We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Value in Istanbul”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #90 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2010

If you plan to stay in Istanbul's "Old City," (Sultan Ahmet, Aya Sofiya, Topkapi, etc.), this is THE HOTEL! I have been travelling to Istanbul for almost 40 years and I still can't believe I only just discovered this place. Location is perfect. And in a country known for its hospitality, the staff is incredibly accommodating. Pool and sauna are geat. Rooms are actually roomy for this area and the breakfast buffet is as good as any anywhere! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

Like quite a few hotels in this area The Sapphire is a comforatble, professionally run and very well priced hotel in a great location, What set this hotel apart for me was the exceptional front desk service we received not only during our stay but well after we had gone. They assisted us with an insurance claim for a camera we lost near the Blue Mosque well after we had left Turkey.
PS They have a a great indoor pool and sauna

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie49294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Everything about our stay was so good:professionalism of staff, immaculate upkeep, good wi-fi, terrific breakfast, comfortable room. Perhaps some modernization would be attractive, but this comment should not deflect on our totally satisfied stay. And the location was perfect--yes, perfect! Airport pickup was smoothe and cordial, all the highlights of historic Istanbul are so close.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The staffs were very friendly and were able to help us with all of our enquiries such as (transportations, shopping, places to visit etc.). They gave us a very warm welcome and a brief introduction to the area including options for tours and not forgetting Turkish delight upon arrival. The breakfast spread was large with lots good choices, the rooms were clean and comfortable I was bit concern with some of the reviews with regards to the room size however it was the right size for two people. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation. Not only was the hotel an excellent value for money which includes transportation from the airport and daily breakfast and free Wi-Fi. It is in an excellent location for tourists.

The hotel was within walking distance from almost anything we wanted to see (St Sofia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Spice/Grand Bazaar etc.). It was also close to a large selection of places to eat and shopping. I can honestly say we very much enjoyed our stay and I have recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamay135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We just came back from Istanbul after a 6 nights stay at this hotel. It was in a great location, walking distance to everything, with lots of restaurants and bars just outside the hotel, and a couple of the best very close by.

I had read on previous emails that rooms are small, we found them to be a perfect size, with all amenties, as we used it to sleep and take a shower.

Breakfast is very good, with large selection and of good quality, and of course the service is excellent by everyone. I would especially thank Denis, and Ali, who always smiled and welcome you when you walk into the hotel, and never were to tired to chat, and answer all our questions.

You get much more then what you pay, and could not ask for any more at this rate.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorergr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Hotel Sapphire is in the best location in Istanbul. We walked everywhere during our stay. We stayed 7 nights in total, and had trips to other areas in Turkey in between. It was no problem for them to store our bags. We were in 3 different rooms and all of them were a good size, although the carpets were a little worn in some areas. Bathrooms were good also. We had an issue with getting FIBA tickets sent to Australia (we left before they arrived) and Mr Evsen was so helpful with providing their address for them to be forwarded on and then looking out for them and contacting us when they arrived- 2 days before the game! Thankyou so much!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon02283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation. Not only was the hotel an excellent value (transportation from the airport and daily breakfast and free Wi-Fi included) it is in an excellent location for tourists. Personally, I prefer to stay at a hotel that is within walking distance from almost anything I want to see and it was (Aja Sofia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, etc.). It was also close to a large selection of places to eat and shopping.

The staff was very friendly and was able to help us with all of our requests (taxis, laundry, etc.). They gave us a very warm welcome, a brief introduction to the area including options for tours (no pressure), juice and Turkish delight upon arrival. The breakfast spread was large with lots good choices, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. They also gave us gifts on our departure (make sure you have room to carry them when you leave) which was very thoughtful. I loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegofSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#200 of 1,175 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,783 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#108 of 1,175 in Istanbul
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#21 of 1,175 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#61 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing