We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and a great location”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff and a great location”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews, location, and the cost. We would like to thank the staff who helped us with minor things like replacing a light bulb, providing extra pillows and coming to our rescue by letting us have a late check out because my husband was taken ill. Our room had a little balcony overlooking the garden. The bed was comfortable, air conditioning worked well, and the roof terrace has a superb view. Stairs would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems as there is no lift.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LezahSwayHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    445
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
375
519
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just a very short (if uphill) walk from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and the pillar which was once thought to be the centre of the ancient world, Tashkonak Hotel feels very safe and has a beautiful cool garden at the back where you are welcome to eat your own food in the evening while being served free Turkish tea. The highlight for me has been the breakfast on the roof terrace with fabulous views of the sea on both sides, treetops and birds - and the breakfast and coffee is good, too, particularly the tasty Turkish vegetables and the water melon - good bread of many kinds, salads, eggs etc. The staff all really make an effort to help and have a sense of humour. This isn't a palace, the rooms could be more modern, some things are a bit ramshackle, but there's everything I need. Don't be put off by the the foyer, which at first struck me as dated, but later, once I had found the showers were good and hot, the aircon worked and so did the free wireless, I saw it as charming and Turkish - like the staff. And there's an 8% discount for cash.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggienovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were charmed by the Tashkonak Hotel in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. Although only a 2 minute walk from the Arasta Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and other landmarks, the Tashkonak offers an oasis of calm, situated in a quiet side street. It boasts both a rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque, and a shady courtyard garden. The staff are friendly and helpful yet discreet. The Turkish breakfast is delicious and has something for every taste and the rooms clean, compact (take one of the larger rooms if you plan to hang out in the room) and reasonably priced. For a hotel with an aura of old world charm, family atmosphere, all mod cons and a fabulous location, the Tashkonak is the place.

Room Tip: Garden-side is nice but if you are a non-smoker, ask for a room on the higher floors as smokers indu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAddisAbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here in July for four nights during our honeymoon. We loved it and would come back!

This was a recommendation from my father-in-law, who stayed here a couple of years ago. There are so many places to stay in Sultanahmet, and they all pretty much seem the same on the internet. We were happy to hear from him that Tashkonak was a great little place tucked away on a side street just a few blocks from the Blue Mosque. He described the fantastic service, the lovely morning breakfast on the rooftop with the view of the city and the sea, the convenience of being located right in the mix. This being our honeymoon, we were looking for somewhere nice enough to get a good night's sleep every night, but we were not seeking luxury accommodations in Istanbul because we knew we were only going to be in the room at night, and we were planning on more luxury type accommodations on a different portion of our trip. So we booked this place assuming it was going to meet our needs just fine, but it really exceeded them in a lot of ways!

The staff was very friendly, and they were always ready to help us make some plans, find a place to eat or a hamam, provide info about a ferry or tour. They booked our shuttles to and from the airport, made us coffee when we got in and prepared some especially for us when we took a 5am shuttle out the day we departed. They even sent up a nice plate of fresh fruit for us on our second day.

Breakfast on the roof is not to be missed. You will get a version of the standard Turkish breakfast which will include eggs, meat, cheese, breads, olives, yogurt, coffee, fruit, juice. It is a perfect way to start the day and you have views of the city and the Sea of Marmara from up there. We noticed an international crowd of visitors with a handful of other Americans mixed in. It was very nice to be in a place with people from all over.

The location is perfect. It's nestled into a little side street just a few blocks from the Blue Mosque. From here you can easily walk to most of the old city sights and you can hop on the light rail/tram to other parts of the city. But although Sultanahmet is a very active and bustling place, Tashkonak is tucked away on a side street and it feels very peaceful and much removed from the action, which is nice when you are trying to sleep. We noticed a lot of other hotels which were right on main drags with cafes, restaurants, shops and a significantly more street activity. Tashkonak is a quick walk from the action, not right on top of it.

One final note: Tashkonak does not provide state-of-the-art luxury accommodations. We stayed in a wonderfully decorated room that was quite large enough for our needs. There was no AC, and it was probably 90 degrees while we were there, but honestly it did not feel that hot in there. You're not going to get modern fixtures and furniture, flat screen TVs, huge bathrooms, double sinks, etc. You're going to get simple accommodations that provide a perfect base camp for a few days of adventures in the city.

We loved this place and we will recommend to all of our friends, and if we come back to Istanbul, which I hope we do, we will stay at Tashkonak!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. There's no avoiding the call to prayer. You'll hear i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in Istanbul - we are so glad we stayed here! Great location - very close to all the major tourist spots. The staff was fantastic! They were very helpful and nice. The place was clean and cute. The only thing to note is that although they do have two computers with internet access, they were too old to load gmail, facebook and other main websites.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed at the Taskhonak during my first trip to Istanbul and was pleased with the hotel. I had read a number of reviews praising the friendliness of the staff so perhaps I had bigger expectations. The family was friendly enough but was not extraordinarily helpful. The location of the hotel was fantasitc, a very short walk to the Blue Mosque and other tourist attractions, shopping, and restaurants. The breakfast in the morning was a definite highlight. The food was great and the view to the Marmara Sea was breathtaking. The only complaint I would have about the hotel is that the noise in the hallways can be very disturbing. There were some rude guests staying during the same time as myself who would return to their rooms at about three in the morning and then slam their doors. Because this is an older, historic building, the sound would travel and reverberate through my room. I woke up a few times and could not get a full night's sleep because of this. Just hope that when you stay here the other guests will be more considerate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I booked our first family vacation to Istanbul, Turkey. We traveled as a family of five, including 3 children.

The hotel is a quaint place in the heart of the Sultanahmet historic area. We we were on the third floor in a two room suite. One bedroom had a queen bed while the other had 3 beds. We had one bathroom to share. House keeping was timely, the rooms clean and a steady stock of clean linen, towels etc. was always available.

The staff, especially, Hiyati, was incredibly helpful. Their knowledge of the city, ready willingness to provide cost effective solutions and time saving ideas were invaluable. Hiyati, in fact helped me prepare a customized private day tour to Bursa, the origin of the Ottoman empire. The guide he arranged, Tanner, was very personable, very knowledgeable and helpful.

The morning breakfast buffet was extremely varied, plentiful and constantly replenished. We never lacked anything. The freshly baked bread and hot coffee got you charged up every morning. The staff was attentive, never leaving any dirty table.

All the important areas are within 10-15 minutes of walking. Public transportation is easy to use and most convenient with a network of buses, trains, Metro and ferries.Wifi is available for free, so the kids kept up with Facebook, Soccer scores, etc.

Room Tip: Cash is king. There are plentiful ATMs with the Lira, USD, Euro readily available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kidzdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#60 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#94 of 1,141 in Istanbul
84 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#146 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing