We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Ranked #569 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect location budget hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

For the price we paid, we didn't expect much from Hotel Aslan....but we were pleasantly surprised. Very basic rooms, the wardrobe needed repairing, the loo nearly fell off the wall every time one of us sat on it and the 'balcony' opened onto a concrete wall.....but, it was clean and the welcome genuinely friendly. The location is perfect - only a few minutes walk from all the lovely things you need to see and the buzz of the local eateries. The staff at breakfast watched eagle eyed to ensure you had enough breakfast (but not more than you should !) and made eggs to order (or 'egg' in the case of the menemem...). All in all a very good breakfast. We were out all day long and spent very little time in the rooms, so it was actually fine for us, and we would stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookie062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    51
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
59
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is located on the best tourist street in istanbul. Many quaint buildings and street level restaurants. Within walking distance of all the major sights. We had the base room, which was very small but only cost $49.00 per night including tax booked well in advance on Expedia. If the price was over 100.00 I would probably choose one of the many other boutique hotels on the street. Only 18 rooms with a roof deck which housed the breakfast area. Standard fare but with made to order eggs and omelets. Service was good. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were a group of 7 active ladies. We enjoyed the central location in the old town with 5-10 minutes to the blue mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi palace, great hamam, very many restaurants, shops and bazars etc.
The breakfast restaurant at the roof terrace was very good (wide local fresh selection) and it was so nice to sit outside and with a nice view. It was also OK to have cold water, coffee/tea or own drink at hours when the breakfast restaurant was not in service.
The staff/owners was very friendly and helpful with reservations, recommendations and all practical matters.
At the price we got at booking.com I doubt you can get anything better!
The price of the central location is that you will have a "free wake-up call" when the morning prayers start. I doubt that you can avoid this in Istanbul with +200 mosques.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacati0ntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel Aslan is a small hotel with 18 rooms on four floors. The fifth floor is a terrace, where the breakfast is served. I stayed in room 42. I would characterize the hotel as cozy with adequate untiities; there is an elevator (which is a godsend during heatwaves and beats lugging luggage).
The air conditioner in the room works well. It quickly cooled the hot room down. It was vastly superior to the aircon unit I had while staying in a room on the top floor of Divas hotel.
The curtains were adequate to block the sunlight in the morning. (I detest waking up early because of sunlight. I also experienced this problem at Divas because the curtains were not wide enough to block rays on the edges of windows.)
Room 42 is a square shaped room with what appears to be a queen-size bed; the bed is ample and comfortable. I like my beds not firm and the bed was just right for me. Of course, there is little space in which to maneuver with such a large bed but this was a good trade-off to have such a comfy and roomy bed in exchange for some space. (I detest those small single size beds that remind me of my bed when I was four years old yet I slept on such in the Erguvan much to my discomfiture.) As for bedding, I found that the queen size sheet I brought was useful as what was on the bed was a thick cotton fabric not comfortable for me. The chandelier seemed rickety but actually a chain ably secured the chandelier to the ceiling. It is just that the ceiling is low and I often banged my head against that darn chandelier. (I am just under 6 feet)
The bathroom is clean but not anything supermodern. (It is worthwhile to note that to get the shower to work it is necessary to run the water first and then press the "button." Service staff had to show me how to get the water to come out ot the shower spigot.)
Size-wise the bathroom is small but nonetheless satisfactory.
The major gripe I had was with the internet connection. I connected to "Aslan Third Floor" only to find that every 20 minutes I got kicked off line and had to reconnect -- what was particularly annoying was losing my skype connection every 20 minutes. I mentioned this at the front desk but they did not have an answer.
I also heard the clank of dishware above on the fifth floor. I would recommend ear plugs if you intend to sleep in and your room is on the fourth floor.
Some people raved about the breakfast because it is possible to order eggs. I have a different take on the breakfast -- it is the standard Turkish-fare breakfast. Special orders don't upset them -- they just cannot deliver them or do not understand them. I asked for a turkish coffee -- it could not be provided. Isn't it hilarious (pathetic?) that you cannot get a turkish coffee in a turkish hotel in Istanbul! All they can say is to drink the regular coffee on offer. Maybe I should have brought my cevze and ground coffee and just made my own on the stove used for the frying pan to fry the eggs? Not worth the effort obviously. Then I asked for a sweet or something sweet like a pettit pain au chocolat. Well, the dumb-founded staff did not understand the word "sweet." In the heat of the moment I did not remember the Turkish equivalent "tatli." Well, another guest heard all this and brought me a small packet of jam! Anyway, I have no right to complain about this as this is what you get in mid-class accomodation. So, for me, these breakfasts are better just to skip -- I would rather eat normally at lokantas of my choice or even self-cater visiting the Dia grocery store on Pekhane street or a sweet shop on Divan Yolu..
Would I stay there again? Yes, quite possibly, if the price is right. However, I would bring up the internet connection issue (by email prior to travel to Istanbul before deadline for cancellation) prefatory to accepting any room. I gave this hotel five stars because, despite its minor drawbacks, it was more comfortable here than the rooms I had at both Divas and Erguvan.
Keep in mind that while these mid-class hotels let guests use the computer in the lobby for free if you have symbols in your password or have an i in your address or password, you will encounter difficulties accessing your account using the turkish keyboard.
I booked though Expedia and had no problems either checking in or checking out. All the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Although the staff says that the rooms on the 4th floor are "the best," I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardThomas2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Most friendly staff I have ever come across! The Manager made sure that we felt at home in every way. The details in everything was a surprise. Breakfast was fantastic and fresh. The rooms were claen and had everything we needed. The hotel is situated in the middel of every attraction the town has to offer. Great wi-fi connection!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Quiet, clean room, friendly staff, very nice breakfast with large selection of foods in a buffet plus eggs cooked to order. The breakfast terrace has lovely views. A short walk to Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, cistern (don't miss, bring fish food!), archeological musem. Comfortable beds. Interesting comfy furniture in lobby, free use of computer in lobby.

The hotel manager is fluent in Arabic and Turkish, and his English is very good.

We stayed here twice. The first time was in room 203 (two single beds), which looks like the photos at hotels.com, a perfectly nice but basic room. The second time we stayed in room 304 (1 large bed), which was vastly superior. Nicer decor, much larger, and had a sofa.

The hotel is on a fairly quiet street, and we were not disturbed by street noise. Very few cars, not a main walking tourist road, yet very close to everything. Perfect!

Room Tip: Pick room 304 if possible! Window looks out over small courtyard, which is uninteresting but even q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phrederica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2015
Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#576 of 1,155 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#611 of 1,155 in Istanbul
199 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Premier Hotel
Sarnic Premier Hotel
#343 of 1,155 in Istanbul
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Sunrise Hotel
The Sunrise Hotel
#713 of 1,155 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#270 of 1,155 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#297 of 1,155 in Istanbul
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aslan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aslan Istanbul

Property: Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi 63 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #569 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aslan Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aslan Istanbul offers a rooftop terrace with views of the Marmara Sea . The hotel offers air-conditioned accommodation units LCD TV. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, all spacious rooms and suites in the Hotel Istanbul mesafededir.Asl 3 minutes walk from the hotel , free Wi-Fi , wooden floors and a minibar. A private bathroom in each accommodation unit , hair dryer and toiletries place almaktadir.Restor breakfast buffet is served daily in the panoramic terrace. The terrace has an adjoining bar . A 2- minute walk from numerous dining options and bars , LOCATED Staff at the 24 -hour reception provides room service during limited hours . Staff also Ataturk Airport ( 15 km) and Sabiha Gokcen Airport (35 km ) 's services are available in the immediate vicinity ayarlamaktadir.Otel free parking. Sultanahmet Tram Stop and Basilica Cistern is a 5 -minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aslan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing