We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #98 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a perfect location, in the middle of everything. Very clean rooms. The pub under the hotel makes you feel welcome and is women friendly. Am definitely going back to this hotel when i return to istanbul.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Siobhán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, great location - just 5 min walk to blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, and good breakfast buffet. We stayed in two different rooms as part of our honeymoon trip. This was our first hotel and last one we stayed at. Overall, very happy with both rooms. And the staff was very friendly. Would return if we came back to Istanbul.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First, let me say that this hotel worked perfect for our group of high school students that were in Turkey for a cultural exchange program. The location was excellent with just a short walk up the hill to the Sultanahmet area or a short walk down the hill to the water. It's also right on the tram route so it's easy to get to and from the hotel if you're a little farther away.

The decor and room furnishings are very plain and generic. It you're looking for a luxurious hotel, this is not your place. But if you need a clean place to stay and a limited budget, this place is perfect.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. One of our team members dislocated his toe

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gallascpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient place for both Eminonu and for Sultanahmet. There is a western style bar on the ground floor and ''imbat' restaurant which is ranked high among tripadvisors are
just nextdoor. I stayed 4 days for business and for fun. There is no problem if you just sleep specially if you consider the money you spend. Special thanks to Yunus, Meric and Kahraman
for their help. Streetcar noise did not bother me at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

this hotel is perfect well placed with nice reception all around plenty of shops and restaurants staff very helpful breakfast room to be refurnished good breakfast xmas very cold to enjoy Istanbul but will return to this hotel without hesitation. some rooms to be refurbished love to come back other time of year. Family chaine with other hotel in same aerea very well placed near everything to see!!

Room Tip: rooms to be modernized as well as breakfast room but for the prize and area nothing to say. will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eivor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is a real gem!!! I emailed the manager several times before the trip and he was very accommodating. Our room had 2 doubles which was not ideal but it was in the newer section which is what I requested. The daily breakfast was decent but not spectacular. The location was PERFECT!!! It was a short walk to many sights which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cszlaien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What can you say? Great in services, and value for money. I have been to this hotel more than once and it has become a family affair. I even had a family trip with all the family booked four rooms and had a blast.

Room Tip: Best rooms on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_Baldacchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#55 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#51 of 1,160 in Istanbul
982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,160 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#72 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#186 of 1,160 in Istanbul
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing