We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great week in this hotel.”
Review of Santa Sophia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Sophia Hotel
Ranked #500 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Zonguldak, Turkey
1 review
“It was a great week in this hotel.”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

It was really great week in this hotel. The staff were really so friendly and helpfull. They cleaned our room every morning, and the breakfast was also so tasty. And the place of the hotel is just in the middle of Sultanahmed. You can walk to any historical place.
I would love to have another week in here.Thanks alot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sercan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    70
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
55
51
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The location is excellent. Everything is there (historical sites, bazaars, trem station, souvenir shops, cafes). The staffs were very helpful. The room is warm, cozy and very clean. Really a great

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maysa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel is in a very convenient location close to the tram stop and within walking distance of the main tourist attractions such as the grand bazaar, St. Sophia church and the Sultan Ahmet mosque. It is also not far to the water front and main tourist areas. Our stay was very pleasant, the rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We've stayed there 10 days to visit almost all the ancient history around the area. I have to admit that the hotel has a great location! It is right in the middle of the Sultanahmet Square and Beyazit area which is very close (5 min. walking distance) to Grand Covered Bazaar, Blue Mosque, St.Sophia, Museums etc. I can say we only walked to reach anyplace we wanted to go. In addition, public transportation is only 100 yards away from the hotel in case you want to go to the public boats and other main transportation center. It was all convenient for us. Many restaurants, super markets are around there like you fell yourself at home. I don't think I could find a better location than that to spent my entire 10 days holiday.
Hotel rooms are great, clean and in decent size. Breakfast was awesome! I could find different kind of cheese, olives, pastries, cakes, fruit juices, breads, traditional sesame bagels (simit), good quality coffee, tea etc. Service was great, Front desk, restaurant service and bellboy staff were very helpful and friendly. You can't beat that! We got all the answers from front desk for the questions we asked. They offered us Bosphorus and Princess Islands tours which were great and very enjoyable! I recommend them. Room was cleaning everyday by maids and they change the towels and sheet if you requested even everyday.
Ohh I have add this; hotel lobby was gorgeous! It was very comfortable, stylish, well decorated! There are some chair and table you can sit front of the hotel and enjoy your drinks at night!
It is overall nice charming, clean hotel which is well worth what we paid right in the heart of the Old City of Istanbul. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ugurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

the staff are really helpful and friendly staff. and the hotel is a perfect location for all the important sites.the breakfast was okay, but kind of boring, there is no cereal or fresh fruit except watermelon. the room was clean on arrival, but we stayed for 6 nights and it wasn't cleaned during our stay especially the bathroom, although fresh towels were provided everyday. for a budget hotel it was great and if i were to have a budget holiday again i would stay at Santa Sophia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My friend and I were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We were worried before we arrived as the route to this hotel had bad traffic...but all that disappeared within minutes of our arrival..
The lobby was clean and nice. The receptionists and staff were very courteous and helpful; including bookings for the tours. The room itself was ok with all the basic facilities working well. Internet wireless was free. From this hotel, we only needed to walk about 10 minutes to reach the blue mosque, ayasophia and sultanamet square.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

First impressions frm the street, the hotel looks a little worn and could to with a lick of paint but once inside the place was clean and tidy.

Rooms were clean and comfortable and overall a good hotel to base ourself in when in Istanbul.

The Grant Bazar and Blue Mosque are only a 5 minute walk away.

All in all if you are on a budget, this is the hotel to stay in. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#399 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#552 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Sultanahmet
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#271 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#256 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#76 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#863 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Sophia Hotel

Property: Santa Sophia Hotel
Address: Tasdirek Cesme Sok No 20 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #500 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Sophia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Sophia is in the heart of the historic center of Istanbul and many famous sights such as the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace are within walking distance.The hotel’s 40 guest rooms are simply, but comfortably furnished. Each room has a private bathroom, as well as satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Buffet breakfast is included in the room rate and the restaurant is also open for dinner, serving international food as well as many Turkish dishes.The Santa Sophia is in a great location for public transportation around the city, with both tram and bus stops close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Sophia
Santa Sophia Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing