We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Istanbul”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #114 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 nights in Istanbul”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Hotel accommodation is basic but very clean, and the breakfast provided was very good. It is conveniently positioned for all the sights in the old city.. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful., making for a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laureen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    324
    92
    26
    7
See reviews for
199
262
83
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location is fantastic. It is close to all main attractions. Rooms are basic but it is ok for city trip. Breakfast buffet is good. Staff is friendly and ready to help you. So i can recommend this hotel from heart.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wife and I stayed three nights at the Ilkay in late May 2014. It is on Hudavendigar street which is on the T-1 tram line. We had a room facing the street on the second floor. It is a great hotel and caters to tourists. After booking, we got a great welcome email from the owners providing a number of links to very helpful tourist sites on the web and a you tube video showing how to use the public transport in Istanbul. Room was well used but very clean and well maintained. The tram line outside was somewhat noisy if you leave the windows open, but it shuts down late at night. We had no trouble sleeping with the windows open. The rooms do have AC.

They have a breakfast buffet included which was very nice.

They also have a bar on the Ground floor where we ended up each night before heading off to bed.

Only half a block from the Tram stop at Gulhane, there is a small quikstop shop across the street where you can get snacks and bottled water. Numerous cafes around. Less than 5 to 10 minutes walking to any of the big sites in old town Istanbul.

Very happy with our choice and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Street view rooms are likely to have more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlinRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Ilkay for 4 nights in May 14. The hotel is in a very convenient location-minutes from Gulhane Park and the tram stop, many different restaurants and shops nearby, and within walking distance to all the main tourist sights and Eminonu waterfront and Galata bridge.

The room was quite basic, but very spacious, clean and tidy. We had a good, quiet air conditioning unit in our room. We noticed there were a number of rooms on the other side of the building which looked like they had been renovated. Whilst we were still happy with our room, it wasn't a modernised one.

The only problem we had was with the street noise. Our room was above a restaurant, and well into the night we could hear traffic (trams and car alarms), and some construction work carrying on outside. The rooms on the other side of the building would be much quieter.

Breakfast included a selection of fresh bread and cheeses, fresh salad items, tea, coffee, yoghurt and cereals.

The staff were nice and very helpful. I would stay here again and would highly recommend others to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a renovated room, and one which does not face the street.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mallowpuff_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Everything you should see is reachable in few minutes. Hotel offered no own transportation but helps to organise. Breakfast was good. Personal was very friendly and speaks english. I stayed 6 nights and will go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel Ilkay can be recommended. It is a good basic hotel with excellent location. Clean rooms. Good discounts for reservations made through the hotel website (7 % cash discount and a free transfer from the airport, since we stayed 3 nights). Informative and friendly emails sent after reservation and before arriving to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It used to be a budget hotel of the Sirkeci Group, but was told few months ago there was a split among the owners and its only sister hotel now is the Sirkeci Mansion. We stayed here 4 nights on our first visit in Istanbul.

The location cannot be better, you are within a few minutes walk to the tram station, Tokapi Palace and Hagia Sophia. In fact it didn't take us long to walk to the Spice Market and cross over the Galata bridge.

The room is quite basic but comfortable. The shower area is a bit tight though. Two bottles of water are provided each day for coffemaking, an electric jug was provided for boiling water.

The breakfast was very good and fresh with wide selection of breads, hard boiled eggs, saussages, cheese etc and fresh honey, but the same thing everyday!

The staff are friendly and helpful. If you book directly and pay cash, you get 7% discount. Overall it is a good hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#55 of 1,140 in Istanbul
972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#147 of 1,140 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#70 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#54 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#204 of 1,140 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,140 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing