We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fantastic hotel!”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #94 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

After arriving at 4.30am the staff at the front desk were so helpful and welcoming. They provided us with fantastic information about what do to and where to go. They allowed us to check in early which was great so we could have a sleep before we went exploring (we didn't have to pay for early check in either!) We received a welcome gift (blue glass) as well as a departure gift (Turkish delight and Turkish tea cups and tea). The buffet breakfast was huge and included western type cereal, toast, eggs and fruit etc but also lots of amazing Turkish style food ;) It was also very close to tram line and a short walk to major attractions (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar) Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Melanie_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    606
    112
    19
    7
See reviews for
335
1,061
204
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. Extremely impressed with our large, clean room with very comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large variety and the staff were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. The hotel is surrounded by an endless choice of shops and restaurants and is an easy walk to most of the major attractions. The gift that we received on departure was a very pleasant surprise and their complimentary free one way shuttle service was also very much appreciated. Also must recommend the very clean Cafe Mese (situated on the tram line not far from the hotel) for their excellent inexpensive food. We highly recommend the Hotel Sapphire for an excellent stay in an amazing city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and it was great.
The hotel provided the pick up service from the airport, and explained the tourist spots in Istanbul. The staffs are friendly and helpful too!!
Except for the breakfast which might need some variation, this hotel is highly recommended for those who wants to stay in Istanbul. Very near to metro station, and almost all old city's spots :D

Room Tip: Initially the hotel gave us twin room, but when we mentioned that we are married, they were willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Like others, my wife and I discovered this hotel on TripAdvisor and were highly impressed by the many positive reviews. Needless to say, we were not disappointed and in fact this hotel really exceeded all our expectations.

In general, the staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and courteous. They happily and enthusiastically answered all of our questions and were really good in providing us with information about the local area. They were universally friendly and obliging and happily arranged for some of our luggage to be stored at the hotel for a few days while we went travelling in another part of Turkey. Furthermore, on the days that we had to leave the hotel before the start of breakfast service, the staff on reception arranged for sandwiches to be prepared for us so that we would not miss out on breakfast for that day.

The hotel itself is situated in a fantastic location within easy walking distance to all the main tourist sights and amenities in the Old City. It is easily accessible from Ataturk Airport travelling by metro and tram, although the hotel provides a free shuttle service from the airport for guests staying 3 days or more (return shuttles to the airport at the end of the stay are €7 per person). There are many restaurants in the immediate vicinity although these seemed to be overpriced and the waiters were very pushy in trying to persuade us and other guests from the nearby hotels to dine there. Inside the hotel, our room was compact but immaculately clean and well-appointed.

All-in-all, this is an excellent hotel in a great city which epitomises the best of Turkish friendliness and hospitality. **This hotel also offers a 10% discount if you pay for your stay in cash and a further 5% off future reservations.**

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogul85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Discovered Hotel Sapphire on a Trip Advisor site and very pleased that we chose to stay there. Wonderful service from all the staff and a pleasure to interact with them.
Location could not be better and most of the "must see" sights are within easy walking distance.
We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was fine and comfortable.
Had dinner one evening at the Hotel and a dedicated waiter looked after us the whole time. Wonderful experience
Would stay at Sapphire again and thoroughly recommend it for value for money

Room Tip: No comment as we did not see the other rooms but ours at the rear was just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrytyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The staff on reception were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. On arrival Deniz made us very welcome. We were provided with a welcome drink and a sample of Turkish delight. Deniz provided us with a local map and pointed out the hotel location and local places of interest. The room was well equipped with copious toiletries, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities, free wifi, air conditioning. Towels and linen were changed daily and the beds were really comfy. There is an indoor pool, sauna and steam room but we did not make use of these facilities. Breakfast was an eclectic mix of dishes and included an omelette/egg station as well as fresh fruit, breads and cakes, cereals, meats, cheeses etc. The hotel is ideally positioned to explore all the major sights which are within walking distance. There is a tram stop within easy walking distance along with a range of restaurants and shops. Our free transfer from the airport to the hotel was efficient and comfortable. We had an early departure for our flight (6.00am). Although breakfast started at 7.00pm the buffet was made available to us prior to our departure. The hotel organised our return journey to the airport at a reasonable price. The reception staff were very helpful when we required to print our boarding passes for our homeward journey. I had my own laptop with me but there were two computers available for use in the reception area. On departure we were presented with a gift of a box of Turkish delight and a chey glass /saucer set. I also received a friendly email on my return home thanking me for my custom and offering discounts for future visits. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Sapphire and would recommend it as a good value, comfortable and well located place to stay.

It sounds trivial but the juice provided at breakfast was awful. Tasteless and garish in colour. In a country that has copious access to lovely, freshly pressed orange juice this was disappointing. The hotel has a roof terrace but it is not in use - what a shame! It could easily be developed into an attractive and relaxing area to spend time.

Room Tip: Higher floors take you away from any occasional noise in the pedestrianized street to the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Great location. Close to the most important sites. The staff was very helpful. The swimming pool seems poor and smell of chlor. The hamam didnt function. Pitty. But apart from that very nice and good value for money. No parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#68 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#146 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#144 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#80 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing