We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character but not luxury”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Other reviewers are right about the location. Couldn't be better, right in Sultanahmet, close to the Blue Mosque and just a short walk from many local restaurants. And also right about the friendly and helpful service. Note that the main TripAdvisor picture is not of the hotel, but of the nearby suites. This review is of the hotel.

The rooms were clean, but by no means luxurious. We had booked a standard double, and when we arrived we were shown to a very small (tiny) room on the third floor with a run down bathroom. We made our disappointment known to the front desk who showed us to another room on the ground floor (106), which was larger and where the bathroom was better maintained, albeit small, with shower only, which was fine for us. Beyond an armchair, the furniture in the room (one bedside table, wardrobe and small dressing table) was really cheap veneer woodwork which rather detracted from the rest of the room. Upgrading that alone would make a huge difference. We moved a small stool at the dressing table and used it as a second bedside table. The double bed was two singles pushed together, but comfortable enough. There are no in room tea/coffee facilities.

The room overlooked the street which was a bit noisy into the night with the hubbub of the local area. That didn't bother us, but the walls between rooms are extremely thin and the people in the room next door were early risers...

We found the buffet breakfast to be pretty average, but as others have said, served on a rooftop terrace with good views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulhZ9321KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I moved out of a dirty hostel after finding this as a late booking. I thought I landed in paradise! I am solo traveller and got a triple bedded room. It is spotless, quiet, excellent location and front of house could not be more helpful. It has soul. It has no bar area, that would have been nice but that is not the fault of the hotel it is as it is. Good breakfast and the girls serving were smiling and happy so that says a lot.

Room Tip: Room 102 was quiet. I don't know any others. It has a lovely ceiling transfer/painting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexa_mackay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights (in a room in a comfortable clean room for three), based on a friend's positive recommendation. First an ideal spot- right in the shadow of the blue mosque. We could walk around until later in the evening and the hotel was just blocks away down safe streets. The breakfast was delicious, located on the top floor of the hotel with a breathtaking view of the Marmara sea and the Bosphorus. Tea was available every day in a sweet little courtyard terrace in the back of the hotel. The best was the wonderful staff who really knew the knew the best spots but had recommendations (and he was right) for everything. Hakan was especially helpful, speaking in Turkish he sorted out an airline booking mistake and saved us grief and money. There are a lot of places to stay, but this one is one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Due to its great reviews and great price my girlfriend and I stayed here for a week. On arrival we were told to drop our things in the room and we would be shown around. We assumed incorrectly around the hotel, but were surprised when a member of staff Ismail walked us around the streets sorting for us our location to everything and how to get the best out of this fun city.
Istanbul is vibrant, with lots of fountains and history. There is much to see and do. Tashkonak Hotel is right where you want to be staying close to Sultanahmet. It’s behind the Blue Mosque close to everything. Istanbul is completely walkable too from here.10 minutes walking is the tram and main street. Shopping is brilliant and you can tram it to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market or Kabatas ( where you can take a ferry to the Bosphorus Islands) or the funicular to Taksim Square.
The staff of Tashkonak are most helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble to sort. They booked a day tour to Gallipoli without fuss ( a must!! if Aussie or Kiwi) and their pick-up service at the airport was professionally arranged. We had major issues with our airline and spent all night ( at least 6 hours) with hotel staff trying to sort. Can’t thank them enough for all their efforts.
The rooms are big, clean and with a TV, ours overlooked the beautiful courtyard which ( with a bottle of wine)we made use of at the end of every really long day. Breakfast buffets are to dream about with homemade preserves, juices, fruits and lots of home cooked pastries. There was a cute little terraced fruit and veggie garden visible from our bedroom window. There is nothing you won’t find here and the two gorgeous girls in charge we missed so very much on our departure ( along with their scrummy breakies)The view from the rooftop breakfast room over the water is stunning and some mornings we found it hard to leave. There is a feeling in this hotel that you are stopping with a Turkish family and that they are all related.
The hotel has an annex one block away too which is apparently for families. Also looked really nice. Don’t forget to ask the staff about great restaurants to eat in. Their recommendations were sound and very inexpensive. We bought oriental carpets and beautiful lights all with directions from reception. Jewellery, pottery, woollen fabric and leather goods are also great buys here too. There is no real need to take a tour of the city, it is easy to navigate on foot. All the mosques, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya, Obelisk and Bosphorus can be seen without a tour.
Well guys you didn’t get rid of us that easily, we are already planning our next visit, see you all next year and thanks for a brilliant stay in 2013, you are a great team, and many many thanks to Ismail for his help throughout!!! Thanks for Jennys birthday cake also. It was a great surprise and very thoughtful of you all. Thanks for the great weather also. See you in 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The location of this hotel was great. It was tucked away, off of the main streets, but in easy walking distances to many of Istanbul's "must sees". Our room was of average size based on European standards. The breakfast room was on the top floor with great views. The breakfast itself was lovely, with several options to choose from. A great way to start off the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnevanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed 3 days in Sept. and found this hotel well suited to our requirements. The location was ideal being a short walk from the Sultanahmet, Topkapi etc. The room was fine with a ceiling decoration apparently inspired by Isnik tile designs. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the views over the Golden Horn from the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served were a definite bonus. The price was very reasonable considering the location. Note that parking in this area is difficult.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dascomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This place has a very homey feel with wonderful staff. It is located in the heart of the old city, about 10 minutes' walk from the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia. Make sure to get up early to grab breakfast as the view there is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,176 in Istanbul
718 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#60 of 1,176 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#78 of 1,176 in Istanbul
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,176 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#162 of 1,176 in Istanbul
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#41 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing