We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a 3.5 star than a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #397 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More of a 3.5 star than a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Clean Hotel, comfortable room, large bathroom, friendly staff, has a fully equipped gym, free wi-fi (though patchy coverage in the rooms), breakfast included (tho not very good), and not expensive at all. The biggest problem with this hotel is its location, which is rather far from everywhere and you need a taxi to get around (24 hour taxi service available). It is located in a safe neighborhood. Unlike some other reviewers, I thought that the rooms were safe. While I never left my money or valuables unattended in the room, I did not feel if I leave my valuables unattended it would be taken by the cleaning crew. Overall it is a good hotel but definitely not a 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milads84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Manager at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate you being our guest and for choosing Grand Cevahir Hotel as your home away from home in Istanbul.
Thank you for sharing this post about your stay. You made my day with your great comments about the attentiveness of our staff and the personalized service you've experienced during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future, we hope we can change your decısıon for five-star hotel to be.
Best regards
MERVE AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    128
    89
    27
    30
See reviews for
66
55
45
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

There is not much to say about this hotel. Rooms are in poor quality and service staff are not professionals. Security staff in the entrance are rude, they stop you for a bag check but they only check for food. If you take a take away with you they do not allow it or might warn you not to do it again. That was really one of the most unpleasant conversation I had with the guard. After all, I am a customer, not a soldier in a military camp.

The hotel was overcrowded and breakfast room was a mess. Hard to find a table and breakfast quality was low. Location is unfavorable either. I do not recommend at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blckeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Yönetici at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your feedback. We do value your comments and will work with our team to improve based on your observations and experiences. Of course, the entire team wants to ensure each guest has a wonderful experience and we are sorry that we let you down. If at all possible, I would appreciate the chance to speak with you directly to get more details.we are so apolagize. Could you please contact me at makin@gch.com.tr?
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Contrary to the impression I had before visiting this hotel, I found it much better as compared to the other visitors view.
Agreed- Its hospitality is not as you find in a five star hotel, but still, I think they are trying to improve and you should give them another chance.
My stay was comfortable. There were some issues like room AC etc. but it was corrected immediately.
Morning breakfast could have been much better but its fine.
One thing which I think needs improvement is the reception- It needs to be more courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Yönetici at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest ;

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are delighted to read your comments about your recent stay with us at Grand Cevahir Hotel and happy to find out that you've had the chance to experience our both hotels in İstanbul. Your kind words are a great motivation for me and my team.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center the next time you're in Istanbul.
.
Best Regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is one of the worse hotels I have ever stayed at! We booked as a group of 15 and were allocated 5 rooms! Some of the rooms smelt very bad! Three out of the five rooms had no working telly! The air conditioning in one of the rooms was so noisy that my family could not get a good night's sleep! The bath tub in two of the rooms was blocked so when we took showers we had to wait for ages for the water to go down! We also had to hassle them to clean the rooms as it did not happen automatically!

Any complaints went unnoticed and staff simply did not care!

To top it all off my very expensive brand new perfume and face wash went missing too!

No food and beverage was allowed and when I explained to the manager that we had kids with us that couldn't eat the hotel food they basically said it was not their problem! As the hotel was in an awful location we couldn't really find restaurants nearby so it was a real hassle! Never again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BarF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Yönetici at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for taking the time to give such detailed feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that we haven't been able to deliver the levels of service, that you have rightfully come to expect from Grand Cevahir Hotel. Your constructive feedback has been noted and shared with the team and will be used for improvement of our services.
we are so so sorry. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the cigarette smell and wish to assure you that we have non-smoking floors and we will personally see to it that you get a room there on your next visit to our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards
Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

may you chose worse from point of location ,far from every thing .un polite personal specially on brake fast ,the security guard thought they are responsible for a military base .they check all the hand back visually and by machine ,they put a sing before security guard no beverages or food or eatable is not allowed.
and they were really looking for this matter not security problem

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hasan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Yönetici at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
• Dear Customer,
• First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Grand Cevahir Hotel while staying us. We couldn’t say anythıng our locatıon. But we are trying give to good servıce more than your hope. For example we have free shuttle mecıdıyekoy- taksım for you. It ıs very easy for transport.
• In thıs time we are very sorry for bad experience from security departmant. I wıll share the details with the rest of the team.
• Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center the next time you're in Istanbul.
• Best regards,
• Merve AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It's the kind of hotel that must have had some glorious days in the past. Huge rooms, large beds and bathrooms, glorious common spaces; it has it all. The breakfast was also very rich. If that's your thing then certainly go for it. If not, you'll find yourself in a hotel that hasn't had a refurbishment for a long time and is far away from anything fun Istanbul has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank promitheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Yönetici at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Our Guest ;
Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are delighted to read your comments about your recent stay with us at Grand Cevahir Hotel and happy to find out that you've had the chance to experience our both hotels in İstanbul. Your kind words are a great motivation for us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.
Best regards
MERVE AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

am very sorry coz i staid at this hotel they stoled my money it was on table and i told them for sure they ignore this case and the manager told me u forgot there wasn't any money and the location ver bad u should to take a taxi to any where and when i checked out they told me lie things they wanted me to buy 100 € for nothing i didn't order any thing except the breakfast and it was free with room and i drunk 1 seven up from the mini bar :) it's really terrible hotel and thief people there am very sorry go stayed there but in this month i didn't find any hotel empty

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nariman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrvakn, Yönetici at Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest ;
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center.

We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that the matter has been thoroughly investigated and will not re-occur.
We checked our records about your complaining and you stayed in our ourhotel between date of 16/06/2014 and 22/06/2014 you made your reesrvation as double room but when your check in time you had arrived the hotel as triple your double rate was 108 Euros per day and the third guest difference was 30 Euro per day. Normally your rate was 108*6=648 Euros at the aend of six days but you had arrived in the hotel as triple rate was 30*6=180 Euros difference end of six night it means that 648+180=828 Euros The reception has taken from you 900 Euros 72 Euros deposid for your possible extras. This is our hotel proceedure.
Your The other complaining about your stolen Money, we spoke our rooms employee and they couldn’t see your Money on the table when they entered to your room. We talked about thıs subject. You saıd ok no problem. But If you need any question please do not hesitate to contact with us.
We hope to host you in Istanbul all the time.

Best regards,
MERVE AKIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
#81 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#381 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Sisli
Biz Cevahir Hotel Istanbul
Biz Cevahir Hotel Istanbul
#378 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
#282 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#390 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Sisli
Mercure Istanbul Bomonti
Mercure Istanbul Bomonti
#715 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Darulaceze Cad. No:9 Sisli, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We add pleasure to your business Grand Cevahir is Turkey's first 5 stars Congress Hotel and by way of its impeccable principles has really made a difference in the sector. The hotel's congress hall is the biggest in Europe. In addition, with 2500m2 of usable space, it boasts one of the biggest Ball Room in Europe .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cevahir Istanbul
Grand Cevahir Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing