Mosque and also to the grand bazaar. Its lively area, there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearer to the hotel and they remain open until mid-night. Hotel service was very good, the staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was served on the ground floor and it was quite good. Rooms were clean and spacious. During My next trip to Istanbul I will select my accomodation at Hotel Ilkay only.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHATRI_TANZANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Ilkay is really centrally located in Sultanamed. We were able to walk to Begolu across the Galata bridge, the market, the Blue Mosque, the Aya Sofia. There were many restaurants and cafes very close by.
The room was small but clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,774 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#151 of 1,163 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#47 of 1,163 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#69 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,163 in Istanbul
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing