We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and nice place with home atmosphere”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hello!
First of all, this small hotel is a nice place with a pleasant home atmosphere. The staff is friendly, kind and helpful, the smile on thier faces is sincere.
The location is very good - close to main sights, but in silent place and that is perfect.
Room is clean. Large double room has optimal area for pleasant staying in room, when you have such wish. Matrasses are comfortable (close to hard). Room was warm, that is important when you are staying there in winter.
Breakfasts are held on the terrace with a beautiful view to Marmara Sea. Food is optimal. Everybody can find something tasty for himself. There are vegetables, seasonal fruits, cheeses, yoghurt, milk, jams, honey, omelettes, olives and at alia, coffe, only black tea. Everything is very tasty.
We are glad to our choice and happy with stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OwlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
There are newer reviews for Tashkonak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

You can't wrong with the location or the service in this cozy, family-run hotel in walking distance of all the major sites. Located in Sultanahmet district, this quaint hotel is a very short walk from the Marmara sea as well as Ayasofia mosque, Blue mosque, Grand Bazaar, good restaurants, bars, little shops, and stores to get essentials, etc.

We stayed for 3 nights, and from the first moment to the last, we were welcomed with open arms. We traveled with my sister and brother-in-law and their 11month old baby, and we felt right at home. We arrived at 10:30am after a long flight, and they were able to give us our rooms immediately so that we could freshen up and take care of the baby.

They always had good advice on where to go, as well as some decent Turkish coffee when we started to run down. The breakfast buffet is great - mix of European and Middle-Eastern foods. And you eat overlooking the Marmara Sea and can even eat out in the courtyard or on the rooftop veranda where you can see the Blue Mosque. If you're looking for sugary doughnuts and waffles of a typical American breakfast, go to an American chain hotel. However, if you typically like to stay in a traditional location and try to use the language and learn about the culture, stay at Tashkonak!

After breakfast on the second day, they even offered to wash our baby bottles in their dishwasher because we didn't have a good place to clean them well - this example typifies their service and family atmosphere.

The only minor things, which are not complaints, but just to give travelers a heads up are that the beds are a little hard. I recommend that they add some small pillow tops to the beds. And for those of you who have a room that faces the street, there is a local Mosque that has the sunrise call to prayer which is pretty loud because it's right across the street. I personally love the call to prayer sound, and I woke up and took a walk on the deserted cobblestone streets at 6am every morning, but if you like to sleep in a little and you think the call to prayer will wake you, then ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. You'll still hear call to prayer (it's a Muslim-majority country after all), but on the backside, the sound is more muffled.

Enjoy and tell Savash (Owner's son) hello!

Room Tip: Rear rooms on upper floors are more quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrHemlock118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Tashkonak from 27 to 30 December. This was my second time in Istanbul. The location is so great, Agia Sofia was practically our neighbourhood. Lovely building, traditional konak (wooden, multi-floor, no lift), very helpful staff, nice breakfast on a terrace overlooking the Marmara sea. Not too close to restaurants and night life, but the best for sight-seeing and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angkoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I had booked a room for two days and ended up staying 7 nights. It was very cozy and extremely clean. Staff was very helpful, professional and friendly.
Breakfast was varied and served up to 10:30 in a covered terrace with a view to the Bosforo.
Very good value for money, and a very pleasant stay near the main touristic sites.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Me and my family spent a week at Tashkonak Hotel (31 December 2011-7 January 2012).
First of all, the location is perfect, it's situated in a city center, in Sultanahmet. It's just a 3 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. Secondly, we used their transfer service, didn't experience any problems with it. Thirdly, the hotel staff is always ready to help you with everything. The rooms are not so big, but well decorated, in a typical turkish style. Each room has everything you may need - AC, TV, comfy double bed. The hotel itself is very clean and cozy. On the New Year's Eve, after having a walk, we found small new year presents (key rings) at our rooms. We liked everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was also fantastic. Staff were knowledgable with all the places and highlights to see and great at setting up tours for you. I had a pick up at 5am and the staff made sure to pack me a breakfast to take with me. It is difficult to find the hotel so use their free pick up, though I did use local trains just get a taxi at the train stop to hotel. The rooms were nice and simple for the price and location is great. They also kept my luggage while I went to Cappadocia for a few days
.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggertravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our trip to Istanbul. We stayed here for 2N before we headed out to Izmir and Cappadocia. We had lined up the Airport transfer with the hotel and the transfer was right on time and very efficient. It is slightly difficult to get to the hotel on Public transport. To get here, you can take the metro from the airport to the tram changeover station (Zeytinburnu). Catch the tram from this station to the Sultanahmet tram station. From there its a 10 minute walk (downhill) to get to the hotel

Once we got here, check in was quick and our room was great. The only downside was that it was on the Ground floor. No other rooms were available since they were sold out for the Christmas weekend. Ahmed at the front desk was very helpful in pointing out how we could walk to nearby attractions and also educating us about the tram/metro system. All major attractions are a 5-10 minute walk away.

The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The beds are great and the decor of the rooms was also nice and quirky. The breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant. From here you can watch across the Bospherous and look at the Seagulls flying across. The breakfast spread is great with lots of home cooked bread, cheese and fresh fruits. Especially loved the Peach juice being served.

We had booked a further 3N with the Tashknoak Suites and wanted to leave our luggage back at this hotel while we took our trip. They gladly kept our luggage with them for a week and also sent it across to our room which was in the next building on the return leg. Do note that they offer a 8% discount for a Cash payment which I thought was a great bonus. The free wi-fi made it very easy to stay in touch with friends. There is also a PC in the lobby which you can use to send out emails or check facebook.

All in all, a great hotel offering a nice comfortable stay close to all the major attractions

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KetanMohile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#85 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#149 of 1,159 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing