We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for these reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #108 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for these reasons”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Movenpick Istanbul for 4 nights and it was a great experience. As usual I will write an objective review to show all the pros and cons:

1- Reception: quick, efficient, Mr. Ramazan received us with a smile and made sure to address our every need. He went out of his way to find us a room on a high floor two hours earlier than our check in time and offered us an upgrade, which we didn't take, as it was a bit expensive. Check out was just as pleasant and in fact they also allowed us to check out two hours late at no cost.

2- Room:
Pros: Modern, clean, got all amenities, beds and pillows very comfortable, TV selection is good, the room is quite large compared to standard sizes in Istanbul.
Cons: Not many but there is no iron in the room if you wanted to iron something quick. Also the bed frames are hard wood sticking out therefore we kept bumping into them. Also there are two types of tea bags available, one premium at a cost and one local that is complimentary, so you might want to pay attention to which one you are using.

3- Area:
The hotel is located in the Levent area which has so many shopping malls, cafes, restaurants. Walking around was pleasant. A supermarket and a mcdonalds were right outside the hotel if you want to grab some water, snacks, or fast food. There are several bus stops outside the hotel as well as a metro station.

4- Proximity to airport:
It took us 30-40 minutes back and forth with taxi depending on traffic, and cost around 60 TL. The hotel gives you a card that has approximately how much the taxi fares are to key destinations such as airport, shopping, taksim, etc.

5- Hotel Facilities:
The hotel is large, modern, has all facilities you may need and they look quite new and clean. Also restaurants serve excellent world cuisines

6- Breakfast & Internet:
Breakfast is not included with room. Internet has two options, free and paid. The free one gives you a complimentary one day pass at a fair speed of 2 mb. The paid package is 3 days for 20 euros at speeds higher than 8 mb, very good connectivity doesn't drop. We used the package then the free one on the last day and both were great we didn't feel a difference for serving and watching youtube etc.

7- Housekeeping:
Housekeeping were on time everyday and had good quality control and consistency in service. Whatever you ask you get with a smile. When you call housekeeping they speak good english but the ones that come to room don't, however we were able to find a way to communicate with a bit of turkish and english and sign :) and they just are very pleasant and smiling always.

Verdict: Definitely recommended. Prices are reasonable. Service is immaculate. Just few touches of improvement like adding an iron in the room and maybe doing something about those bed frames. We will always come back to the movenpick.

Room Tip: Top floors are always nice for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldplay99988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

Our Housekeeping provides iron and ironing boards upon request and deliver these to the guest rooms. Our Guest Relations, Front Office or Housekeeping teams will be happy to provide these for you. On the other hand, both the iron and ironing board and your comment about the bed frames I have noted on our list of renovation needs. This will be most assuredly presented to the Executive Committee.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Cigdem Toskay
Quality Manager
Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    343
    85
    16
    12
See reviews for
121
144
63
700
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here while visiting ITU. Room was excellent: cool, dark, quiet. Staff helpful.
Had room service breakfast; Greek option for TL39 is excellent (they charge TL65 in the restaurant unless you specifically tell them).
Metro is very handy (turn immediately right out of the hotel, keep right along the road. a couple of minutes However getting to the tourist bits involves a couple of changes (one token each time) and it can be a squeeze so not good if you come for tourism.
Supermarket and MacDonalds handy if you're desperate.
You pay for WiFi in standard rooms, but it's a fair price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I have most certainly shared your positive comments, the feedback regarding breakfast pricing
and the need to inform the guest correctly with our Food & Beverage Manager. This issue will be addressed in the departmental daily and weekly trainings. Thank you for pointing this out to us.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed at this property first in 2003 when they have just opened. It is always great coming back. Location is perfect if you ask me. It may seem off the beaten track but the subway station is literally in front of the hotel. If it is shopping what you looking for, you have numerous ones in different concepts within walking or a small cab ride distance. Since it is in the heart of the financial district of istanbul, the hotel is business oriented. Mövenpick did not have a real competition all these years which usually causes the properties to loose the initial success. Not in their case. Sheraton at maslak is unfortunately not a "real" sheraton so scratch them, The Edition is a great hotel but again in a different level. Le meridien, which is owned by the same company as Mövenpick but managed by starwood, is nice, but then again middle of no where. So if you have business in Levent-Maslak region, mövenpick is where you need to stay.
To be honest, I was amazed how well maintained the rooms were after 10 years.
spacious, comfortable and more importantly, extremely well sound proofed. Although I have to add that there will be a need for a renovation soon. Carpet and the furniture started to show their age, and the rooms need some coloring up, which is perfectly normal after all these years. But as I said, the rooms are so well maintained that they are in better shape then many of the recent and newer rivals.
But what makes the difference in this hotel is definitely the staff. They are fast, efficient and yet very hospitable.
Breakfast buffet is superb both in quantity and quality. great cheese selection,which you would expect from a swiss hotel, yummy bakeries, very nice smoked salmon if you are into it and more importantly the great stuff which I regret not taking their names and mentioning here. even though the hall was packed during our stay, especially the ladies working here wonderful. They take the extra mile and other then bringing your coffee and tea, they go around with juices to refill, offering fresh croissants cause they just came out of oven and moreover smiling every second.
There are new 5 star hotels opening almost every two months in istanbul and the labour keeps on moving for better salary or a better position. So it is hard for older hotels to keep their well trained staff. Hats of to mövenpick management to maintain such high quality employees from front office to f&b.
I do prefer to stay in different hotels each time but I know I will always be looking forward to coming back to Mövenpick.
However, considering that a brand new Wyndham is coming close by in few months with probably excellent offerings (after seeing the two new wyndhams in istanbul) Mövenpick will need a facelift in order to keep up the competition.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I have most certainly shared your positive comments and detailed market analysis as well as the suggestion for renovation with our General Manager.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Cigdem Toskay
Quality Manager
Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
306 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We were there for a week, and had a wonderful time. The service from the hotel was fantastic. The restaurant service was great and the food was excellent. Everyone in the hotel seemed to really care about our stay. One evening we were not feeling well, and they actually went out and purchased some medicine for us. Superb!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
239 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was a trip for us couples that i would say was one of the greatest because of the staff of the Hotel.
Our hostess made our stay a trip to remember for the rest of our lives.

the business lounge was excellent, food variety was amazing.

Breakfast was great, and Lobby excellent.

Location very close to the metro station which makes everything accesible.

Thank you Moevenpick istanbul for making our trip worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your motivating comment with our team.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My overarching memory of this hotel is the high quality of service, friendliness, pro-activness, and of course infrastructure. A modern clean hotel my experience did not want for anything to make it a successful work trip: a good desk, internet, room service, attentive staff.

One problem is simply the location - far from any cultural action you need to get the subway, but as its right next to a station, this isn't the end of the world, and I enjoyed the local experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

I will most certainly share your motivating comments with our team.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at Movenpick Hotel recently for a business trip from 1 to 7 Sep 2013.

Airport Transfer: It takes about 30-45mins to reach the hotel from the airport depending on the traffic condition.

Check-in: Process is fast as the front office would have prepared everything before your arrival.

Room: The room is of reasonable size and comfortable enough. Love the nice bed and pillows.

Wifi: Speed of Wifi is good but not free. There are various subscription plans for your selection, for example, it costs Eur 20 for 3 days access regardless of data size. With this, you could access Wifi from any where within the hotel.

Breakfast: Breakfast is okay. Wish it has more varieties.

Accessibility: Metro is just next to the hotel. It takes about 10-15mins to travel to Taksim Square. This is important as you would not want to be caught in a heavy jam. There are also many eateries within the vicinity of the hotel.

Overall, this is a great hotel for business travelers as well as holiday-makers in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenSunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cigdem T, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on our services; we really appreciate it and value our esteemed guests' opinion such as yours very much.

Your feedback encourage us towards our aim to deliver, heartfelt, genuine care, personalized and uncompromising service in all guest interactions. These comments such as yours are the best tool for us not only to maintain but further improve our quality and service.

It was and will always be our pleasure to ensure your comfort and I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the Mövenpick Hotel each time you visit Istanbul.

Best regards,

Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
#82 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#134 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Sisli
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
#81 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Golden Horn
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul Golden Horn
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#75 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Istanbul

Property: Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Address: Buyukdere Caddesi | 4. Levent, Istanbul 34330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Levent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Istanbul. Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul, located in the heart of Istanbul's contemporary business and chic shopping district, has crowned its achievements by being voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2012. Mövenpick Hotel Istanbul offers style and the latest technology in 249 guestrooms created with the discerning traveller in mind, just seconds from some of the city's hippest dining and entertainment. The metro station next to the hotel will take you to the colourful Taksim Square, cultural district in just 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing