We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, five minutes walk to all the best attractions, cleanliness is good, the folks are helpful. I especially liked the terrace where the breakfasts are organized. Amazing view of the ocean and the Blue Mosque too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anirbanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

The staff are friendly & helpful. Views from the dining area & outdoor deck are great & the Blue Mosque can bee seen through the trees as well as fantastic sea views which we enjoyed most evenings. When it is too hot there is a lovely garden area to sit in the shade.
Wi-fi can be a bit patchy.
While the hotel offers a free transfer to & from the airport for long stays it doesn't apply to the railway station.
It is within walking distance of many major sites & not far from the tram.
A very good breakfast with lots of selections.
The rooms are nicely decorated & furnished. Not large but perfectly adequate & have air con. The are immaculately clean & have good bathrooms.

Room Tip: we have stayed twice & both times had rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tevoleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tashkonak around the festival of Eid and everything just turned out perfect. Rooms, location, staff and customer service. We had teenagers and toddlers in our group all very welcome.

The hotel staff went out of the way on the morning of last day of ramadan to arrange an early morning breakfast service just for us for suhoor as we all were fasting and needed to eat before dawn.

The beds & pillows were comfortable, shower pressure excellant, chilled water bottle in the room fridge, AC worked like a charm and breakfast was plenty. All in all a hassle free family trip thanks to tashkonak.

Note: The hotel doesnot have a lift so difficult for elderly guests or people with knee issues to get to the terrace breakfast room or the rooms allocated on 2nd or 3rd floor

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sadaffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for one night - the service that we got here is superb, I must say. Everything is just so perfect. Staff were very much friendly and accomodating. I would definitely come back and will surely recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveAccad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel was just 5 minutes away from the most important sightseeings of Istanbul. Also it was very close to the public transport. The stuff was very helpfull and friendly. As for the rooms, We stayed in a triple. It was very big, it was nice decorated, It had a/c, tv, and finally, it was very clean. Everyday we had our towels changed. The breakfast, could had more variety, but what they had were tastefull. To the cons, I would say that some details needed more attention, like the doors that weren't closing well, and some plasters in the wall needed to be fixed. Finally, I'm not disabled, but I can't think what a disabled person would do If he wanted to stay in this hotel, because they didn't even have an elevator. The finding is that this hotel was very cheap, and it offered very good services, for such a low price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispychristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very nice hotel at very good price, great service!
Room not big and expect to live in your luggage but for a 3 day short stay it was perfect.
Reception staff were always keen to help with lots of local

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MahmoudLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very well located, walking distance to Hippodrome, Bleu Mosque, etc. Quiet street with no traffic. Nice terrasse and excellent roof top breakfast with incredible vue of the ocean and Bleu Mosque.
Room not big and expect to live in your luggage but for a 3 day short stay it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martintanguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#83 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,807 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#59 of 1,163 in Istanbul
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#44 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing