We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Room, Good Hotel, Great Neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galata Antique Hotel
Ranked #509 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“OK Room, Good Hotel, Great Neighbourhood”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

As the title suggests you should choose this hotel depending on what your needs/priorities are. In terms of location and surrounding neighbourhood it is truly a well-situated hotel.

Despite the amazing view from my hotel room and the breakfast area, my room had a few problems. It was clearly a part of the terrace that has been converted into a room. It is quite small with a fake ceiling but most importantly a broken A/C unit (taped around the edges to keep it from falling apart) which made it impossible to provide any heat during the cold days while I was there. Also, in the small bathroom the shower doors made it almost impossible to avoid hitting your head before entering.

I did mention these and some other problems to reception and the duty manager. I was surprised they were not aware of them, especially the heating issue. On the last day the whole hotel was out of hot water. Not their fault, but the issue lingered for hours after the electricity outage in the area had been restored.

This is a hotel that was built in the 1880s. It seems that every renovation attempt has touched more the surface rather than the infrastructure and, at least in my room, this was evident.

I can't say I was completely disappointed overall. But one must admit that quite a few boxes need to be ticked for an experienced traveller to return to a hotel. Great breakfast, view and location are not enough to make me want to return in this case, especially in the winter.

Finally, I would also have liked all shifts at reception to speak English at a level where at least basic transportation or area information could be relayed to the guests.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    61
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
17
76
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in November 2013 and enjoyed it profoundly. Hotel is located in the best area possible. It is much wiser to stay at Beyoglu than at Sultanahmet because this beautiful quarter it is full of amazing places to eat (most within 10 minutes walk from the Galata Antique Hotel). Tunel funicolare station and Sishane metro station are located next to the hotel and this is also very convinient as Beyoglu is situated on a hill and walking to the Galata bridge by foot is quite tiring. Istiklal Cadessi, main shopping street, is just around the corner. Hotel decor is european/french which makes great context as Pera/Galata used to be inhabited in 19th and early XXth century by European diplomats and pro-western turkish intelligentsia. Our room was very elegant, although a bit small. The only fault was the bathroom, nicely decorated with marbles but with some hydraulic issues that made the floor wet after every shower we took. Another minor problem was the breakfast. It was served on the last floor with a magnificent view of Golden Horn, but whenever we came around 9:30 there was not much food left for us and the waiters were unwilling to serve some more. Nevertheless, our overall experience with hotel service is great because of very friendly and competent gentleman at the reception. We would definetly recommend this hotel to our friends, family and TripAdvisor users.

Room Tip: If you like to have some space you really should go for deluxe rooms or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_klein13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenaros
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for all sightseeing, just a few minutes walk from all transport services, shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. A warm welcome is assured with 24 hour concierge service, all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is taken on the Rooftop Terrace with wonderful views of the city skyline and Golden Horn. The room we had was extremely comfortable and clean. We would definitely recommend the Galata Antique to anyone who wants a city break. Many thanks to Ugur for all his very helpful tips and advice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very good localization : closed & easy to go istikial avenue, direct access via funicular to Galata bridge and tramway.
very good service, people ready to answer your question and helping you to facilitate your journey.
The breadfast is simple but enough, the bedrooms are good, confortable, quite small and the N° 501 has a good view on the west part of the city / golden horn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bala2c_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chios Town, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a great stay, everybody in the hotel was very helpful! Especially Ugur (not sure I spelled it right), he was very eager to help us plan our days and sent us to not so touristic places which we appreciated! The location makes it easy to connect with almost anywhere you want to go! I would have enjoyed some more choices for breakfast but it was efficient!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellaki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A lovely little hotel that has been recently renovated.
Loved staying here. The staff were so helpful, and the location and view from the roof cannot be beat!
It's located just steps away from the Tunel train, Taksim Sq. Tram, the main street leading to Taksim Square, Galata Tower, and it's in the hippest part of town!
The rooms are cute, and there is a wonderful breakfast on the roof. The attendant Julia, was amazing. Such a sweet and kind person to wake up too!
Great restaurants and bars all around. You can't go wrong!
There is a huge room on the 2nd floor, and there is a balcony room on the 3rd floor.
Some of the rooms can be cramp, but that's what you get in a converted mansion house!
The rooms have AC, but can be very dry if you keep it running.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a real find in a trendy Istanbul neighborhood, close to shops and plenty of good restaurants. My room was a blend of old world charm and modern convenience. Clean and fairly spacious and while I was right in front of the elevator it was very, very quiet.
Friendly, gracious staff eager to practice their English -- since I know only a few words in Turkish -- and helpful with directions to various sites around town. The rooftop bar offers a sweeping view of the city and water. A pleasant spot for cocktail hour and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#457 of 1,156 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#125 of 1,156 in Istanbul
243 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#419 of 1,156 in Istanbul
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#98 of 1,156 in Istanbul
469 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#342 of 1,156 in Istanbul
228 reviews
Beyoglu
Gumusyan Hotel
Gumusyan Hotel
#700 of 1,156 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Antique Hotel

Property: Galata Antique Hotel
Address: Mesrutiyet Street No:119, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #509 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galata Antique Hotel is housed in a beautifully decorated 19th century Neo-Renaissance mansion built by the French–Ottoman architect Alexandre Vallaury. This very welcoming hotel, which is conveniently located in the Tünel Meydani district, a famous bohemian quarter, is an ideal base for visitors wishing to discover the real Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galata Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing