We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jewel of a hotel in the shadow of Topkapi”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #99 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a jewel of a hotel in the shadow of Topkapi”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

from the airport at the beginning of the holiday and until our departure we received 100% attention, friendliness and efficiency. The location of the hotel is an excellent one for sightseeing, all being within walking distance.
The welcome we received was second to none and I can honestly say it is the happiest stay I have ever had, after many years of travelling, with experience of hotels of many classes. There was even a sauna and swimming pool, right in the heart of the old city of Istanbul!

Long may it remain privately owned!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    611
    113
    19
    10
See reviews for
341
1,074
206
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilseck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The service at the Sapphire was EXCELLENT! We were made to feel very important and comfortable throughout our whole visit! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Istanbul and be near the city!! The location was perfect for us to walk around and see the sites, take the tram, and come back to refresh at the hotel without alot of hassle! We loved our stay and will be staying here again on future visits to Istanbul!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autum_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bıllıngs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel mostly due to the amazing service. All of the staff went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The location is great for seeing historical sites within easy walking distance. There are many restraunts in the neighborhood. The rooms were small for a family but classy. The hotel was very clean. Our stay was very pleasant and we plan to stay at this hotel next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank water4trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dworp
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Great hotel,nothing was too much trouble for their staff,they did really everything to please us !!
Pool had warm water,sauna excellent after a daytrip,lots of nice restaurants in area (Pasazade at the left was the best of Istanbul!) and 10' walk of all the great attractions. We had 5d lovely weather,it was a perfect citytrip,and very cheap :25€ pp /d!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inezjonckheere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We spent four nights at the hotel over a long weekend. The hotel arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel. A one way transfer was included in our rate of around $90 per night. The value could not have been better as it included a buffet breakfast with many Turkish food delights along with your typical fare. The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. They arranged a tour for us along with a trip to a local Haman (Turkish Bath). Since the hotel is on a pedestrian only street a staff member always walked with us to ensure we got in the correct taxi.
The hotel is within walking distance to all the main sites. The location is just fantastic. We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagLadyAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I stayed with my wife at hotel sapphire 4 wonderful nights.
Everything was excellent.
Staff were kind and helpful, room service was excellent.
Location of the hotel was close to the tourist sites in Sultanahmet.
Breakfast was delicious and varied.
Excellent room rates compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Nice city centre hotel in a good location, but beware if you get a room on the first or second floors above the entrance.
Very noisy door and very squeaky hotel sign (when windy) will definitely keep you awake.
Food is average.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hamishhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,242 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing