We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly service”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #95 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly service”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at the Sapphire hotel for 2 nights. Prior to my arrival they were extremely responsive to emails and swiftly made all my pick up and tour arrangements. The hotel itself is in a great location, close to all of the historical sites. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they really do make all of the difference. My only disappointment is that the wifi was very weak in my room and I had to sit near the door for a connection. I would give them ten out of ten for service and location though.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Qiniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    607
    112
    19
    7
See reviews for
336
1,065
206
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived early morning on the train from Romania and was made very welcome and even though I did not expect my room to be available, it was and I was very grateful. The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel facilities were excellent. My room was very comfortable, twin beds, easy chair and table though with not much of a view and the bathroom was fine but no plug for the bath! The breakfasts were excellent. It had a minibar and flat screen TV with English speaking programmes. The wifi was terrific on the 5th floor. The hotel location is superb, it is a quiet and peaceful pedestrianised street just 100 metres to the T1 tram stop at Gulhane so handy for the Marmaray train at Sirkeci and only two stops to Galata Bridge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

It's a good functional hotel in a very strategic location next to Sultanahmet and the bazaar. The tram is 2 steps away and there are many restaurants and coffee shops around it.

Rooms are not big ofcourse but not too small either. Bathroom with a very high bathtub (u climb to get in) - room has amenities and a fridge and a small wardrobe w a safe.

Breakfast can be improved - not many great choices and they close by 10.30 leaving u without hot tea.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked based on previous reviews and were happy with our choice. The hotel staff were welcoming, helpful and our room was everything we expected including a small balcony with a glimpse of the water. Recommendation for a local restaurant Adora was spot on. We would stay here again. Just a note that the rooms are small but we expected that and it wasn't a problem for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room at the end of the corridor as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Perfect location to visit Istanbul, you can easily go by foot almost everywhere. We got a cozy and perfect room. The ppl at the reception desk were just perfect: they gave us suggestions for the restaurants and the booked in advance for us!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letizia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleRock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Staff is very helpful, giving advice, when asked, abut restaurants, attractions, tours. The hotel is in a wonderful location, within walking distance of many attractions in the old city. The street on which the hotel is located is closed to traffic, so there are restaurants with outdoor tables, many of which are very good- but ask the hotel staff. The wireless was the strongest that we found in that region of Europe or the Middle East. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. We would definitely stay there again if we returned to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back, overlooking a courtyard, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MediumBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a fabulous weekend staying in Hotel Sapphire, Istanbul. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay, making a first time trip for us 3 girls a really wonderful occasion. Gifts on arrival and departure, clean rooms, great advice on trips and restaurants and getting around the city - and only a few steps away from some really nice restaurants - a really brilliant weekend, made to feel like 'home from home' by all of the staff. Would highly recommend staying here. The location is great in Sultanahmet - only a short walk to the Sultanahmet (Blue) mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi palace, the Hippodrome and obelisks, Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. And the Senkron Travel agency were great for guided tours - well organised and friendly service - and organised through the Hotel. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Either side of the Hotel was quiet as it is sheltered from traffic on either side. There is a pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#72 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#28 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#161 of 1,141 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#138 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,893 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#69 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing