We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & attentive - the best service received thus far!”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly & attentive - the best service received thus far!”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our stay at Hotel Tashkonak certainly added value to our holiday; the staff were very friendly and provided an excellent service to a high standard. In fact, they went out of their way to provide as much assistance as possible, exceeding your expectations.

It's a cosy hotel providing all facilities required to make your stay homely & comfortable; the location is also good as it's within walking distance to a few of the major sights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    446
    75
    7
    6
See reviews for
375
522
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in Tashkonak Hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were more authentic looking than other hotels I stayed before in Sultanahmet, and were very clean.

We spent a couple of hours in the afternoons sitting in the back garden sipping our complimentary teas. The hotel management was very helpful, arranging a nice Bosphorous tour for us that was better than the standard tour departing from Eminonu. Good advice every time we needed it.

The transfer to and from the airport was professional and it was nice to feel safe in the mad traffic of Istanbul.

I was concerned about hearing trains before coming but did not really hear them at all. The hotel is close to a mosque and you can definitely hear the morning prayer call, though in Turkey you are almost guaranteed to be close to a mosque.

The wireless internet connection worked with no issues.

Overall, we had a great time and felt welcome and at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here July 1-4. Our flight arrived early morning and they held our bags for us until our room was ready and took them to the room. The room was comfortable, everything we expected for a little boutique hotel in the middle of everything. If you are expecting the Ritz, look somewhere else since this is not high end. The free breakfast buffet was very delicious. You have views of the Bosphorus from the roof top area, and there is a little garden down below with an abundance of greenery.
The staff was very friendly and provided us with a map and details of what we should see. They also called us a cab and had him take us to a Turkish bath (not the one up the road from the hotel but a very old famous one that all the locals go to and is more reasonably priced). Would definitely stay here again if I made it back to Turkey. This was a great home base for our siteseeing adventure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crzydvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just spent five very comfortable nights in the family room on the second floor at Hotel Tashkonak. This is an extremely friendly family run hotel. Everything is clean and well maintained, the beds are comfortable, excellent water pressure in the showers and a good Turkish breakfast served daily on the roof Terrance. We paid cash and took advantage of the discount they offer, also had a free oneway airport transfer included. The location is second to none, near several good restaurants and a shrt walk to the main attractions in the area (Blue mosque, Hagia Sofia etc), as a bonus we also found it very pleasant walking along the waterfront by Marmara sea to the fish market and several good fish restaurants, very lively on the weekend with locals - only 5 mins from the hotel.
Highly recommended, no negatives. Very good with the kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SBell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Firstly - let's just get something straight off the bat, the Tashkonak hotel is not the lap of luxury. It does however, provide great value for the price, the rooms are clean and give you all that you'd need for a comfortable stay in an amazing city. The hotel has some particularly great features; lovely view from the roof terrace where breakfast is served, very sweet 'hidden garden', really lovely and helpful staff and it is excellently positioned just behind the blue Mosque.

It terms of some less positive issues, the hotel is situated right next to a mosque which did call prayer at 4am each day and it is by the sea so the seagulls can be quite noisy. However, there are a billion mosques in Istanbul so being woken by a call to prayer is surely a feature of the city as a whole and secondly the sea is also a feature of the city so you can also expect a few seagulls. In fact, by the end of my stay I was finding the seagulls a charming feature - who knew that these birds could be so expressive!

In summary then, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hotel. Certainly worth the money.

Room Tip: One on the side of the hidden garden
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ZamorasRightPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The rooms were very nice and clean, and the service was amazing. The beds were a bit on the harder side, which I think is better than too soft. Breakfast had a nice selection and I always ate a bit too much because it was delicious. I burned myself on tea while I was there and they got me ice quite often, and then the next morning asked a woman who worked there to look at it. She put egg white on it and made it completely better! It's really close to the Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. We walk a lot so we made it over to the newer side by foot, and traveled further afield by boat.
There is not a huge selection of food. It's all very touristy there (restaurant-wise), but it makes up for it by having many of the prime sight-seeing locations nearby.
One warning - there are seagulls that live on the mosque across the street. Bring earplugs. It does have air conditioning, so one could close the windows and muffle the noise that way, but I much prefer fresh air, so earplugs were wonderful! As my husband says, earplugs add an extra star to any hotel!
We stayed in room 305.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazaaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a delightful hotel with adequate but spotless facilities and run by friendly, courteous and genuinely caring folk.
And then, there's the LOCATION!!-right there in Sultanahmet (the historical part of Istanbul).
Where I live in Glenroy it takes me 18 minutes to walk to the nearest railway station - one evening I left the street cafe I was at (right opposite Constantine's Column and the entrance to the Covered Bazaar) and walked back to the Tashkonak-it took LESS THAN 15 MINUTES.
In that time I passed the entrance to the Yerebatan Cistern, the Aya Sophia (once the world's largest Mosque and now a museum), the entrance to the Topkapi Palace, a stroll down the Hippodrome, past the Blue Mosque and down a few hundred metres of narrow winding cobblestoned streets to the Tashkonak!!!
Talk about location -that's the five world-famous sights of ancient Istanbul, all 'just around the corner'.
And what better way to start the day than breakfast (included) on the rooftop terrace where you can watch the busy ship traffic and whilst sitting at the very edge of Europe, raise your eyes and look at the start of Asia just across the water.
Bye-the-way I had a Turkish Bath in a Hammam which was operating before the First Fleet left England!
Go to Istanbul - you owe it to yourself, and stay at the Tashkonak when you are there.

Room Tip: Ask for a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCockrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,156 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#74 of 1,156 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#132 of 1,156 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#97 of 1,156 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing