We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location , clean ok hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #275 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location , clean ok hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

.This hotel is walking distance to Takasim Square and funicular and shops. The first night we were given a room on the ground floor which has a tiled corridor and we hardly slept at all due to footsteps from guests coming in and out . The room looked dated. We complained the next day and they moved us to a higher floor which was quieter and more modern. The breakfast is wonderful , lots of choices and staff very attentive. Overall it's a compact hotel in a great location .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us. On busy days, we could be have to accommodate you valued guests at ground floor, sorry for the inconvenience on the first night and thank you for your understanding.

We will be looking forward to accommodate you with Konak Hotel hospitality again.

Sincerly,

Cengiz Akcay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    157
    66
    16
    12
See reviews for
63
92
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The personnel is friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, even if they do not offer any view ( no need, if you are out and about). The breakfast offers a large tasty variety, but the ambiance (including music) could be improved. Make sure you enjoy the tea instead of the coffee.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastronote_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your opinions and advices. You can be sure that, you advices will be forwarded to concerned department maangers.

Thank you for staying with us one more time and looking forward to accommodate you with Konak Hotel hospitality again.

Sincerly,

Cengiz Akcay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, null, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Hotel lobby is just amazing with colourful Turkish-style decorations, rooms could be nicer, but all in all it was great, especially because the hotel sent me cake in the room for my birthday (nice touch). Complementary water, coffee and tea in the rooms is also a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your staying with us and sharing your opinions.

Being able to make you happy is very flattering for us.

We wish you a pleasant year again and looking forward to accommodate you with Konak Hotel hospitality.

Sincerly,

Cengiz Akcay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel was very comfortable. Outstanding staff! There was never a time when you were walking in or out that you were not welcomed with a smile and offer of service. The location for exploring the city is excellent and you get a flavor of what it's like to live in Istanbul in this neighbourhood.

We had reserved a king sized bed. Didn't get it. We got the quick response on arrival that we would be getting a very VIP room, very nice, etcetera. Well, it wasn't a VIP room. It was a pretty standard room with 2 single beds (we are a couple that wanted to be together) however, it was very comfortable (photos attached). We heard others at the front desk complaining that they hadn't gotten a double, queen or King bed, either and we have to wonder if these even exist at the Konak. If they do not, they should be more honest and forthcoming about it when reservations are booked.

The front desk staff were exceptional! For example, my husband caught a bad cold on the last few days we were there. The Manager on duty had a special tea made up for him (something common to Turks) and wouldn't even let him pay for this 'medicinal' tea that really seemed to relieve his symptoms at least for a few hours. The thoughtfulness of this really deserve notice.
The young woman at desk (Serafina?) was really lovely: helpful, courteous and always warm and friendly. The doorman/bellman Cengis was also exceptional.

Our room and the hotel always seemed very clean and safe. The restaurant seemed to have a limited choice and a bit pricey for what it offered but this wasn't a worry since there are many other places to eat on the street in front of the hotel as well as just behind the hotel.

If we were to stay near the Convention Centre(s) again, we would actually consider returning to this hotel. That is just how comfortable and welcomed we felt.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor, side street but near the front. Even so, we were not disturbed by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinions with us and with other guests. We are glad to hear that, you enjoyed your accommodation.

We have also noticed your complaints about the bedding and shared with concerned departments. We will do our best in order to offer you a better service for your next Istanbul visit.

Sincerly,

Cengiz Akcay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Konak hotel in mid September for 5 nights as I was attending a conference at Harbiye military museum nearby.
The reception staff and customer services were very friendly and helpful.
My room was comfortable, quiet , clean and spacious on the top floor.
The breakfast was satisfactory with warm and cold dishes but there was a limited choice of fruit juices.
The location was ideal for the conference as well as being near to Taksim square and a wide variety of restaurants to suit all tastes .
Also ,it is within 10 minutes walk of the nearest tram station .
In summary , I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to be based in the European part of the city.

Room Tip: Top floor and at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure that, hearing your satisfaction on your accommodation.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to accommodate you with Hotel Konak hospitality one more time.

Sincerly,

Cengiz Akcay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the end of September around 1 week. I and my wife stay Konak Hotel greatly contributed to the wonderful time we had in Istanbul. This hotel is outstanding every respect; location, comfort, range of amenities, and especially service from its staff. The reception made me free upgrade to the suite room. I was very happy about that. The room was very clean, modern and well decorated.All our requests were done quickly by Mr. Okan (Front Office Manager). Excellent breakfast and great restaurant in the lobby which name is Strada Rest. We would absolutely stay at the Konak Hotel again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salahaddin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us and spend time for sharing your opinions with us and our guests.

As Konak Family, our guest's satisfaction is our primary object and we are really glad to be able to offer you a plesant stay.

We will be looking forward to accommodate you one more time with Hotel Konak hospitality.

Sincerly,

Cengiz Akcay
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is near Taksim square and it is very close to the bus stop that brings you to the Ataturk Airport. This is one of the positive points. It is, however, located relatively far away from the major touristic attractions (you need to take the funicular and then the tram). The rooms are Ok, although the wifi system did not reach my room (416), and I had to do on-line check-in in the corridor, in front of the elevators. The toilette, however, although modern, is microscopic (no more than 3 sq meters). Definitely, not the standard for a 4* hotel. The windows have a double/double glass, and I must say that my room was quite peaceful, with almost no traffic noise. It was facing a lateral street, however. I wonder what happens in the rooms facing Cumhuriyet Caddesi, which is a VERY noisy street. The breakfast is just OK (it looks more than it actually is).Not sure I would come back. Probably I would look for some more centric hotel. By the way: I paid 94€ (breakfast included) when I bought through an agency, but the information at the reception desk claimed that a double room costs 200€ (absolutely crazy, for this hotel)

Room Tip: Just in case, avoid rooms facing the main street (Cumhuriyet Caddesi)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_the_Fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKonak_Istanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying with us.

We would like to apologize about the problems you had during your stay. Your complaints certainly noticed and shared with the concerned departments.

It will be very sooting if you give us the chance to efface your bad experience. We will be looking forward to be able to accommodate you one more time.

Sincerly

Cengiz Akcay
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#178 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#353 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#379 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taxim Suites
Taxim Suites
#348 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#146 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#136 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Property: Konak Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi 75 | Elmadag-Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#193 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Konak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konak Hotel is located in the heart of the Taksim Square, which is close to the Lutfi Kirdar Exhibition Center, ICEC and Military Museum. Shopping, night life, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and historical places are all walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing