We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Tashkonak Hotel ist perfectly located in the old city of Istanbul close to the Blue Mosque and near Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, Tapcapi Palace. Our room was very nice with a great view on the sea. We had delicious breakfast on the roof-terrace (also with a view on the sea) and afternoon tea in the nice garden of the hotel. The people are very very friendly and take care of all heart. We were very comfortable and felt at home and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
There are newer reviews for Tashkonak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed 4 nights here in a suite with one double bed and one single, small sofa and chairs with coffee table, fridge, some cooking facilities and lovely large bathroom. Very comfortable - I was on the second floor with views over the street and I could sleep with the windows open. Breakfast was served on the rooftop with views over the Bosphorous. It was a really good breakfast and was included in the cost - they make some of their own jams including a yummy orange jam.
Staff were all very helpful and made phone calls for me and arranged taxis. Some friends were staying in the twin rooms in the main hotel and these were much smaller than the suites so I would recommend the suites over the twin rooms. There is a lovely garden/courtyard where you can sit and read and sip tea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in the old city of Istanbul - Sultanahmet - close to the Blue Mosque. You can reach the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia and many other nice buildings as well as restaurants etc in a couple of minutes by foot. The rooms in the hotel are nice and clean including air condition. The breakfast buffet is very good with a broad offering. The service in the hotel is excellent and personal. The hotel has a beautiful terace on the top with a great view on the sea. There is also a terace on the ground floor with a shadow to enjoy on a hot afternoon. The hotel is located in a quiet street, and the only thing you can hear is birds and from to time the Muezzin! For our next trip, we will surely book again a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We arrived in Istanbul in the middle of the night and had booked for a transfer to the hotel, the hotel driver was waiting for us at the Ataturk airport when we arrived and we got to the hotel in 20 minutes.

The room was small but very neat, the bed was comfortable. There is a safe in the room to store your valuables. The bathroom is also neat. The room is cleaned everyday.

The breakfast is served at the roof top terrace and the view is absolutely mindblowing. We were so stunned by it when we walked in. The food is light - they serve eggs, cereals, bread, fruits, cheese, salami, salads, fresh juice etc.

The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. They are willing to direct you to places and there is never a frown when you ask them a lot of questions. Everyone were friendly and respectful. We were 2 women travelling and we felt very safe.

The location is amazing! Blue mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica cistern are literally 5 minutes away from the hotel. Grand Bazaar is 10 minutes if you walk. Topkapi palace is also close by. The Sultanhamet station is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We were in Istanbul for 4 days and we used to go to the Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar almost everyday as it was so close. There are a lot of stores near by. There are a lot of street sellers who try to convince you to buy their stuff, they try coming close and talking but nobody is dangerous, you just need to walk past them if you are not interested in buying.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tashkonak hotel, when we first saw it we were not too sure as it looks like a 3 star hotel but by the end of our trip we were so happy with the hotel and its staff that we cannot imagine staying elsewhere if we go back to Istanbul. We had a 5 star experience for a very affordable price! The service and location are their biggest strengths!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were a group of 2 families and the hotel suited our needs quite well. The rooms were smaller than they appeared on the web site but they were neat and comfortable for the 3 of us ( 2 adults + 1 child). (It would have been too crowded for a family of 4). Breakfast was very nice. We loved the location as we got to have a nice short walk to the central areas such as the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome.
We loved visiting Arasta Bazaar which was located quite close. There is also a small convenience store located nearby which we found helpful ( we got bottled water, snacks etc)
The hotel staff was helpful and friendly-they helped us arrange our daily tours. They even offered us umbrellas when it rained. The other family travelling with us got a very small room at first but then their request for a bigger room was immediately accomodated. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

For a long time, my wife and I had wanted to visit Istanbul. We were finally able to spend a week there in early May. We stayed at the Tashkonak hotel along with our 3 year old son. The service was outstanding and the overall experience was fantastic. We hope to return to Istanbul and when we do, we will definitely consider going back to this hotel. Every single member of the staff without exception was so kind and helpful. As has been pointed out already by other reviewers, being in the Sultanahmet neighborhood, it is in close proximity to all the major tourist attractions and the staff will always take the time to kindly explain different options for touring the city. Although the exact same every day, the breakfast was pretty good and the terrace was very relaxing and provided a great view and was available any time of day for guests. Thank you for being such hospitable hosts!

Room Tip: We booked our reservations through Expedia just for convenience. Judging from the other comments her...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faqir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just come back from Tashonak- it is a very cosy, small hotel, with VERY pleasant, helpful staff. Just a couple of minutes from the famous places (Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, HAggia Sophia), not far from the tram. The staff is very helpful, friendly; they pick you up from the airport without any charges if you stay for more than 2 nights. This is very convenint if you arrive late or for the first time. You cannot expect luxuries- rooms and bathrooms (especially shower) are rather small, but it is good value for money. You can be woken up at 5 in hte morning by the prayer calls from the nearby mosque, but this is the atmospher of the place, and I loved it. We had a room at the very top, with nice view of the Bosphorus. Very quiet area and good location. Breakfast is a good choice, tasty. I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I liked the room on the top floor, with view of the Bosphorus
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgfaSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#73 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#146 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#59 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#20 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing