We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Express Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Express Star Hotel
Ranked #869 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Great location, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms. Great location (2 mins walking distance to Taksim square).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    33
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
35
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

location iis very nice and the room is clean but it's smal and breakfast is poorthe hotel staff was Being irritable and angry .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SHAHRAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

The locations is perfect, very near from Taksim (3 min. walking), and in a very quiet street. I booked through booking.com, and I payed for a room 50 euros for two people. The room was good, not very big, but clean, new, and with good views from the last floor. I find it cute, and knowing how are the prices in taksim area is a really good value for your money. I will reccomend it!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tamerlan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The service is really bad, the receptionist doens't speak english, so when I had to check out the, the guy from the reception had to call the manager , who is the only one there who speaks english. The breakfast is very poor. There is only one elevator at the hotel, so we had to go to our 7th floor room by stairs because the elevator had a problem and the guests could not use it for 5 hours. The staff are rude and we asked for an extra towel and they sad no. The rooms are very small, just like the bathroom. The only good thing about the Taksim Express Hotel is the location. I will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laraclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I actually stayed in this hotel from 29 sept 2011 to 3 oct 2011.

Having read some of the reviews we were a bit nervous about our decision to book the hotel.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel (despite the scaffolding outside for a paint job).
The reception staff were friendly and efficient and had good English.

The room we stayed in was 204 and it was immaculately clean and nicely decorated which gave it a mice ambience. The beds were like soft clouds and just seemed to wrap around you, we got some great sleeps while there.

Despite some reviewers complaining about the breakfasts, we found the breakfast to be excellent and there was always plenty to go around and the plates were always refilled.

The hotel itself while small is very comfortable and clean and close to all amenities, trams etc. A walk up or down the hill will take you onto the transport system.

I would stay in this hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

spent 5 beautiful days in istanbul in sep 2011. it was a very gd stay. i stayed in the bhosphorous view facing room on the 6th floor,601, it was the best room in Taksim Star. room was gd and neat. Breakfast was quite average. Staff was vey helpful. Excellent location. Few steps away from the famous taksim square and istikal street. they only need to upgrade their key system and the AC. rest all was grt....

Room Tip: Sea Facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZIZ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I got a good deal on the price via booking.com, i liked the hotel its clean and staff are very helpful. Although I spent most of my time out of the hotel but when i come back I feel like I’m at home.

Room Tip: all rooms are small so do not expict alot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSalamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Taksim Star
Hotel Taksim Star
#878 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanbul Inn Residence
Istanbul Inn Residence
#728 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Beyoglu
Economic Star Hotel
Economic Star Hotel
#921 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#619 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#149 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Beyoglu
AS Hotel
AS Hotel
#923 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Star Hotel

Property: Express Star Hotel
Address: Inonu Caddesi. Dunya Saglik Sokak No.11 | Gumussuyu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #869 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Istanbul ! In the heart of the city, the Taksim Star Express Hotel is just a few steps from Taksim Square. It features air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, and has a 24-hour front desk. The Star's rooms feature blackout curtains for a restful night's sleep. The rooms are all provided with simple furnishings, central heating and an LED TV. Some rooms have windows with panoramic city views. The hotel has non-smoking rooms. In the morning, the hotel serves a rich continental breakfast. The Hotel Star also has a café bar that has alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Guests can enjoy the hotel's dry cleaning, ironing and room service for an additional fee. At the tour desk, the friendly staff provides information on local attractions and assists with car rental. The lively streets of Istiklal Avenue are just a 4-minute walk from Taksim Star Express. Ataturk Airport is 16.9 km away. A private airport shuttle service can be arranged upon request. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Express Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing