We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great-would love to come back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great-would love to come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a delightful hotel with adequate but spotless facilities and run by friendly, courteous and genuinely caring folk.
And then, there's the LOCATION!!-right there in Sultanahmet (the historical part of Istanbul).
Where I live in Glenroy it takes me 18 minutes to walk to the nearest railway station - one evening I left the street cafe I was at (right opposite Constantine's Column and the entrance to the Covered Bazaar) and walked back to the Tashkonak-it took LESS THAN 15 MINUTES.
In that time I passed the entrance to the Yerebatan Cistern, the Aya Sophia (once the world's largest Mosque and now a museum), the entrance to the Topkapi Palace, a stroll down the Hippodrome, past the Blue Mosque and down a few hundred metres of narrow winding cobblestoned streets to the Tashkonak!!!
Talk about location -that's the five world-famous sights of ancient Istanbul, all 'just around the corner'.
And what better way to start the day than breakfast (included) on the rooftop terrace where you can watch the busy ship traffic and whilst sitting at the very edge of Europe, raise your eyes and look at the start of Asia just across the water.
Bye-the-way I had a Turkish Bath in a Hammam which was operating before the First Fleet left England!
Go to Istanbul - you owe it to yourself, and stay at the Tashkonak when you are there.

Room Tip: Ask for a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCockrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    441
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
374
517
100
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Relaxed small hotel, with quiet garden and beautiful terrace views. Staff is superfriendly, rooms are tidy. Proved to be an excellent location for walks to the major attractions, a bit on the far side from the ferries, if you only do walking as land transport. would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akostallos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here with wife and 3 small children in the family room. Couldn't have felt more welcome and the kids were treated like family which made the trip all the more enjoyable for them. Breakfast was simple but adequate with a great view. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Blue Mosque etc. There is a little grocery store just below the hotel for any needs you may have like water or bread etc. The airport pick-up and drop-off was fast and hassle-free. Paid in cash so we got a good discount.
Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Thanks for a great stay Hotel Tashkonak

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayurensuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We had a lovely few nights at Tashkonak, the staff were very hospitable and the breakfast was great, with a lovely view. The staff were very good towards our 16mo old child. If we go back to Instanbul we will be back at the Tashkonak

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sjen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Situated in quiet side street. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Air conditioning and fridge. Excellent breakfast on rooftop with beautiful views of Bosphorus and Sea of Marmara. Pretty garden and free tea making facility in reception. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilTervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

If you are after a small quiet hotel with a nice little garden area in Sultanahmet, and firendly service this is a good choice. The staff were helpful ( we asked to change room and they we very accomodating). With a roof terrace looking to the sea and a very good buffet breakfast it's good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrocker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Hotel Tashkonak felt like our home away from home in Istanbul. The staff, especially, the head concierge, were very friendly and helpful in providing information about tours, directions, restaurants, etc.. The ceilings in the rooms were painted to look like Iznik tiles and our courtyard room was very comfortable. The hotel building is in a largely residential area only a short walk from the city's main attractions (Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, etc) and the Suhltanamet tram stop, as well as many good restaurants and a laundry. Afternoon tea is served in the hotel's lovely courtyard garden, surrounded by fruit trees. The rooftop breakfast room has a great view of the Sea of Marmara. Though we enjoyed the breakfast, since we were staying for a week we would have appreciated more variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#160 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#37 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing