We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish Airline transit hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #587 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Turkish Airline transit hotel stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night, overall the hotel quality is good, however can hear the sound of flying planes in the sky. The hotel not situated closed to airport though. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    78
    71
    21
    26
See reviews for
28
58
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having overnight stay in Istanbul,this hotel was provided by THY.Hotel is quite clean and tidy,but corridors view is awfull.Staff is friendly and polite.Breakfast was nice with good variety of cheeses,olives and Turkish sweets.Fm airport is 20 minutes ride by shuttle bus.Optional hotel for the short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights with my husband...
It is quite close to all city attractions..just a metro away from blue mosque and sultanahmet area
Personel working there was nice and friendly
The hotel is near airport as well- just one metro away..
The rooms were tidy and cleaned everyday.
The breakfast was nice.
Although the hotel area was somehow noisy, rooms were adequately isolated

Room Tip: back side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marsilnta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels in istanbul...friendly staff and rich breakfast ...the reception provided wonderful tips for attractions sights and restaurants...higy recommended due to proximity both to airport and old city center...

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is very close to Topkapi Metro station which can link you to the airport and downtown.
Rooms are spacious but average. My room had curtains which were too small for the window and the air conditioning was very loud.
Hotel has a restaurant on the second floor which serves nice meals, especially the desert.
If you are looking for a downtown hotel then for the price you could probably get better nearer the city centre. The hotel is used by Turkish Air for long stop over visitors so one advantage is that you can probably take one of the shuttle buses from the hotel to the airport if you are flying with Turkish Air.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've stayed here many times in transit with Turkish Airlines. Almost two weeks ago Turkish Airlines put me in their other hotel; RadissonBlu & I was horrified by the difference.

The Akgun does have a few faults, it is slightly dated but the location is ideal near the metro and shopping malls.

However the main difference is their staff; the Akgun have the most welcoming staff who will help you out as best they can. This morning when I landed at Istanbul, I asked the hotel desk to ensure I had a room here at the Akgun.

When I got to my room, it wasn't what I had had before so asked them if it was possible to change. No fuss, they asked me to wait a few minutes for housekeeping and it was organised!

There's a lovely waitress who knows me well know, she often confuses her 14 for 40 when speaking English; it's lovely to be greeted by a familiar warm smiling face!

Turkish Airlines, please take note; this hotel has far more to offer in many ways than the alternative hotel!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get one not overlooking the main road outside ... it can get noisy but the doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kermanshah, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Three years ago I stayed in Akgun hotel for a week .Hotel had some problems we had a non smoke room but we felt smoke all the time also room service was poor they did not change the towel and sheets for a week .Breakfast was very good but it need more service .Hotel has a good location close to metro station and you can find good restaurant with best Kabab near the hotel .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
İf you state your check-in date and room number on your comments, we can help you more than now.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#299 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#151 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#769 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#238 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Property: Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#183 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#356 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing