We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel but def not the best one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Ranked #438 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very good hotel but def not the best one”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A very good hotel, helpful but not very friendly staff. The condition of the bathrooms does not correspond to the value of the rooms. Breakfast is good but could add some more variety. My room was at the 8th floor, a corner one, and although smaller, had a very nice view.
Very poor Internet access!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana_Sv_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Plaza Hotel.

The plaza Hotel İstanbul Management and General Manager is paying attention so much for the guest satisfaction. All of our guest’s comments whether positive or negative, always assist us to improve the services we provide to our guests, our goal to provide excellent service and feel like at your home.

We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as The Plaza Hotel Istanbul team.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    108
    64
    15
    13
See reviews for
13
29
19
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

the hotel features very spacious rooms and is located ideally for business, less for tourism. Breakfast buffet is plenty with hot and cold items. There is a sky bar on the 21st floor with stunning views over Istanbul skyline. Hotel pricing is reasonable for a big city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralf_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Director of Sales at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear guest,

Grettings from İstanbul!

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took to write such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.com and to share with us and other travellers your comments about your stay.

It made us very glad to read that you were happy with our hotel, our team and its facilities. It is always very important to get our guests’ feedback but in your case it is also an excellent report where we can learn how our guests perceive the services our team delivers
We truly hope to welcome you again in the future at The Plaza Hotel.

With our best regards from Istanbul,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

To summarize the stay:
- Room - quite generous from space, two single beds, comfortable, located on the 18th floor, but very annoying A/C system. The other colleagues having rooms in lower levels, had an issue with the street noise
- Bathroom - not the cleanest, towels are grey and black which generate an automatic distrust, I appreciate white towels which you know when they are clean.
- Breakfast - great selection of cheese, but very crowded and loud.
- Price - 130 Euro is a rather high price for the given quality
- Pick up from airport - 70 Euro given as price by hotel, 82 Euro requested on payment due to fixed price in Turkish Lira. I found this quite unacceptable and I do not like being cheated.
- Location - on the side of a very loud street, but close to our partner's office, thus reasonable.
Conclusion: not again if it can be helped!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Plaza Hotel.

The plaza Hotel İstanbul Management and General Manager is paying attention so much for the guest satisfaction. All of our guest’s comments whether positive or negative, always assist us to improve the services we provide to our guests, our goal to provide excellent service and feel like at your home.

We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as The Plaza Hotel Istanbul team.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran Iran
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

it doesnt worth for 5 star at all. pool was in instruction as they said and most of things in gym was awful. breakfast was very limited no pan cake no fruits no sweets. just sky bar view was nice. the put a choclate box as a gift in my room.

Room Tip: its better to go on a hotel that worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilaAzimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Plaza Hotel.

The plaza Hotel İstanbul Management and General Manager is paying attention so much for the guest satisfaction. All of our guest’s comments whether positive or negative, always assist us to improve the services we provide to our guests, our goal to provide excellent service and feel like at your home.

We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as The Plaza Hotel Istanbul team.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A first experience in Istanbul resulted in a stay at this hotel, which was recommended by a local business colleague. Ideal business hotel but also not too bad for a holiday stay, although some of the tourist attractions are a few miles away. Personally I would say its 4/5 star rating is maybe a little top heavy, but that shouldnt deter anyone from staying. This is a good, clean, well run hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the sky bar is worth a visit on its own! On the downside, the menu was quite limited on my stay and the choice of drinks from the bar is nothing special. However, if you come to Istanbul and want to stay in the hotel all the time....you're in the wrong city! Get out and enjoy the place.....it's awesome, very clean and very safe.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont worry too much about room choice. All are good and there is the skybar for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest ,

First we would you thank you that for your interest to The Plaza Hotel İstanbul.

The plaza Hotel İstanbul management and our General Manager is paying attention so much for the guest satisfaction.

Your positive and negative comments are very important for us.

Thank you for your kind interest and comments.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The name on the hotel gives you big expectations. Unfortunately they can't live up to that. After two days I wondered what actually was wrong? The feeling was not right about the hotel. And suddenly I came to the name thing. If the name had been something else you could have seen a good 3 star hotel with a beautiful view from breakfast room at top floor. A good service in reception and also clean rooms even though it was water dripping from the ceiling in my bathroom. Sound proof glass to outside but absence of the door sills to corridor gave much noise from there. Avarage plus I will say.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank URBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,

First we would you thank you that your interest to The Plaza Hotel İstanbul.

The Plaza Hotel Management and our General Manager is paying attention so much for the guest satisfaction. And they do care about the complaints from the guests also we gave brief to responsible departments. We will fix those, under those circumstances they do apologise.

We hope to see you in our Hotel again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Swimming pool out of order. Sauna out of order. Hamam out of order. Old furniture and really bad food. You expect to eat something much better in Istanbul at a hotel that presents itself as a luxurius one. Rooms were clean and decent, but nothing really special. Needs renovations, but nobody bothers...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPHISTANBUL, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Plaza Hotel.

The plaza Hotel İstanbul Management and General Manager is paying attention so much for the guest satisfaction. All of our guest’s comments whether positive or negative, always assist us to improve the services we provide to our guests, our goal to provide excellent service and feel like at your home.

We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as The Plaza Hotel Istanbul team.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#495 of 1,156 in Istanbul
702 reviews
Sisli
Point Hotel Barbaros
Point Hotel Barbaros
#241 of 1,156 in Istanbul
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#85 of 1,156 in Istanbul
695 reviews
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#472 of 1,156 in Istanbul
219 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#196 of 1,156 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel

Property: Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Address: Barbaros Bulvari No 165 - Balmumcu Besiktas, Istanbul, Turkey (Formerly The Plaza Hotel Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#191 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#294 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing