We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Hotel!!”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

What an excellent find - I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. My husband and I stayed for five nights in January 2012 and couldn't have been happier with the experience. Our room was gorgeous, and expertly cleaned every day. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the heater kept us nice and toasty. The hotel itself is tucked down a tiny side street, and it's very quiet at night.

Breakfast is included, and what a feast! There was something for everyone, mostly homemade, and all the Turkish black tea you could drink. Plus, the view from the breakfast cafe is unparalleled, and was a wonderful start to our mornings. We met many people from all over the world each morning, and there was a definite sense of community among the patrons.

You're within easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque, the Hippodrome, the Hagia Sophia museum, the Grand Bazaar and the Topkapi palace, and the Spice Bazaar is only about a 15-20 minute walk away. I also highly recommend you take the tiny ferry to Eyup (ask the staff where to find the ferry building as it's a bit hidden away) for only 2TL per person - a lovely little town practically devoid of tourists.

But the real treasure of this hotel is the staff. We became fast friends with almost all of the front-desk folks, the woman who cleaned our room and the women who run the breakfast cafe. They were always more than happy to help us find a point of interest, suggest a local place to eat (try Doy Doy - delicious!) and help us with our lamentable Turkish.

It was like coming home every evening, and for a couple of travelers who've been on the move for almost six months we were so incredibly grateful for that feeling.

Thank you, staff of the Tashkonak Hotel, for everything, and for making us feel like part of your family - even for our brief stay. We look forward to returning with a bigger Turkish vocabulary, and hopefully without our snow shoes!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PastryNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

My family of four had a wonderful stay for a week at Tashkonak Hotel in a family suite overlooking the Marmara Sea. It felt like home - i.e. like living in a nice apartment. The staff was friendly and very helpful in providing guidance on tourist spots to visit and arranging for our tours. This hotel had the best breakfast selection with a vast array of breads, jams, egg specialties, and typical Turkish relishes. The view from the restaurant of Marmara Sea was spectacular, as we enjoyed breakfast! Overall, this cosy hotel is in a great central location near the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, and Topkapi Palace and close to good restaurants, shops, travel agents and public transportation. We walked to many tourist attractions and hopped on the tram to visit other places further away. The atmosphere, scenery and people made this a wonderful family experience for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ishtiaq V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Nice hotel in sultanhamet. Very kind staff, clean rooms, central position, good price, great breakfast and beautiful view from upside.
Fabrizio

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A little off the beaten track down a side street, yet within a five minute walk of Istanbul's top sights, we found this to be a perfect retreat. Ahmet and Imir on reception were real gentlemen and the staff on the breakfast buffet were attentive and polite. Plus you get a super view of the Sea of Marmara, with the shipping waiting to go through the Bosphorus. See other reviews for the excellence of the breakfast, my personal recommendation would be the home made marmalade - scrumptious!

We visited in chilly January and were always glad to get back from our day's explorations to a cosy warm room.

If, like us, you are on a budget there are two or three inexpensive but friendly restaurants close by for evening meals. By all means go to the sights, but take time too to go downhill to see a little of native Istanbul - the Armenian Church in Kumkapi was one of our most unusual discoveries.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is an excellent choice for both couples and families. It has the intimacy and decor of a boutique hotel, with a family friendly atmosphere.

Some highlights are the delicious buffet (free for guests who stay with you on a nightly basis), the very helpful staff, the gorgeous and romantic decor and the near-perfect location in a beautiful and sleepy location. The views from the breakfast buffet were gorgeous and again the food selection was impressive and delicious - eggs with tomatoes and mild peppers, fresh baked breads, lunch meats and cheeses, and homemade salads. It was a great start to the day.

I say "if physicists ran hotels" b/c although the staff had a deep knowledge of the area and were very intelligent and hopeful, the rooms were on the small side and sometimes there were slight problems with the heating and wifi. Also, the hotel does not have a pool, spa, jacuzzi, work out room - don't go here if you want a "holiday inn" experience, but do go here if you want to visit Istanbul and do so in a relaxing and helpful atmosphere. It was very difficult not to call the hotel "home" I found myself saying "let's go back home" instead of "let's go to the hotel" several times a day. So, the hotel managers are efficient and give you a quality experience at minimal cost without unnecessary contraptions that distract from your experience.

Also, great value! Perfect location, great buffet, minimal cost, I will definitely stay here again if I visit Istanbul

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hello!
First of all, this small hotel is a nice place with a pleasant home atmosphere. The staff is friendly, kind and helpful, the smile on thier faces is sincere.
The location is very good - close to main sights, but in silent place and that is perfect.
Room is clean. Large double room has optimal area for pleasant staying in room, when you have such wish. Matrasses are comfortable (close to hard). Room was warm, that is important when you are staying there in winter.
Breakfasts are held on the terrace with a beautiful view to Marmara Sea. Food is optimal. Everybody can find something tasty for himself. There are vegetables, seasonal fruits, cheeses, yoghurt, milk, jams, honey, omelettes, olives and at alia, coffe, only black tea. Everything is very tasty.
We are glad to our choice and happy with stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OwlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

You can't wrong with the location or the service in this cozy, family-run hotel in walking distance of all the major sites. Located in Sultanahmet district, this quaint hotel is a very short walk from the Marmara sea as well as Ayasofia mosque, Blue mosque, Grand Bazaar, good restaurants, bars, little shops, and stores to get essentials, etc.

We stayed for 3 nights, and from the first moment to the last, we were welcomed with open arms. We traveled with my sister and brother-in-law and their 11month old baby, and we felt right at home. We arrived at 10:30am after a long flight, and they were able to give us our rooms immediately so that we could freshen up and take care of the baby.

They always had good advice on where to go, as well as some decent Turkish coffee when we started to run down. The breakfast buffet is great - mix of European and Middle-Eastern foods. And you eat overlooking the Marmara Sea and can even eat out in the courtyard or on the rooftop veranda where you can see the Blue Mosque. If you're looking for sugary doughnuts and waffles of a typical American breakfast, go to an American chain hotel. However, if you typically like to stay in a traditional location and try to use the language and learn about the culture, stay at Tashkonak!

After breakfast on the second day, they even offered to wash our baby bottles in their dishwasher because we didn't have a good place to clean them well - this example typifies their service and family atmosphere.

The only minor things, which are not complaints, but just to give travelers a heads up are that the beds are a little hard. I recommend that they add some small pillow tops to the beds. And for those of you who have a room that faces the street, there is a local Mosque that has the sunrise call to prayer which is pretty loud because it's right across the street. I personally love the call to prayer sound, and I woke up and took a walk on the deserted cobblestone streets at 6am every morning, but if you like to sleep in a little and you think the call to prayer will wake you, then ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. You'll still hear call to prayer (it's a Muslim-majority country after all), but on the backside, the sound is more muffled.

Enjoy and tell Savash (Owner's son) hello!

Room Tip: Rear rooms on upper floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrHemlock118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#74 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#146 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing