We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great time in istanbul”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #96 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
ardooie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great time in istanbul”
Reviewed 26 January 2009

This was a beautiful hotel in the middle of the old city. Every place of intrest is within walking distance. The staff is very friendly, they helped us so much. We even had a free airport shuttle, we could swim in the hotel swimminpool and have a sauna whenever we asked. This is a hotel you must visit! It's the best!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janklaasblomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    605
    112
    19
    7
See reviews for
335
1,061
204
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Hotel Sapphire is perfectly located in the old town (Sultanahmet) of Istanbul. It's on walking distance of all the main touristic hightlights like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, etc. and all the restaurants. The hotel staff is super friendly, the rooms and spacious enough, clean and modern. There's free wireless internet which is a nice added feature and the price of the accommodation is very acceptable as well.
I'd like to recommend Hotel Sapphire to anybody wanting to explore Istanbul!

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

I stayed in the Sapphire Hotel for the third time in January 2009. I had an excellent stay. The rooms are really beautiful, very clean and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and very helpful from the minute we checked in until the minute we checked out. Helpful staff on the reception and also helpful maids and breakfast staff.
The atmosphere in the hotel is warm and welcoming.The breakfast was very good.The position of the hotel is perfect.Location ideal for the top tourist attractions such as Topkapi palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, train station and Bosporus ferries.
Free wireless Internet.
I honestly don’t have one bad word to say about this hotel, everything was excellent, and would recommend it to anyone whether you’re with a group of mates, or on a romantic weekend for two it really is suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianShkjezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Great location for walking to the main sights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Really good buffet breakfast with lots of choice and good quality. The staff are obviously proud of their Hotel and want their guests to have the best possible stay.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank addom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

You could not find a better location for staying in Istanbul, it is very convenient for Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc etc etc. The spice Bazaar is a mere 5 mins leisurely walk. There are lots of local restaurants, shops, bars and the tram stop is 2mins walk.

When we arrived the hotel staff were very hospitable offering us drinks and Turkish Delight.
We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms with very nice furnishings and fittings. The ensuite bathroom was large with marble fixtures and a very large and powerful shower!

The pool and sauna were very nice and we had them all to ourselves most of the time.

The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and once again the staff were very polite and helpful. Lovely fresh food served every morning!

The room was meticulously cleaned and re-stocked with tea/ coffee fresh linen and towels every day!

I would recommend this hotel highly if you want to absorb the culture and atmosphere of Istanbul.

  • Liked — Fantastic Location!!
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Smart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We selected it through trip advisor as like most of our holidays.

Once again we were not dissapointed. The hotel is set in a brilliant position so most of your sightseeing can easily be done on foot, i.e Blue Mosque 5 mins, Grand Bazaar 10 mins, not to mention the others close by. If you cannot walk very well then the local tramstop is just around the corner.

The hotel is very clean and althought they said the room would be small as it was in the old town we did not find it that way at all. Plenty of room for the two of us, bathroom fine aswell.

Breakfast had a vast array of items you could choose from so there is something for everyone.

All the staff were more than helpfull and i would certainly return.
There is a pool in the basement together with a sauna, both free of charge. We used this facility one afternoon and it was a good way to relax your leg muscles,

Our room was 69 euros a night which we thought was good value. You could also get an set course evening meal for only 10 euro per person at the hotel which was fine.

All in all, this is a great hotel to use as a base in Istanbul which is amazing. We only scratched the surface so have a good excuse to return.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Very good hotel, with excellent staff and beautyful lobby. I like it very much.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank bakuleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#65 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#158 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#144 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#82 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing