We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #96 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at this great hotel before taking a bus tour around Turkey. We booked this hotel because of the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. If you are looking for big chain hotel atmosphere and large rooms, don't come here. If you are looking for quaint (but clean and comfortable) and staff that make you feel completely at home, then this hotel would be perfect for you. On our tour we stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels around the country and we both agreed that none of them could compare to Hotel Sapphire.

The location is fantastic! It is an easy walk to the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, etc. There are lots of restaurants close by. Our favourite was the Faro Restaurant, just around the corner. For a change from Turkish food, try their pizza. It was the best we have ever had. My husband and I found ourselves looking forward to it after eating gas station lunches and buffet dinners for two weeks. I would also recommend the Cappadocia stuffed veal. Delicious!!

This hotel really helped make our stay in Istanbul a memorable experience. We would certainly recommend it and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l0vet0travelt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

We were originally booked to spend a few days in the Sapphire Hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed! When our holiday was extended due to the volcanic eruption, however, the staff couldn't have been more helpful or sympathetic A potentially stressful time became, in fact, a real pleasure due to the empathy of Mr. Deniz and his colleagues at the hotel. We have told all our friends about the Sapphire Hotel, and would love to return ourselves one day. Happy, happy memories,
The Golden Girls from Scotland

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PartyGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Great location, clean, very friendly and helpful. Deniz was articulate concierge. Breakfast very good, should have bigger cups or coffee pots, return trips for coffee needed. Sheets on bed short, but otherwise ok. Rooms small but adequate. TV is full satellite TV but no instructions.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I have to agree with other reviews, the staff at the Hotel Sapphire are what makes a stay here so special. They are so welcoming and hospitable it really feels like a home from home. The Hotel is very clean and well appointed and the location would be hard to beat.
I highly recommend this Hotel and would book again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentCapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good sized, clean rooms and wide ranging buffet breakfast included in room rate. Comfortable lounge with free internet access. Excellent location for visiting the sights of the old city and also close to the waterfront. Many good, reasonably priced restaurants near the hotel. Strongly recommend the use of 'Backpackers Travel' airport shuttle service for transfers; they were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband and I have just come back from our second stay at this fantastic hotel. This time we took along a couple of friends who were just as impressed as we are. As others have commented, the staff are absolutely top class, so helpful and friendly.

The rooms are smallish, but well equipped and very clean. The breakfast buffet was superb and the location is perfect. Every major attraction in Istanbul is within a few minutes walking distance and there is a tram stop at the end of the road for travels further afield. The surrounding streets are filled with restaurants all of which seem to have the friendliest waiters on the planet and it was even warm enough to eat outside at the beginning of May which just added to the great atmosphere.

Another bonus of the hotel is the swimming pool in the basement. Perfect to relax in after a hard days sightseeing.

We recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BootscooterCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

this hotel was really nice, great location just a few minutes walk from Topkapi palace and the tram system
Ali, one of the guys at reception was really friendly and always willing to help
The breakfast spread was amazing! so much food, the only problem is that it wasn't labelled so we have no idea what we were eating. stear away from the cerials though, they were pretty tasteless
Our room was pretty small but the bathroom was bigger than we expected
Definately a good place to stay, right in the center of almost everything

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea_Fyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,140 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#205 of 1,159 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#59 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing