We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place - a little run down, a little noisy, very nice”
Review of Turkuaz Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turkuaz Hotel
Ranked #805 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good place - a little run down, a little noisy, very nice”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of April 2011. We had booked a standard double room on the 3rd floor (4th floor for us USA-ians). Maria -- the very pleasant concierge -- also showed us the 1st floor Harem room for an extra 10€ per night -- and we took it. The bathroom was far superior -- the rooms on the 3rd floor have cramped bathrooms, and also there were 2 wardrobes/armoirs, making it easy to unpack and hang up all our clothes. Can't comment on the Sultan's or Pasha's rooms, but we liked the Harem room a lot.

Breakfast (included in the room price, as is near-universal in Istanbul) includes eggs "as you like", a tower of bread, cereal, cut-up cucumbers and tomatoes, white cheese, and coffee or tea. Perfectly fine to fuel up for a day of charging around -- gets a little boring by the end of the week, but no problems here. I see that one previous reviewer complained about breakfast being on the ground floor in a windowless room. Not a real drawback as far as we were concerned.

Location -- do NOT rely on their map -- we took a printout of a zoomed in Google map to help in navigating the narrow streets to get back to the hotel. This was essential the first 2 days -- after that, we had it memorized. You can see the map I used at http://goo.gl/jdPSy -- it is a 10 minute walk (at most) to the Blue Mosque or the Burned Column. The location is near the suburban train tracks, so there is a fair amount of noise from this from the early morning to late evening. As usual in a Muslim country, the amplified call to prayer will get you at about 5am. We always travel with foam earplugs, and slept with them most nights in Istanbul (as in Cairo, etc.).

Tips -- ask Maria for advice. We went to the local neighborhood bath (Kadirga Hamamı) at her recommendation, and it was great. Only 50 TL (40 + tip) each, and things went really well. The massage I got was very firm, but just right for me. This bath is just across the street from the Kadirga neighborhood police station in the park 2 blocks North from the hotel. On the southwest end of the park, across the street, is a good baklava place.

Room Tip: Harem room is nice, but has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Had two short stays in Sepetember. A wonderful start to our hoilday in turkey. Great breakfasat, all staff very friendly and helpful. They arranged transport to airport so we could be picked up at the hotel. Very good location in heart of old Istanbul in traditional residential area-thus very un-touristy and authentic. The hotel came to out rescue when we were let down by Hotel Vincenza in Istanbul and we spent a wonderful last night in Istanbul-Cant believe we were tempted to stay at a snobby 4 start hotel with a pool with rude staff. Lesson learnt. Never judge a book by its cover. Hotel Turkuaz is an example of true turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce21Amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Turkuaz is an old wooden mansion overlooking the Marmara sea. I recommend it for 1. friendly and helpful staff; 2. I like hotels that have seen better days; 3. location - 10 mins on foot from Sultanahmet and Aya Sofia, 5 mins the other way from Kumkapi; 4: wholesome tasty breakfasts of olives, yoghurt and cheese.

Don't stay here if you prefer anonymous international predictability.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zen0zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

If you'd like to stay in a authentic Ottoman home and not the usual tourist hotel, then come to the Turkuaz. Maria the Host is a very kind woman with much information on Istanbul. She will make you at home in this intimate hotel which only has a few rooms.The decorations are beautiful and authentic. The breakfast is amazing, it's international and Turkish at the same time. Our room was on the top floor which had a terrace that faced the meditaranean sea. We had a great time and at a walking distance from the blue mosque and the gran bazar. Each time we left and came back to the hotel we were greeted by it's other patrons which were a family of friendly cats.
erika and bruno

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika_e_Bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at the Turkuaz Hotel from May 28 to May 31, and it really is a good find. The hotel is located a few minutes walk to all the places of interest in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. The staff was fantastic, the breakfast delicious, (they do feed you well there) the rooms, basic but comfortable. All in all, excellent value for money.

We arrived late at night, and I found the mattress was a bit uncomfortable. We informed the staff and this was promptly replaced. I have a bad back, and this could have ruined my holiday.

Maria, our hostess truly treats this not as a hotel, but as her home, which it is! And we were made to feel like their guests, not customers.

Surely recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would not stay anywhere else the next time I visit Istanbul!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Stayed in the Turkuaz for about a week based on a Lonely Planet recommendation. The interior is fantastically over the top. The pension owner is very friendly and helpful and the location is great in that its not located in the bustle of Sultanamet but is a very close walk to all the major sites. Breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleashaandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Intriguingly different from every other hotel you’ve ever stayed in, Hotel Turkuaz is a gem. We planned to stay at Hotel Turkuaz for a week but ended up staying an extra five nights because we were stranded by the volcanic ash cloud. As a result we stayed in two different rooms and both were great. This is a renovated Ottoman house, not far from the Sea of Marmara, with lots of original and authentic features.

The neighbourhood around the hotel is residential, where local people live and work and families relax together in the nearby park. It isn't a tourist trap and I hope it will stay this way as long as visitors respect the way of life of the area in which they find themselves.

Maria, the manager, was incredibly helpful. She is kind, knowledgable, multilingual, approachable and full of good suggestions. She got up early to see us off when we left for the airport on the first morning that European airspace was closed and told us to come back if our flight was cancelled. She reassured us that she would look after us for as long as it took to get home and she kept her promise. Hotel Turkuaz became our temporary home and it was a very good experience indeed. Maria’s staff are meticulous, friendly and respectful.

This is not a hotel for people who want to know that they will be staying somewhere exactly like every other international chain they have been in before. Hotel Turkuaz is one of a kind, and all the better for it. I've read some of the other reviews about this hotel and I disagree with the negative ones. Sometimes the water pressure was a bit erratic, but so what? Of course you can hear the call to prayer, but so you can all over Istanbul. Yes, there's a railway nearby and it's very convenient for getting to the centre of Istanbul or Ataturk Airport. If you are flexible and open to new experiences then this is the place for you. Otherwise you'll be happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#90 of 1,148 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#161 of 1,148 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#193 of 1,148 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,148 in Istanbul
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkuaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkuaz Hotel

Property: Turkuaz Hotel
Address: Kadirga Cinci Meydani No:36 | Kumkapi, Eminonu, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Turkuaz Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing