We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful personnel, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #110 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very helpful personnel, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

the hotel is very well positioned, at a walking distance from Agya Sophia (on one hand) and to the harbour (on the other hand). The room was not too big, but confortable. Not a fantastic view, I have to say. However the personnel was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was also good, with a lot of turkish dishes, but also a choice of European dishes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicomorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    324
    92
    26
    7
See reviews for
197
262
81
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Hi there,
Another trip to Istanbul, I tried a new hotel. This one was totally good but only according to its price. Although the room was clean, the air conditioning in this hot weather was so so. The break fast was average.

According to its price, in Sirkeci area it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: As always in Istanbul, IF you pay in cash you will get 6~10% discount on the room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed at Ilkay a week in August 2012. The personel is full of willingness to serve the guests at high level. The rooms are clean, nicelly designed, well conditioned. Good location. Free WiFi, free shutlle from airport. My appreciations to Sedat (a reciptionist) who sincerely tried to do his best.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketevan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Nice place, very good location (10m on foot from interesting sites) public transport on the same road, good pub on the basement.
I recommend M.Sedat Mersin, he'll do his best to help and knows a lot of good places.
We will definitively go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed there from the 6th of july until the 11th. i had stayed in marmariz and really hated the hotel there so i was really concerned about this hotel; luckily it was a very nice hotel...very close to the touristic sites like hagia sofya, blue mosque, grand bazaar etc. The rooms were comfortable, clean, the guys at the reception were helpful and friendly, the lobby always smelled nice. Unlike my hotel in marmaris, ilkay hotel had free wifi access and the tv channels weren't entirely turkish (I speak arabic and was glad to find 4 or 5 arabic channels). Being at walking distance to the tram, bus and train stations was very helpful. I really recomnend this hotel to anyone on a limited budget and interested in visiting the city's historical sites.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicaysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ilkay. The staff was wonderfully pleasant and accommodatıng and services was excellent for a budget hotel. Ilkay is well located in the Sırkeci Distrist and many of the sights are within walking distance from the hotel. There was free wifi and a hearty

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bampoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel Ilkay is a great hotel. It's location is very good, nearer to Gulhane tram station. Its walking distance to Sultanahmet Blue Mosque and also to the grand bazaar. Its lively area, there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearer to the hotel and they remain open until mid-night. Hotel service was very good, the staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was served on the ground floor and it was quite good. Rooms were clean and spacious. During My next trip to Istanbul I will select my accomodation at Hotel Ilkay only.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHATRI_TANZANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#63 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#52 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#143 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#253 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#200 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing