We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not more than an airline hotel transit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #583 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed here for several hours thanks to Turkish Airlines. if you have a 12 hour lay over between flights with the airline, they will give you a room at this hotel at no cost.
Location wise, this hotel is quite strategic, a walking distance to Topkapi-Ulubati metro station, 2 stations away from Aksaray station from which you can continue with tram ride to Istanbul touristy areas such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. You may also go to the airport through this station although Turkish Airlines provides a free shuttle bus service between hotel and the airport.
Room as other have reviewed, a bit old need to be refurbished here and there. The window in my room was actually broken and could not be locked. I asked the reception to be fixed while I'm gone to town, but when I got back to my room, the window still broken.
I did not have the chance to taste the breakfast as I arrived in the afternoon and left the hotel for my next flight at 8 PM.
Internet is available for free, good wifi signal inside the room.
all in all, for a free room in between flights, I would not mind. if this something to be paid, I would definitely find another hotel.

Room Tip: always check your room windows, make sure that it can be locked from the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again. Things done for Windows.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I got this hotel by Turkish Airlines.
Close to the airport, room was okay, but could't sleep.
Now it's 1 AM, and still you can hear slamming doors. The room acoustic to the corridor is horrible.
If you have a short night, find or ask for a quiet place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank yroaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We ended up here as a result of an over booking fiasco by Turkish Airlines. Judging by the slick check-in process, this happens every day.... Promised a 5 star hotel, the reality turned out to be something different. This was undoubtedly a 5 star hotel in the 80/90's but not any more. Probably more like 2 stars at present since it is very tired. We were offered a complementary evening meal which we skipped and if the breakfast was anything to go by it was a good move. Very little taste to anything on offer and significantly below the standard we experienced in Turkey in general. We stayed at Mama Shelter in Beyoglu which charges similar prices but was far superior. Staff were courteous if not friendly. In summary, borderline acceptable for a free one night stay, but overpriced given the competition. Needs a big revamp.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the front of the building as traffic noise is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuftythesquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed there for 15 hours while our flight was delayed for a day. Enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffet with great delicious turkish food.
The rooms are a bit small and dark. The TV has only turkish channels. But they have free wifi! haha!
They also have a swimming pool which is 2.5 m deep, which gives you an opportunity to dive.
Really loved this free stay, provided by Turkish Airlines

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Our TV list has 40 channels and 20 to 40 are not Turkish ,they are international.
Praise makes us happy, criticism makes us better.
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Last week, I spent my time at this hotel. I made my reservation via internet. The hotel was near to the airport and the historical side of Istanbul. The location was nice and was easy to reach from everywhere. The staff was very helpful and the service of the hotel was very proffessional. Check in and check out from the hotel was very easy and fast. Guest relation staff gave us all information we need that we wanted to see in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Although quite a few people advised me not to visit this hotel I decided to give it a go. As I had already booked, still walking in with an open mind. However I was disappointment from the beginning of my stay till the end. The only good thing about my stay was the massage that I had in the spa.
-Carpets where stained
-Staff where unfriendly (specially at reception)
-Toilet seat was broken
-Sofa bed was broken
-The hair salon very unreliable
-Service overall very poor
This hotel seriously needs updating!
And I hope it as as it is in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is a standard 3-star hotel, but the true story is that it is full of pissed off Turkish Airlines passengers. The Airline treats their customers like cattle. We have been fighting with them for the whole day and learned that this hotel is where they send all the customers that cannot fly because of their incompetence.

If you can DON'T FLY TURKISH AIRLINE. If you end up in this hotel, you know where you are...

About the hotel, they don't bother to give you an adapter for the outlet, I had to pay 10 TL for one at the shop downstairs... also, dinner was paid by Turkish Airlines, but they had only "Kola" and no "Diet Kola"... that's how great the service is...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Egsrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#798 of 1,163 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Fener & Balat
Berr Hotel
Berr Hotel
#772 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#185 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,416 reviews
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#331 of 1,163 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Eser Premium Hotel & Spa
#417 of 1,163 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#193 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#363 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing