We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good deal!”
Review of Santa Sophia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Santa Sophia Hotel
Ranked #562 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Very good deal!”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Booked hotel golden crown through Turkey TPS incl. airporttransfer to hotel. One week prior to my departure my booking was moved to the Santa Sophia hotel, which was right next door to Golden Crown. Upon my arrival at Sabiha Göcken Airport nobody was there to pick me up and the phonenumbers given did not work. Contacted the agency when i arrived at hotel, but they had no intention to help out. Taxibill was quite expensive and cabdriver stole my money. Can NOT recommend Turkey TPS- when you book:-)

As for Hotel Santa Sophia:
Location is just in the middle of everything- you can easily walk to everything in Sultanahmet area- and tramline is just up the road from the hotel. 5 star location.
Staff: Absolutely friendly and helpful and very kind. When my money was stolen I was invited to have lunch with staff- see thats Turkish hospitality:-). 5 star staff.
Room: I do agree that some rooms might be very near elevators and the noise they make. Same thing for rooms in lower floors- might be noisy- you are in the middle of everything:-) My room was on 5th floor- smallish as normal for this type of hotel. Clean towels and change of bedspread was done a couple of times during my week there. For a 3 star hotel I found it to be fine.
Telly: no english news channels.
Breakfast: I was pleasantly surpriced of selection for breakfast- very good for a hotel of 3 star.

All in all I think that the hotel lives up to its 3 stars- and service is more than 3 star- definately:-)

I am a big fan of Turkey, bigger fan of Istanbul- and I love the genuine Turkish people- and no, not everything is perfect there but I always feel very welcome and people want to help even if they dont speak one of my languages.

I do recommend the Santa Sophia if you like a good-deal, good location and friendly staff. As for Istanbul- YES YES YES!

  • Liked — staffs friendlyness and helpfulness
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    70
    42
    25
    19
See reviews for
56
53
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We went to the hotel for four nights on Easter, the staff at the reception desk was professional and helpful but unfortunately the rooms were not as good.
We stayed in two different rooms, the first one was quite big but seemed the walls were made of paper!! We could hear the phone, alarms and conversations in other rooms as if they were happening in ours.
After a few days traveling traveling around Turkey we went back to the hotel for the last night, (had already booked it and didn't have time to look for a different accommodation). We were given a different room, which was not very clean, (mould in the shower, paint & plaster falling off the wall), and had quite an unconfortable bed.
The location was good, 5 minutes away from the Cemberlitas tram stop, and 10/15 min away from the main views in Sultanahmet, but there are many hotels on the area and would definitely try another if I went back...

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

We were there from 23/02/07 till 25/02/07/ The staf is realy good, very polite and kind. But it's not a 3 stars hotel - the room wasn't ckeaned during our leaving, size of the room is veeery smal and the worse is elevator which work we heard all night long.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ermakov.vitaliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2006

The staff was excellent. I recommend this hotel. It is a good price. I paid 40 USD for double and 35 USD for single.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nikki7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 May 2005

We stayed at Hotel Santa Sophia in the Sultanahmet quarter, south of Divanyolu main street, at a walking distance from Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, from 27 April to 6 May 2005. Friendly staff, good healthy breakfast included, free transfer from Airport, bedroom and bathroom surprisingly good for this 3star hotel. As there are various hotels with more or less the same name e.g. St. Sophia Hotel, it is advised to check its right location (Tasdirek Cesme Sk no. 20), as taxidrivers cannot be trusted and may easily drop you off at the wrong place.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#483 of 1,156 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#645 of 1,156 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Fors Hotel
#578 of 1,156 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#890 of 1,156 in Istanbul
358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#452 of 1,156 in Istanbul
422 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,042 of 1,156 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Sophia Hotel

Property: Santa Sophia Hotel
Address: Tasdirek Cesme Sok No 20 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Sophia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Sophia is in the heart of the historic center of Istanbul and many famous sights such as the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace are within walking distance.The hotel’s 40 guest rooms are simply, but comfortably furnished. Each room has a private bathroom, as well as satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Buffet breakfast is included in the room rate and the restaurant is also open for dinner, serving international food as well as many Turkish dishes.The Santa Sophia is in a great location for public transportation around the city, with both tram and bus stops close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Sophia
Santa Sophia Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing