We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room but very well located”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #114 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Basic room but very well located”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It used to be a budget hotel of the Sirkeci Group, but was told few months ago there was a split among the owners and its only sister hotel now is the Sirkeci Mansion. We stayed here 4 nights on our first visit in Istanbul.

The location cannot be better, you are within a few minutes walk to the tram station, Tokapi Palace and Hagia Sophia. In fact it didn't take us long to walk to the Spice Market and cross over the Galata bridge.

The room is quite basic but comfortable. The shower area is a bit tight though. Two bottles of water are provided each day for coffemaking, an electric jug was provided for boiling water.

The breakfast was very good and fresh with wide selection of breads, hard boiled eggs, saussages, cheese etc and fresh honey, but the same thing everyday!

The staff are friendly and helpful. If you book directly and pay cash, you get 7% discount. Overall it is a good hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    324
    92
    26
    7
See reviews for
199
262
83
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toa Payoh, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Location was good, you can easily walk to Sirkeci Station.
Staff's were very friendly and they allow for late checkout during my stay.
If you book directly by visiting make sure to ask the room type, because for the last one night (after return from Cappadocia), they gave me twin bed room which my wife didn't like. But still they offered me another one but i don't want to change since it was on another block and it is for only one night.

They can improve the Breakfast, i see the same items for all 5days and quite bored.

Room Tip: Check the room is fitted with new Air Conditioner or old type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

location is great..just 5 minutes from Gulhane Tram Station. the hotel area is so convenient with a lot of gift shops, turkish delight shop and convenient store (just in front of the hotel).

we had a triple room and family connecting room which is more than enough space for us.
service is good, they can speak English well and allow us to keep our bags in their luggage room while we were on our Cappadocia & Pamukkale tour for 3 days.

Once we got back to Istanbul from the tour the room is not ready but they allowed us to have breakfast which is so nice.

Will i come back again to Ilkay if i visit Istanbul? definitely!

Room Tip: we had rooms on 2nd and 4th floor..facing the road. even with a bit noisy (just a bit) bcos of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalilamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This is close to all the main attractions. Breakfast was better than any other hotels I stayed during my holiday. Room was comfortable, had all the facilities. People in the reception guided me well whenever asked for a direction.

But I was disappointed once. When I asked for direction, I was told to take taxi to taksim which would be quicker and cost only 14 lira and they arranged a taxi. It was misleading. I ended up paying 17 plus.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arhtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was located within short walking distance of the main historic sites of interest. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, you would hear other guests talking in the corridor at night. It wasn't ever very late at night so it didn't actually disturb my sleep. The breakfast was nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suds26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed at Ilkay on three occasions and hope to return in the future. I liked that the rooms have a safe case, excellent Wi-FI and are a good size. The rooms are kept clean, bottled drinking water is provided, beds were comfortable.

The hotel is well located and near all the top attractions in Istanbul. The bus station, metro and ferries are nearby. Breakfast consists of boiled eggs, feta and cheddar cheese, cornflakes, sausages, yogurts, fruits, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladan_Ismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souk Ahras, Algeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Ilkay hotel is the great place to spend the perfect vacation .
Everything in the hotel is perfect, the location wich is in the midle of the historical area, topkapi, hagiasofia, galata tower, imnunu...
the staff is great everyone of theme is ready to help you at any time
the rooms are wondrful , clean, smell good, vaste,....
the breakfast is delecious you can find what you want
bref ilkay is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#55 of 1,140 in Istanbul
972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#147 of 1,140 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#70 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#54 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#204 of 1,140 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,140 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing