We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Central Palace Hotel
Ranked #387 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great location, profesional and friendly front desk / concierge team. Housekeeping needs to be a little more detailed but is good.
Breakfast service and choice is excellent.
We enjoyed our 4 days stay and would stay at this hotel again in the future.
Big thank you to all the staff at the central palace.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

While it is illegal to smoke in hotels in Turkey, the Central Palace chooses to allow cigarette smoking. We were surprised to see ash trays and matches in our room and in the lobby. But when are clothes started to smell like smoke and we had a constant smell of cigarettes in our room, we asked to be moved. The front desk told us that they did allow smoking on the lower floors and moved us to a higher floor. Unfortunately, we had the same problem there because previous guests had obviously been smoking in the room.
We are sorry to have to write this because the rooms are quite nice and the location is ideal. But because we rely on Trip Advisor when we make our plans, we feel others need to know that the Central Palace ignores the law in Turkey by allowing guests to smoke.
Our travel agent asked for a refund on our stay, but the hotel management refused.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdem Ö, Manager at The Central Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Tom2815,

It is not fair that you play judge and jury just depending on your conclusions which is not even close to the truth. That is totally wrong what you have written and you do not reflect the truth with your comments.
I will try to point out the truth step by step. As I am doing this I am also asking help from any of Central Palace guests who stayed in our hotel to confirm what I am writing here.
Let’s start with Lobby and restaurants. Inside of the hotel in public areas like lobby, restaurants or breakfast hall it is not allowed to smoke. And there are signs for it in each place that the guests can easily see.It is also inspected continously by local authority.
The smoking area is in front of our hotel open air and there are ashtrays with matches that our guests can sit and smoke.
The decorative ashtrays inside of the hotel are about putting litter and trashes from candy sugar that we offer for free at reception or the paper bag of the minipack sugar that we serve with tea or coffee and sometimes for the packing papers of chochalates, chewinggums etc. the guest brings with. There you can’t see any matches because there is non. The main question here is if you ever see anyone smoking in those areas. The answer is no..Because it is under control and we don’t let anyone to smoke .
On room floors it is a little bit different. We have parted certain floors as non smoking floors and according to guest wishes we assign non smoking guests to those rooms. In your case your nextdoor room resident was smoking in nonsmoking room and we have warned the guest and offer to change his room to a smoking floor as he did not claim it before. He didnt want a change and told that he will not smoke. But as we and you understood he smoked.He ignored our warnings and he continue to smoke secretly. And we have changed your room. You have seen and smell and check this room 902 (as we also did with our supervisors) and you have moved to this room afterwards which is over 45 square meter that there is plenty of place that you can breath. I do not agree which you obviously think about previous guest. Who would accept to move and change the room if the conditions stays same . It doesn’t make sense. I am very sure about it because two of our managers checked the room before we assign it for you.
Again it is not correct that you mention that we allow our guests to smoke. Just opposite. We try to provide maximum comfort for both smoker and non-smoker guests. Thats why we do not seperate non smoking rooms on room basis ,we seperate them in floor basis that we try to avoid conflicts between guests. What more we can do if a guest doesn’t care about the rules, ignore warnings and doesn’t cooperate with hotel management. Even it is very seldom I can not deny and say that it never happens. Mostly our guests respects the rules and even unintentionally if they smoke in non-smoking room they stop doing it after our warnings.
We are not allowing or encouraging people to smoke, we are just aware of there are smoker guests as there are non smokers. We are serving all and we are spending our maximum effort to keep our rooms refreshened and clean in all ways including odors even in smoking rooms. This is not a prison,this is a hotel and we also have no right to interfere inside of the room while the guest lives there.We have to do all actions within courtesy and kindness.
As last I have video records of security cameras from public places which goes back minimum 6 months. Anyone who wants I offer to open those records to check backwards. If you find any guest smoking in public area I will refund all your money . Because we are absulately positive about this subject. We have been aware of your problem, we did not ignore it, we have try to solve it either way, you may not be happy with the result but it doesn’t give you right to blame us and announce that we are doing something illegal. When you comment it that way it becomes unfair, untruthful, undependable for us . We respect all guest comments and we can see points to make our service better. We can develop solutions , we make sure that it will never happen again. What can we do about comments which are not correct?

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Central Palace is close to Taksim square. It is situated in an area with cobble streets, lots of restaurants & hotels, a close-by metro stop and many stores. The hotel itself is clean and well run. The rooms are large (most have a very good sized sitting area with a couch and two chairs, plus a desk). The breakfast, which is included, is excellent. There is an exercise room (which is so-so), sauna, Turkish bath.

The hotel does not have a bar, nor does it serve alcohol for room service. There are many markets close by that do sell wine, beer and liquor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A lovely hotel close to Taksim Square, Gezi Park and Istiklal Cad. Our room was spacious and included a sitting room and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also large with the only slight concern being a very high bath to step out of. Breakfast was great but dinner was disappointing with very ordinary-tasting food. Fortunately there are numerous cafes and bistros nearby. Although not a concern to us, it should be noted that alcohol is not available in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It is a shame that this hotel is suffering from the ongoing unrest in nearby Taksim Square and Gezi Park which are in easy walking distance. The turmoil is very real and happens often, but it is very easy to stay clear. We had dinner outside right down the street several nights and never felt unsafe. You can definitely get into trouble if you want to, but using a bit of common sense makes this hotel a wonderful choice. We were able to use public transportation in walking distance as well as reasonably priced taxis to go anywhere we wanted to. The staff here is noticeably sad about the situation, but they don't let that affect their genuine concern for the happiness of their guests. We were given excellent service with a smile. Some desk clerks didn't speak English very well, but they kept trying until they understood what was needed without getting frustrated. I would stay here again any day. What a wonderfully quiet oasis in a busy city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street in front have very quaint views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I liked how quiet the hotel was considering how close it was to Taksim Square. It seemed pretty luxurious. The beds were great and there was plenty of room. I didn't like the shower, though. The lip was far too high for anyone with mobility problems and I had a terrible time figuring out how to use it. Too many dials.

The food was fine, typical tour food for breakfast.

My only quibble was that it wasn't near the tourist locations on the other side of the city. If that isn't a problem, I'd recommend it. If you want to be able to walk to the Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar and other places in that vicinity, this hotel isn't the place to go. My tour selected it so I didn't really have an option but if you are booking it yourself, you might consider another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is central, yet no noise heard of the construction. brilliant experience.
I initially booked at the four seasons, but I shifted to the central palace because of its location.
Couldn't have been a better experience. Its worth every penny that I spent.
The door man is extremely warm and welcoming, there are yummy sweets at the very nice and elegant concierge. THE LOCATION is very central. You are 3 minutes away from the Metro station and 3 minutes off Taksim, walking. Taxis in Istanul aren't safe and they can be expensive, the metro is 3 lira per person and extremely convenient. The breakfast is amazing, specially the variety. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are AMAZING. There is a shower, jacuzzi and a massager. There are two supermarkets across, a wine store 5 minutes away and also many local restaurants, even an Indian one, and a subway and hookah place as well, all literally 2 minutes away from the hotel.

The only flaw is the wifi, which is slow and you have to keep logging in each time you unlock your phone/ipod and switch on your laptop, but this is a small thing compared to the advantages.

Overall, I wouldn't have loved Istanbul if it wasn't for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trav178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#132 of 1,163 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#325 of 1,163 in Istanbul
378 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#198 of 1,163 in Istanbul
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
BEST WESTERN Eresin Taxim
BEST WESTERN Eresin Taxim
#502 of 1,163 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#326 of 1,163 in Istanbul
519 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Suites
Taxim Suites
#368 of 1,163 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Palace Hotel

Address: Kocatepe Mah. Lamartin Cad. No:18 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34037, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#266 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £59 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Central Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Central Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Palace Hotel
Central Palace Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing