We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Express Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Express Star Hotel
Ranked #879 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The service is really bad, the receptionist doens't speak english, so when I had to check out the, the guy from the reception had to call the manager , who is the only one there who speaks english. The breakfast is very poor. There is only one elevator at the hotel, so we had to go to our 7th floor room by stairs because the elevator had a problem and the guests could not use it for 5 hours. The staff are rude and we asked for an extra towel and they sad no. The rooms are very small, just like the bathroom. The only good thing about the Taksim Express Hotel is the location. I will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laraclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    33
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
35
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I actually stayed in this hotel from 29 sept 2011 to 3 oct 2011.

Having read some of the reviews we were a bit nervous about our decision to book the hotel.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel (despite the scaffolding outside for a paint job).
The reception staff were friendly and efficient and had good English.

The room we stayed in was 204 and it was immaculately clean and nicely decorated which gave it a mice ambience. The beds were like soft clouds and just seemed to wrap around you, we got some great sleeps while there.

Despite some reviewers complaining about the breakfasts, we found the breakfast to be excellent and there was always plenty to go around and the plates were always refilled.

The hotel itself while small is very comfortable and clean and close to all amenities, trams etc. A walk up or down the hill will take you onto the transport system.

I would stay in this hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

spent 5 beautiful days in istanbul in sep 2011. it was a very gd stay. i stayed in the bhosphorous view facing room on the 6th floor,601, it was the best room in Taksim Star. room was gd and neat. Breakfast was quite average. Staff was vey helpful. Excellent location. Few steps away from the famous taksim square and istikal street. they only need to upgrade their key system and the AC. rest all was grt....

Room Tip: Sea Facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZIZ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I got a good deal on the price via booking.com, i liked the hotel its clean and staff are very helpful. Although I spent most of my time out of the hotel but when i come back I feel like I’m at home.

Room Tip: all rooms are small so do not expict alot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSalamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel in March for 5 nights. The hotel is a lot smaller then we expected, however was suitable for a short stay.
We booked 2 double rooms. When we checked in we ended up with a twin room and a double. The double room was extremely small but clean, it had a Queen size bed not a full double , the bathroom was also small but clean; it was suitable for a single person but if there were 2 people staying in this room it would have been a struggle. The twin room was an average size, again the bathroom was small but clean. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels.
Breakfast – this was a basic Turkish breakfast, very limited choice, not the best quality but was edible.
Location – 5 minute walk to Taksim Square, however the quickest way to get to this hotel was down a dark back alley.
We managed to get a cheap deal for this hotel, however the rate for this hotel has tripled, we would not be willing to pay more to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinthesun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express Star Ho... i, Satış Müdürü at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
dear guest,

in this hotel and all of them taksim hotels have there are flaxible rate for staying.
Our hotel prices may rise by occupancy.If you book early you how you stay so cheaply.
extension request on the same day may have raised highly the hotel room accommodation fee.
Our hotel prices are the same as online and reception.Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Nice and clean hotel located centrally just down the hill from Taksim Square. Room was quite small, but had everything we needed. It was my second time staying here, and would certainly stay again - hotels in Istanbul can be hit and miss, but this is quite adequate for the mid-range tourist, with its location being a very big plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Bathroom extremely moldy!! Showers are uncomfortable and mold is not only in the shower but on the bathroom tile. They leave extra toilet role on the handle of the toilet cleaner. Room is small but okay. No business center, no pool (website is a little misleading), no laundry. When we asked how much to send out for laundry, they quoted a ridiculous amount. Hard to communicate with front desk but some of the front desk folks tried to be helpful. Hotel is not ideal for first time Istanbul travelers. Front desk does not take phone message or deliver messages. Our tour company started to fax in pick up times rather than calling the hotel to let us know.

Would not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tauzlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Taksim Star
Hotel Taksim Star
#857 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Sisli
Taksim Express
Taksim Express
#531 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Beyoglu
Economic Star Hotel
Economic Star Hotel
#930 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Istanbul Inn Residence
Istanbul Inn Residence
#735 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#640 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#139 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Star Hotel

Property: Express Star Hotel
Address: Inonu Caddesi. Dunya Saglik Sokak No.11 | Gumussuyu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #879 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Istanbul ! In the heart of the city, the Taksim Star Express Hotel is just a few steps from Taksim Square. It features air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, and has a 24-hour front desk. The Star's rooms feature blackout curtains for a restful night's sleep. The rooms are all provided with simple furnishings, central heating and an LED TV. Some rooms have windows with panoramic city views. The hotel has non-smoking rooms. In the morning, the hotel serves a rich continental breakfast. The Hotel Star also has a café bar that has alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Guests can enjoy the hotel's dry cleaning, ironing and room service for an additional fee. At the tour desk, the friendly staff provides information on local attractions and assists with car rental. The lively streets of Istiklal Avenue are just a 4-minute walk from Taksim Star Express. Ataturk Airport is 16.9 km away. A private airport shuttle service can be arranged upon request. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Express Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing