We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Ranked #501 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying there. The hotel is located 5-10 minutes away from the main Sultanahmet sightseenings. The breakfast was delicious, it is served on the roof terrace. The staff was friendly. The only negative detail to mention - the rooms are tiny, especially those on the ground floor. Try to book rooms on the 4th floor, they are better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sati J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was in a quandary whether to choose one of these small hotels in the old city, or to choose a nice modern one a bit further out.
In the end, I plumped for the location and Hotel Aslan had a lot of good reviews. We found it just as many other people did. Friendly, helpful staff. Small but clean rooms. Lovely views from the roof terrace (but that tree in front of the Blue Mosque will have to go!).
We met Mr Aslan when we arrived, and when he found it was my birthday he asked the man on reception to move us to a suite. Unfortunately, there wasn't one available but we were moved when one became free after two days. In actual fact, our first room (206) was absolutely fine. It was quiet and comfortable although it must be admitted that the décor in the superior room was better, and it was bigger too.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, but do be aware of what you are letting yourself in for. The location - maybe 100yds from the Blue Mosque is fantastic. Despite this, the street it's in is quiet.
There are lots of restaurants nearby (we would recommend the Cistern Bar and Brasserie) and plenty of tourist shops too - as well as the Arasta Bazaar.
The downside would be the small rooms and limited facilities - so if you plan on spending a lot of time in your hotel, look elsewhere. If you want a quiet, friendly hotel in the heart of everything touristy, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week with my two sons in the triple room 403. The room was comfortable with excellent air conditioning, comfortable beds and a small terrace which catches the sun for a good 10 hours!

We had a really good experience. The breakfast was amazing at the roof terrace with beautiful views of the Marmara sea and the awesome Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia.

The people who work there were really kind and helpful - up to the point that when I asked at the reception desk for the best place to exchange money I was told by the manager the best rates were in the grand bazaar the next day. When I explained that we needed Turkish Lira straight away I was lent 300 TL with the manager borrowing some money from the cleaner to ensure we had the money we needed! I remarked that this must be the first time that the cleaner was lending money to some guests! That's the sort of family friendly hotel it is.

The rooms had everything we needed, including safebox. Very tidy and clean, the location was excellent, this part of the Akbiyik Caddesi was really quiet and had no traffic. There is free coffee and tea in the lobby. It's really a lovely place to stay and I will be coming back soon. Peace and blessings to everyone that works there, you really made us feel welcome.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Sabir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a reasonably priced, quite easy to find hotel within walking distance of all the central sights. The staff are immensely helpful and friendly, which is what you need in a strange place. The breakfast lasted us through to dinner in the evening - I must mention the really delicious deep yellow fried eggs in particular. If you like a firm mattress, you will be happy with the bed. We were on the top floor, just under the rooftop terrace, so could see the sea, and get some breeze into the room. The desk staff can't be faulted: when we needed to check in with the airline to return home, Adil passed over the computer to us, and helped us navigate through all the Turkish questions. Although the muezzin starts up at 5am, that is a feature of the location, and we were able to go back to sleep again afterwards. I'd certainly recommend the Aslan to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a single bed as well as a double, then you will have room to spread out a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cypressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

the hotel itself is pretty basic but the location is awesome, the bed and the room are awesome. bathrooms maybe a little spartans, could have done better if I could have opened the windows, but in the end it's been a good time. good breakfast, really awesome people in the staff. kind and professional

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg_ra016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Not a real flash hotel, but who wants that in the Old City. Clean and comfortable and a wonderful breakfast on the rooftop terrace in view of the Blue Mosque. Really friendly, genuine people running the place who cant do enough for you. Fantastic location just walking distance to all the wonderful places Istanbul has to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

For the price we paid, we didn't expect much from Hotel Aslan....but we were pleasantly surprised. Very basic rooms, the wardrobe needed repairing, the loo nearly fell off the wall every time one of us sat on it and the 'balcony' opened onto a concrete wall.....but, it was clean and the welcome genuinely friendly. The location is perfect - only a few minutes walk from all the lovely things you need to see and the buzz of the local eateries. The staff at breakfast watched eagle eyed to ensure you had enough breakfast (but not more than you should !) and made eggs to order (or 'egg' in the case of the menemem...). All in all a very good breakfast. We were out all day long and spent very little time in the rooms, so it was actually fine for us, and we would stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pookie062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#581 of 1,176 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#280 of 1,176 in Istanbul
170 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#372 of 1,176 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Askin Hotel
Askin Hotel
#978 of 1,176 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#413 of 1,176 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#282 of 1,176 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aslan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aslan Istanbul

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi 63 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aslan Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aslan Istanbul offers a rooftop terrace with views of the Marmara Sea . The hotel offers air-conditioned accommodation units LCD TV. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, all spacious rooms and suites in the Hotel Istanbul mesafededir.Asl 3 minutes walk from the hotel , free Wi-Fi , wooden floors and a minibar. A private bathroom in each accommodation unit , hair dryer and toiletries place almaktadir.Restor breakfast buffet is served daily in the panoramic terrace. The terrace has an adjoining bar . A 2- minute walk from numerous dining options and bars , LOCATED Staff at the 24 -hour reception provides room service during limited hours . Staff also Ataturk Airport ( 15 km) and Sabiha Gokcen Airport (35 km ) 's services are available in the immediate vicinity ayarlamaktadir.Otel free parking. Sultanahmet Tram Stop and Basilica Cistern is a 5 -minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Aslan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing