We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - really special christmas break”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #94 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Fethiye
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel - really special christmas break”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This looked good on the booking site but we were so impressed when we arrived after a stressful journey. Complimentary fruit cocktail and turkish delight as we checked in. Room was cosy, well furnished and comfy bed and peace and quiet added to the luxury.
Very good buffet breakfast, plentiful, fresh , proper table linen and china with well chosen background music for atmosphere that was never invasive.
The reception parrot chats when you pass him by, the cosy luxury reception area is ideal to sit in and take coffee, write postcards, read your book.
Deniz on the recpetion was so helpful, telling us the best way to get anywhere, approx cost of cabs, tram stops etc. He even phoned a shop where we wanted to buy a tv to warn them of our arrival.
All in all this hotel is so good i am already planning the return visit.
Just as we felt it could not get better, when we checked out we were given a small christmas /new years present.
One of the best alternative christmas breaks i have had.
Don't miss this one, its a jewel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebaroness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    607
    112
    19
    7
See reviews for
336
1,065
206
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

You can't go wrong staying at the Hotel Sapphire. Unless you're looking for high end luxury. It's a well run, clean, and efficient. It's located in the heart of the old city, and there are numerous restaurants on the small streets just beyond its doorstep. And they serve a great breakfast!.

The staff is attentive and well informed. Denis made great suggestions for my self guided tour. He was especially patient in showing me where things were on the city map. And how to use public transportation. Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmmaker1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Booked this hotel after reading other reviews on Tripadviser, so glad I did as it really is a gem set in the old city. The staff, hotel and rooms are great, don't be put off by reviews saying the rooms are small as they are of a good size for two people. I can only concur with all the praise heaped on this hotel by previous reviews and would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasTraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I actually found and chose Sapphire based on the reviews on the site- they're all true! I stayed here with my husband on our honeymoon last week and was so impressed with the level of hospitality, breakfast options, cleanliness, friendliness, and comfort of the room. They truly treated us well, and we had an excellent stay. The free breakfast was beyond my wildest expectations- best olives and yogurt I have ever tasted in my life! There are many many other awesome eating options, too- we stayed for 5 nights and did not get bored with breakfast at all- we looked forward to it every morning. The beds were really comfortable. The location is really fantastic, too. We had an amazing experience and would recommend this hotel highly without any hesitation. They really took good care of us, and even arranged for reliable transport to the airport. Thanks, Hotel Sapphire!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxophonegirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I would say this hotel is very good for people accustomed to 2 and 3 star properties. Don't get me wrong --- it is perfectly nice -- but it's a budget hotel. Staff is excellent and could not have been more helpful but in-room amenities lacking and overall condition rather tatty. I would still recommend it but I do think it is a little overrated here on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlashba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This was the first time I have been to Istanbul, and I selected the hotel based on TripAdvisor's reviews, and boy where they not wrong! For a solo travel, with limit time (trip was only for 5 days), this was an amazing experience, and the hotel staff were super friendly, very informative, and provided insightful informations on where to go and what to do.

Clean hotel, perfectly located and reasonably priced. It's located close to the main attractions, with walking distance and easy access to the local tram.

The charge included breakfast, which was pretty simple and very authentic. You get the basic, scrambled eggs/sausage/cheese, and some Turkish breakfast as well.

Free wireless connection make it a very easy location to still stay in touch with friends.

Since the hotel is located in an area with plenty of restaurants & budget hotels, you can be a bit intimidated by the restaurant staff as they will be extra pushy in getting passersby to try their restaurant, but don't that stop you ... they are just being friendly :P

In an overall, highly recommended hotel if your main concern is budget, distance, and easy access to everything in Istanbul.

I was greeted with a gift, and was bid farewell with a gift as well. Made me feel very special :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Can only agree with other reviews. Excellent service from any of the reception staff. Rooms are cosy and clean. Beds are firm and comfortable. The breakfast selection and quality is good. The welcome drink and Turkish delight added a nice touch. We also received a nice gift when checking out. All this made the stay very enjoyable.
The only problem i have is the noise form the mosque early in the morning. No fault of the hotel, but i would ask for a room that is the opposite side if you are a light sleeper.
Other than that, yes i would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#72 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#28 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,204 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,044 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,895 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#136 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#69 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing