We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alkoclar Istanbul Keban
Ranked #441 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good but outdated”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The hotel is central, very close to Taksim square and that's its main advantage. The breakfast is mediocre and the rooms outdated but clean. The double room we got was on the first floor and was facing the road which means that it was too noisy at times.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Georgios 123

Thank you for your comments. We are really sorry to hear your inconvenience with some points. Due to our hotel located in the heart of the city, city view rooms can be noisy especially night time because of crazy night life of Istanbul. However Bosphorus view rooms are very quite for sleeping. You are right that city view rooms were little bit noisy because but the isolation is stronger now. They are renovated.

We will be very glad to welcome you in our hotel again at your next stay to upgrade bosphorus room without any supplement . Just e-mail us after your next booking (Subject: reservation) when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    77
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
45
61
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I was there in November,
the appearance of the hotel was nice and well-decorated,
the room was considered small but new and in good condition.
Staffs are all very nice and attentive despite their serious looks.
The location is right there next to Taksim tram station so it's very convenient to travel around to and from the city or even airport. There's a walking street close by where you can go and find everything you want from there.

However I understand their cost cutting for its best offer to be in this location with inexpensive price. Such things as only one elevator for the whole 8th stories hotel, thin wall you could hear whats going on next door, weird selections of breakfast,,, it's ok for this price :)

ps. very nice view on the balcony on the restaurant top floor

Room Tip: if they asked you "do you prefer a quiet room or city view?" go for the quiet room coz all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Onicha

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please kindly be informed that our loyal customer's satisfaction and reviews are very important for us and we will be very glad to welcome you in our hotel again at your next stay. Our hotel renovation complete on April 2011 and elevator has beed changed to high capacitiy.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

1. Doors are not safe! Anyone could knock them down even! It happened to me in two seperate rooms!!! SHOCKING! Check the photos.

2. Breakfast is very poor and not fresh!

3. Some staff need more and more training in customer service.

4. Very baaaad location.

5. Cover sheets are direty and gapped from cigirates!! Soooo bad

6. You could easily hear your nighber.

7. Very bad wifi. You could bearly connect to the net.

8. A/C is not functioning well!

Basically not recommended at ALL.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Someone6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are really sorry to hear your inconvenience with some points. However we are sad and disappointed with your really negative comments

We would like to answer for you. We will not be accepted your commnets,

*** installed by you are attempting to lock the door from the inside due to additional out door jamb and the door did not lock mechanism you use your any problems related to the problem caused by the technical service has been solved.

*** Our breakfast is completely fresh and given alternatives for the guest. We recived thanks letter 99% from staying guest.

*** Staff well trained and most of them worked 5 star property also had thank letter from guests direckly.

*** Also comments "Bad location " hotel located in Taksim square and it call "heart of city " why it is very popular.

*** Covers and sheets has not have any gapped !

*** Due to our hotel located in the heart of the city, city view rooms can be noisy especially summer time because of crazy night life of Istanbul. However Bosphorus view rooms are very quite for sleeping.

*** To connect to the internet at the same speed all the guets fair quota is being implemented.

*** During the renovation A/C system reneved with international A/C company. On the otherhand A/C system will be cut of electric if you opene the windows.

Regards


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were a couple looking for a romantic visit to Istanbul.
Our visit to Alkoclar Keban Hotel was on 11th of Sep 2012
Our room was a sea view double classic room in high floor with breakfast

Unfortunately, I have red lots of comments recently on Alkoclar Keban Hotel before I took the decision to try it for two days. The hotel was completely renovated, but there is always some limitations for any improvement. The reality was really unexpected. The room was less than 8 square meters (3m X 2.5m) including the entrance. Also, the staffs were not well trained to give help and support to foreigners. Moreover, there was a huge new constructions right under my room which I had to stay late at night waiting till they finish. The worse of all was the toilette. it was almost touching the bed right beside the head. Plus, the queen bed was very small and not convenient at all. In spite of the excellent location of the hotel, my stay was really not good at all. For sure, I am not going to revisit nor to advise anyone to stay there, especially there are lots of very good hotels in the neighborhood with the same price.
This hotel may be good for a single visitor.

Room Tip: Never try to have a sea view room, because there is a new constructions right under the hotel. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelSaudiArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments to Alkoclar Keban Hotel, however we are sad and disappointed with your really negative comments
We are always flexible to change the room if it is not busy period and we have available rooms. Did you request to change your room?
Some of our rooms designed by architect smaller than other on the ohterhand bad sizes standart like all over the world. If you contact with reception they will help you upon availbility.

We would like to kindly also inform that for about construction. New construction is acceptable distance from our hotel ( It is not neighboring our building) and working hours 9:00 am / 6 pm. also licence given İstanbul Municipality they couldnt work after 6 PM. (our neighbourhood effecting more then us ! )

We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.

Warm Regards


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

-excellent check in & check out experience
-well designed, very clean rooms (could be a bit bigger)
-complimentary internet is a great bonus (keeping in mind most hotels in Istanbul charge around 15 euros per day for it)
-perfect location; right on Taksim square
I highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again

Room Tip: request a bigger room if available, on higher levels as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeraTR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear viajeraTR86

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please kindly be informed that our loyal customer's satisfaction and reviews are very important for us and we will be very glad to welcome you in our hotel

Warm Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komotine, Rodhopi, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is really amazing. It's absolutely clean, the breakfast has a huge variety of very nice and quality food, it has wi fi (with a few problems, but overall it's ok) and generally it's a very good choice for anyone. Much better than the usual 4-star hotels in Europe. Of course the best advantage is its location in center of the city, where you can go anywhere you want easily and fast. Only negative the lack of enough rooms with double bed (not very good for a couple).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Giorgis,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please kindly be informed that our loyal customer's satisfaction and reviews are very important for us and we will be very glad to welcome you in our hotel again

We look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul.

Warm Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Taksim so transport anywhere is a breeze. My partner and I caught the underground metro a lot which was so convenient. The public transport is great in Istanbul so I recommend using it instead of taxis.

The hotel has shockingly bad internet and the elevator is too slow.

But apart from those minor factors; it’s clean, staff are nice and breakfast is fine (the breakfast staff are the nicest people and are so hospitable!).

Ask for a room that is less noisy as Taksim can get noisy at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is less noisy as Taksim can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldcoastblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALKOCLARKEBAN, General Manager at Alkoclar Istanbul Keban, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest

Your nice comments are pleased us so much. Thank you for choosing CVK Hotels Taksim and we look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in İstanbul.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#484 of 1,141 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#367 of 1,141 in Istanbul
360 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
#806 of 1,141 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taksim Metropark Hotel
Taksim Metropark Hotel
#483 of 1,141 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Hill Hotel
Taxim Hill Hotel
#912 of 1,141 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Beyoglu
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Taksim
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Taksim
#782 of 1,141 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkoclar Istanbul Keban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoclar Istanbul Keban

Property: Alkoclar Istanbul Keban
Address: Siraselviler Caddesi No: 17 | Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#297 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkoclar Istanbul Keban 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkoçlar Keban Hotel, of which exterior and interior design have been fully renewed without receding Istanbul nostalgia in modern art deco style which is located at Taksim, the heart of Istanbul. The hotel is ready to host the business and holiday travelers visiting Istanbul with junior suites with the Bosporus view, standard rooms, a 220 person capacity meeting room, a 50 person capacity workshop room, a spacious and modern lounge, and an a la carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alkoclar Istanbul Keban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keban Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing