We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Reception”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Friendly Reception”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent four nights at Tashkonak Hotel recently and can recommend it as a very good mid-price hotel. Staff are friendly, helpful and particularly the breakfast ladies who work hard and are lovely. In an excellent location, just short walk to major attractions. Great views from rooftop breakfast room. Our room was not large but we had our daughter join us at the last minute. Garden terrace excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    445
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
375
519
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our five-night stay at Tashkonak Suites ending July 3 was wonderful. Initially, we had booked a spacious ground floor room which was nice but we requested a change since we wanted more natural light. The hotel staff was very cooperative (thanks Cinan) in switching rooms for us as soon the packed hotel had a vacant room on the first floor. The Suites are a minute's walk from the hotel. The room was amazing with three windows overlooking the road. Cinan and Ahmet who staffed the reception and made us feel at home right away. Ahmet's recommendations of historical sites and cruise tours were very good.
Breakfast was served on a terrace with a panaromic view of the Bosphorus and was sumptuous. The staff there too was attentive to refilling empty bowls on the buffet and were always sporting a smile. The day we arrived at the hotel, we went to check out the terrace where a lady (who, as we learnt later, was heading the kitchen) was kind enough to seat us and give us tea, although the terrace restaurant is open mainly for breakfast only. There is a nice little garden for afternoon tea.
As so many other posts have said, it is superbly located with various monuments and historical sites within walking distance. The nearby Arasta Bazaar is interesting too, though we would not recommend the restaurants there. We lost our way back every single day and found 8 different routes and counting, to reach our hotel - but we are not complaining since that led to our discovering either a new eatery or a shop, or an interesting person to chat with.
We'd stay at Tashkonak again, just for the location and the super-nice staff.

B Mahesh
Bangalore/Mumbai, India

Room Tip: Suites are spacious. Try for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Located a short walk from the "must see" major attractions of Istanbul, the hotel is tucked away on a relatively quiet street, with the Blue Mosque rising behind it. It is best to get a room on the garden side. The staff is very personable, and the desk staff is incredibly helpful. The breakfast room/terrace on the top floor is enough reason to stay, even if the rooms weren't as nice as they are and the staff as pleasant. The unobstructed view looks out over the Sea of Marmara, and the breakfast is wonderful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are somewhat noisy; the rooms on the garden side (I stayed in both) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19avanos00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

the hotel was lovely and the rooms are air conditioned (which is a god send), staff are very freindly and helpful and inan on reception has a great knowlage of the local area and will happily tell you how to get to everywhere, and by what means, ie, trams, underground and bus and the breakfast was lovely with excellent coffee (very important in the morn :-) ) Overall a nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed 4 nights on last trip. Tashkonak has a very good location for the big sights. Rooms are good, if you don't get the first or second floor over the streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

What a difference the staff make to a hotel. Tashkonak is friendly and helpful before you even arrive. They answered my emailed questions promptly and efficiently.
Check in was easy, and they allowed me a very early check-in without fuss or charge.
The rooms are clean and have everything you need - including free wifi internet! Yay!

Whenever I arrived back from a day's walking-tour of Istanbul, the guy at reception would ask how it went and "Did you have any problems?". I never did, but he gave the impression that he'd go sort it out if I did! :)

The breakfast room has a magnificent view and a substantial array of food. And the little courtyard is the perfect place to cool off with a book after a long day.

Highly recommended. I'd stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time. Our arrival and sight-seeing was made much smoother due to Inan, the receptionist, who spoke great English. He made reservations at a fish restaurant on the Galata bridge and a kebab restaurant, both of which I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPhillips91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,149 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#85 of 1,149 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,149 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#139 of 1,149 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,149 in Istanbul
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing