We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel appears indifferent to its guests.”
Review of Hotel Mina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mina
Ranked #296 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April 2014.
Starting with the good points it is ideally located for sightseeing the major 'must see' sights of Istanbul and for accessing the trams. However there are probably 40 or 50 hotels within in half a mile of this hotel equally well located so choosing this one for that reason alone is not a critical decision.
Our room on the 4th floor offered a distant sea view. It was a reasonable size and was furnished with dark wooden furniture typical of Turkey. It was clean; though the carpet appeared a bit tired. The bed was comfortable. The linen was fresh and clean. The shower room, which was of a good size provided regular hot water and a supply of toiletries was provided.
There was a safety deposit box which unfortunately was situated at floor level and was not easy to access, but it worked well and served its purpose. The lift between floors though small also worked well.
The top floor of the building is terraced and serves as a restaurant. It offers panoramic views of the roof tops, sea and Blue Mosque which is illuminated at night. The floor below contains the breakfast area.
This is not a hotel where staff appear to take a genuine interest in their guests. You are unlikely to get a 'hullo' or 'good morning' in any language. Based on our stay it is unlikely the staff will smile at you even once or ask ask if you have had a good day. So it it very very impersonal.
A feature of the hotel is the absence of female staff 'front of house' or to putt another way reception and the dinning room are staffed by what appears to be grumpy men who appear unhappy in the work place. In fact the reception area is so poorly designed they can literally hide themselves away and the only way you will be able to make eye contact with them is to approach the reception desk and peer over the top. Even then you will probably be kept waiting before someone says something to you.
Evidence of this hotel being staffed by careless people includes waiters brushing crumbs off the table cloth in a manner which makes these crumbs spill onto their guests. It is careless when you inform the dining room staff that they have run out of tea bags and no one goes and looks for more tea bags. It is careless when you ask where and how to get a tram and you are told go up that road. You are not told how to purchase a coin which is needed to get on to the tram.
Istanbul and Turkey prides itself on being hospitable. Sadly not in this hotel. This lack of respect for guests is not the Turkish way.
Breakfast is buffet style and you serve yourself. There is a range of food to suit most nationalities. I would have liked to have seen fresh orange juice available and more fruit. You can order a cooked breakfast but you must pay a premium for this. An omelette will cost 10tl (about £3-50) A fried egg will cost the same. According to an advert in the hotel this is the same cost of a sauna. You can have fresh fruit typically apples or oranges put out in a fruit bowl. There is a tip box left out with the lid open. it should seem that no one put any money in this box during our staff.
We were not told what was in the immediate vicinity. Tucked away there was a mosaic museum and a craft market within 5 minutes of the hotel and the hotel directions to the Blue Mosque unnecessarily took us the long way past the shops when there was a shortcuts done the lanes. Would I stay here again? No I would not as I am sure better service can be obtained in other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevizesTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is situated in the hystorical center of Istanbul very close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia Mosque. It has a nice restaurant on the top floor with a beautiful view on the Bosphorus Straits and the two mosques. The rooms are not very big but clean and cozy. Although there is free wi-fi the reception is not that good. Because the hotel has an excelent position we managed to get aroud by walking most of the time. The hotel staff is nice and helpful.
We used the hotel shuttle for transfer from the airport ( Mercedes mini van) and we did well because the city is huge and quite easy to get lost.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alexandru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Hotel Mina Boutique is a very nice small hotel with friendly stuff. Is really in the heart of the old city of Istanbul, 5 minutes walk from the Old Market and from the Blue Mosque and from Sultanahmet.
The breakfast is nice and the restaurant is on the top of the hotel from where you can see the sea and the city!
All in all it is fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 3 nights in September.The hotel is in the heart of the Sultanahmet,close to the grand bazaar.Rooms are a bit small but we were out most of the time.The shower is small but we managed..Many thanks to Gokhan,Zeki,Ali,Caner and Cihan for all their helpful information and been so friendly and courteous.The view from the restaurant is amazing!

Room Tip: Facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 133amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

stay 20 to 25 August 2013 : A very good hotel , close to all the sights of the old town. Room overlooking the small park in front of the hotel was very clean , all the cosmetics in the bathroom and bar changed / added daily , very good air conditioning system , all work perfectly and appreciated that it was quiet at night, although the hotel is 2 steps from the street Home . Breakfast very rich and varied , very tasty fresh pastries , fruit and hot casseroles or pies gender Turkish spicy with cheese and meat, clean room , it changes the tablecloths and floral arrangements . Terrace ..... is the strength of this hotel ... simply breathtaking ! You feel like you can touch blue mosque by hand! We had lunch and dinner here ... tasty food , good prices and very friendly staff . In a word, our hotel has taken the clean , decoration, attention to detail ( lobby , rooms and paintings of lift) and friendliness of the staff ... all spoke English and helped us with information about the city . I recommend this hotel , very close to everything .... You can take tram 3 lira , which impressed me with clean and quiet , to cross the Galata bridge and go in the modern , or you can take the ferry from Eminomu 4 TL to cross the Bosphorus on the Asian side , the ferry with 3 decks and indoor and outdoor bar area with super prices . In 15 min. you are in Asia!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Isabella2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Mona Hotel is in an excellent location right in the heart of the Sultanahmet. We stayed in three rooms in this hotel after requesting a change of rooms. The rooms are quiet and off the main street. It is an easy walk to the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and other sights. The rooms are small and not well maintained. The bed linen is clean and so are the bathroom towels. The carpet is quite stained and not well vacuumed and there were marks on the walls. The bathroom tiles have mould on the grout between the tiles. Each of the rooms we stayed in needed a good clean especially the bathrooms. Hotel staff manner varied with some being very friendly and helpful and others quite sullen and unapproachable. The breakfast was fresh and extensive although only Nescafe for coffee on offer. There is a wonderful view including the Blue Mosque from the rooftop restaurant. I would recommend this hotel because of the location but do be aware it is definitely a bit grubby and in need of some attention to detail.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a street view - nicer and also the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aquinn1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed for three nights in September. The location is excellent and staff are courteous and helpful. Good view from the restaurant. Rooms are too small ad is difficult for two!!! We stayed in two different rooms and both were more or less alike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#263 of 1,163 in Istanbul
720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#87 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
318 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#129 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mina

Address: Piyer Loti Cad. Dostluk Yurdu Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#205 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#210 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £42 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mina 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing