We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The official Turkish Airlines hotel for desperate passengers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #579 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The official Turkish Airlines hotel for desperate passengers”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is a standard 3-star hotel, but the true story is that it is full of pissed off Turkish Airlines passengers. The Airline treats their customers like cattle. We have been fighting with them for the whole day and learned that this hotel is where they send all the customers that cannot fly because of their incompetence.

If you can DON'T FLY TURKISH AIRLINE. If you end up in this hotel, you know where you are...

About the hotel, they don't bother to give you an adapter for the outlet, I had to pay 10 TL for one at the shop downstairs... also, dinner was paid by Turkish Airlines, but they had only "Kola" and no "Diet Kola"... that's how great the service is...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egsrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    78
    72
    21
    26
See reviews for
28
59
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here whilst in Transit. The hotel was booked and paid for by Turkish Airlines so we can't comment on value for money. But our room was very nice and very comfortable, the bathroom was wonderful and the hotel had good facilities. The evening meal was nice too. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
327 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite far from the centre and you need to take the metro, walk three hundred metres and than take the tram to get to the centre (sultanahmet area) or Taksim Square. You cam take a taxi to go to the centre. it shouldn't be too expensive but we had a bad experience with one of the cab drivers massively overcharging us. The rooms are big and quite confortable and there is a swimming pool. The breakfast was nothing special. The staff does not speak English very well. I was there with a group and i assume that The reason why The hotel was chosen was its price

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viridiana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel is a shame for it self, and especially for Turkish Airlines which sent us there because of connection. First of all hotel is too old, really bad interior, I can not believe the stars it has. Maybe 10 years ago it was ok, but now it's really terrible. Staff is unbelievable, rude, ignorant, it makes you feel like some poor thing get from the street, like they don't get any money from Turkish Airlines for the passengers staying there, and they gave you a shelter like you are a homeless.. After all unpleasant experience, we had a flight at 7:00 AM, and planned to go with hotel shuttle at 5.00 PM, before 4:00 PM phone call from the reception woke us up, and they said that there will be NO place at 5:00, and even though it is irrational, we said ok, got up and in 5 minutes we were getting out form elevator watching the shuttle going away, we asked them to stop it, but they just didn't care.. I said to one of the staff that it is not fair to wake us up like this, and then don't even wait 10 minutes, he just looked at me, and with a really rude tone said that we didn't said anything hen they called us!!!??? No apologizing, no other solution, but lying to our face... What kind of business are you in, cause it is not a SERVICE!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We apologize on behalf of our staff.Turkish Airlines decides the departure time of passengers and they pick passengers up 2 hours ago from the hotel.
We wake you up one hour ago from the departure time of the shuttle for you to prepare and have your breakfast.
Our duty as the hotel Management is to prepare our Turkish Airlines guests for the departures.The instruction of Turkish Airlines, if passengers can’t catch the shuttle, they should wait for the next one.
Our hotel is not responsible with the departure times.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We unfortunately missed our connecting flight due to a problem at Izmir with our plane and were put up by a very inefficient Turkish Airlines at this hotel. We were tired, hot, hungry and thirsty when we arrived where we were told in no uncertain terms by the very rude and abrupt staff behind reception breakfast was at 6.30am the following morning and anything else like a meal or a drink was down to us. Although first impression have this hotel looking every bit 5* it is not. The whole place needs refurbishing. Our alarm call came twice once at the correct time and once an hour too early. When we came down at 6am the staff's manner behind reception hadn't improved.
The only good thing I found about this hotel the bed was extremely comfortable. I don't think I would stay at this hotel by choice unless of course their manners improved

Room Tip: I am sure there are plenty of other hotels to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We remind all of our guests the breakfast is between 06:30 / 10:30.
We start to arrange the breakfast buffet at 04:30.
Every Turkish Airlines passengers can get the breakfast from 04:30 to 10:30
We give a wake up call for guest just right before one hour from the shuttle time.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Well last time I was put up in the Raddison Blue which to me seemed like a newer more modern hotel. My impression of this place is it's a bit old and run down. I saw some people saying that this is supposed to be 5 star, sorry no way.
The staff make this place, very friendly and polite, props to them. Unfortunately the hotel needs renovation and upgrades if it wants to have a higher rating in my opinion. Room is ok, dirty carpets, cigarette burns etc, phone is old, bathroom is clean but just ok nothing special. Small lcd television with only news to watch, no movies.No iron or board in the room but there is slippers and and a very nice bath robe haha. Free internet, not bad but a little on the slow side if you want to stream something of the internet.
Breakfast is not bad, again not 5 star but edible, lot's of fruits and veggies which I like and again the staff very nice.
Also you can't drink the water out of the tap and only one bottle is supplied for free, .5 litre. You can buy water of the street at a fraction of what it goes for in the hotel but there is no store with in 5-10 min walk. Go for a longer walk 20 min, and you can find interesting mosk's, shopping and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Lot's noise from the street if your facing the front of the building as I am. Try to get corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed for 1 night as transit hotel offered by Turkish Air. Check-in was fast, the room was big, clean, it has cable tv, pillow menu, I really liked the design of the bathroom with its window with the view to the room: interesting! Very near to the subway that takes to the airport, to catch the tram, you have a 10 min walk. Great variety for breakfast. The problem of this hotel was the noisy sound that I could hear from the bathroom of the next room, I could hear even the conversation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proscola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#292 of 1,140 in Istanbul
595 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#146 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#783 of 1,140 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#453 of 1,140 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Property: Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#185 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#359 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing