We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel in old istanbul”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #99 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in old istanbul”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed in Hotel Sapphire for 7 nights from 7th - 14th August, 2014. The hotel is located 10 minutes walk to Aya Sophia and Topkapi Sarayi in one direction, and 10 minutes to Eminonu (with the ferry ports and Egyptian Bazaar) in the other direction, and just 2 minutes to the Gulahane Tram stop. The location could not be better. We were worried about the noise levels, however, found our room to be very quite and peaceful.
The room was clean, well appointed and well maintained. A/C and WiFi worked well. The breakfast spread was fantastic with turkish cold appetizers, fruits, cereals etc. they also have an omelet station.
The reception was very helpful, right from the minute we arrived till the time we left on the shuttle they had arranged.
I highly recommend Hotel Sapphire for your Istanbul visit. A gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: We had rooms overlooking a courtyard, very quite. The front facing rooms may have more noise due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArtistMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    611
    113
    19
    10
See reviews for
341
1,074
206
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyrenia District, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sapphire for 3 nights in August 2014. We were collected from the airport with a free transfer and the welcome from the hotel staff was very warm. We were sat down and given some peach juice and Turkish delight, and we were given advice about what do do in Istanbul and also given a map of the city. The staff are all brilliant, and sort out any requests you may have. Very courteous and friendly. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast is absolutely scrumptious with so much on offer from fresh fruits, yoghurt, pastries, toast eggs, vegetables, cold meats......... The location of the hotel is absolutely brilliant, right in the middle of all the major attractions which you can easily walk to. Also lots of lovely cobbled streets around you with great restaurants, all at very reasonable prices. I would definitely stay at this hotel when returning to Istanbul, it was very good value for money, and also if you were a lady travelling on your own, I think you would be made to feel safe and secure with their hospitality and courtesies.
What really makes this hotel stand out is its location and definitely it's 5 star staff...........Excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were eight of us (family and friends) who booked four rooms at the Sapphire two months prior to our visit to Istanbul. The entire process led by Mr Evsen was very positive and easy. Even better was our actual stay in the hotel from 17 to 21 Aug 2014. Sapphire is an excellent hotel, very well located (10-20 mins walking to all the tourist places and a minute from the tram line), with a very good staff. The hotel provides a superb layout for breakfast. Mr Dennix the front desk manager was the best that I have ever met....an outstanding man. We had a wonderful stay in this hotel and will certainly stay there if we visit Istanbul again. I strongly recommend future travellers to opt for Sapphire with their eyes closed !! Thanks Mr Evsen and Dennix !!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor (Room 406). Though a little small (but I guess most hotels in the City Cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srg2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We picked this hotel based on the number and quality of reviews and were not disappointed. We were greeted at the airport and had a shuttle van to the hotel. This was very welcome after a long, connecting flight (of course, now Turkish Airlines flies direct from Boston, but not then).

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room, while not huge, was certainly spacious enough for the two of us. The bathroom (and room) was clean and bright and efficient. The bed was comfy. We also had a small balcony (tiny, really) with french doors which opened. Although it overlooked an alley, it was nice to have, especially for fresh air in the mornings.

Morning breakfasts were filling and of a nice variety. I read, maybe in Rick Steves, that Turkish hotels take pride in their breakfast buffets. It showed from the assortment available. Definitely a nice way to start off the day.

There is a pool down in the sub basement. I was a bit leery of it at first, but it turned out to be fine. Not overly crowded. There is also a hamam, supposedly, but it either wasn't working or wasn't on while we were there. That's OK, though, because there are plenty of hamans in Istanbul to choose from.

The location of this hotel is wonderful. Certainly within walking distance of just about anything you would want to see in the Old Town: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, etc. There are lots of restaurants all around the hotel, too. Some are better than others -- but all will want your business, that's for sure. Read menus, ask questions, check out what people are eating (lots of outdoor seating) and then pick one. Public transit is also close by, as well as the Sirkeci train station to take the new Marmara Tunnel train to the Asian side of Istanbul. I highly recommend this as it fun over in the Kadikoy area. Also, the Hodja Pasha Cultural Center is very close to the hotel. It's a great place to whirling dervishes or other cultural dances.

We are a gay male couple and had no problems with this hotel or even with this area of Istanbul. We were thinking of staying in the New Town, but I'm happy we chose this, instead. Plus, you get a gift upon checkout (I won't ruin the surprise).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southieguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel sapphire for three days on a stopover on the way to Dubai. I made my decision based on how good the reviews were and I certainly was not disappointed. My airport pickup arrived on time and I was brought to the hotel at about 1 o'clock in the morning. Mustapha the receptionist was very helpful at checking me in and give me giving me advice about where to visit.
The hotel itself has got a lovely reception area, very big with Wi-Fi. I think there was a bar/cafe but I never visited it. I loved my room, very nice, spacious and clean. It was very quaint and nicely decorated. the towels were arranged in a very nice way on the bed. The bathroom was very spacious, with shampoos, conditioners, body lotion and shower gels.
The breakfast was on every morning 7 to 10. I found is absolutely fine I imagine I have to cater for a wide way array of guests. There was something for everyone. I personally enjoyed the cereal and eggs cooked at the egg station. Coffee was lovely.
Though it was the pool that attracted me to the hotel, I had only time to visit it once as there was just so much to see in Istanbul. It's a lovely way to unwind after a long day sightseeing.
The location of the hotel could not be better especially for solo traveller. The restaurants right outside and it was only about a 10 minute walk to Hagia Sophia and Sophia and the cistern.
Staff were wonderful at this hotel. So friendly and never too busy to help.

I had been a bit apprehensive about visiting Istanbul as a solo female Traveler but I really needn't have been. Had a fantastic experience and I have no doubts that the hotel contributed to this. I will certainly be back on my next stop over to Dubai

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank luckyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel Sapphire was better then a 5 star airport hotel we booked for our final night in Istanbul. My partner and I stayed at Sapphire for 5 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a very warm welcome by the reception staff, even though it was almost midnight, and this excellent service continued throughout our stay. Our room was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel was in the perfect location, within a short walk of good restaurants, the major attractions such as The Spice Market, Grand Bazaar and Aya Sofia. We were even given gifts upon departure and received a Thank-You email 24 hours later. Excellent in every aspect and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of May. The hotel has a great location in Sultanahmet, only 2 blocks away from Gülhane tram station and walking distance from the main tourist spots of Istanbul.
The rooms aren't big but they're very clean and comfortable. They even have a kettle and tea set with a complimentary selection of teas, which is a lovely detail.
The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly (Dennis and Mustafa specially). We even left some of our luggage at the hotel for 10 days while we where in Greece and picked it up when we stayed there again for one night before flying back home.
Breakfast has many options, from eggs made to order to helva, and the breakfast area is very nice. We would definitely go back to the Sapphire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#64 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,244 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing