We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here with 6 other ladies for 3 nights. We took advantage of the airport transfer service, which was excellent. All of our rooms were lovely; 3 shared a huge room on the ground floor, 2 shared a room on the second floor and I shared a room on the third floor. Please note that there is no lift, so if you struggle with stairs this would not be recommended, as the breakfast room is on the fourth floor. We were given a lovely welcome and the Manager gave us superb advice on what we could do in Istanbul as we were only there a short time. We negotiated a price with him for a walking tour and he kindly arranged this for us, and the tour was absolutely fantastic and a meal was included as part of the day. He then kindly arranged a further boat trip for us on the following day, especially as it was 11.50 pm at night when we asked him if there was any possibility he could arrange this. He very kindly arranged this and it was also very good. The rooms are lovely and clean, nice bathroom with shower, and working air con, also a fridge. Please note that there is not a kettle in the room, but i had packed one so this was not a problem and you can milk and water at the shop next door. The Breakfast was lovely and the Breakfast room had fantastic views across the city. This Hotel is in easy walking distance of all the sights. This is certainly a hotel i would return to when I visit Istanbul again!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    441
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
374
517
100
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent 4 nights in this hotel. We received free airport pick-up for booking 4 nights, which was very convenient and handled smoothly. The location of the hotel is perfect, a short walk to the Sultanhamet Square area and the tram, but in a quiet side street away from the hustle & bustle. We had a double room at the back, overlooking the nice garden. It was quiet and comfortable. The rooms are not luxurious or ultra-modern, but are spotlessly clean and pleasant. The included breakfast was fantastic - everything was fresh and homemade and there was a good selection of hot and cold items. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but not in the slightest bit pushy. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants, helped us to make a reservation at a hammam and arranged a taxi to the airport for us. The breakfast staff were also friendly and welcoming. The only slight negative was that the wifi wasn't so reliable - when it worked, it worked well, but sometimes it didn't work at all. I'm not sure if this was just a problem in our room or throughout the hotel. It was not enough of a problem to stop me from recommending this hotel. I'd certainly stay there again if I were to return to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louloulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Location first of all was amazing. Placed strategically near all the matters , it was perfect to witness all that was important in our 3 day stay. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating as a gentlemen named Ismail went out of his way to contact family back home to let know we safely arrived. Hotel was boutiques' and very clean. Breakfast was amazing on the rooftop looking over the beautiful mosque and landscape of the city. Would recommend for the fact it's very accommodating and priced right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Other reviewers are right about the location. Couldn't be better, right in Sultanahmet, close to the Blue Mosque and just a short walk from many local restaurants. And also right about the friendly and helpful service. Note that the main TripAdvisor picture is not of the hotel, but of the nearby suites. This review is of the hotel.

The rooms were clean, but by no means luxurious. We had booked a standard double, and when we arrived we were shown to a very small (tiny) room on the third floor with a run down bathroom. We made our disappointment known to the front desk who showed us to another room on the ground floor (106), which was larger and where the bathroom was better maintained, albeit small, with shower only, which was fine for us. Beyond an armchair, the furniture in the room (one bedside table, wardrobe and small dressing table) was really cheap veneer woodwork which rather detracted from the rest of the room. Upgrading that alone would make a huge difference. We moved a small stool at the dressing table and used it as a second bedside table. The double bed was two singles pushed together, but comfortable enough. There are no in room tea/coffee facilities.

The room overlooked the street which was a bit noisy into the night with the hubbub of the local area. That didn't bother us, but the walls between rooms are extremely thin and the people in the room next door were early risers...

We found the buffet breakfast to be pretty average, but as others have said, served on a rooftop terrace with good views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhZ9321KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I moved out of a dirty hostel after finding this as a late booking. I thought I landed in paradise! I am solo traveller and got a triple bedded room. It is spotless, quiet, excellent location and front of house could not be more helpful. It has soul. It has no bar area, that would have been nice but that is not the fault of the hotel it is as it is. Good breakfast and the girls serving were smiling and happy so that says a lot.

Room Tip: Room 102 was quiet. I don't know any others. It has a lovely ceiling transfer/painting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexa_mackay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights (in a room in a comfortable clean room for three), based on a friend's positive recommendation. First an ideal spot- right in the shadow of the blue mosque. We could walk around until later in the evening and the hotel was just blocks away down safe streets. The breakfast was delicious, located on the top floor of the hotel with a breathtaking view of the Marmara sea and the Bosphorus. Tea was available every day in a sweet little courtyard terrace in the back of the hotel. The best was the wonderful staff who really knew the knew the best spots but had recommendations (and he was right) for everything. Hakan was especially helpful, speaking in Turkish he sorted out an airline booking mistake and saved us grief and money. There are a lot of places to stay, but this one is one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossie
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Due to its great reviews and great price my girlfriend and I stayed here for a week. On arrival we were told to drop our things in the room and we would be shown around. We assumed incorrectly around the hotel, but were surprised when a member of staff Ismail walked us around the streets sorting for us our location to everything and how to get the best out of this fun city.
Istanbul is vibrant, with lots of fountains and history. There is much to see and do. Tashkonak Hotel is right where you want to be staying close to Sultanahmet. It’s behind the Blue Mosque close to everything. Istanbul is completely walkable too from here.10 minutes walking is the tram and main street. Shopping is brilliant and you can tram it to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market or Kabatas ( where you can take a ferry to the Bosphorus Islands) or the funicular to Taksim Square.
The staff of Tashkonak are most helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble to sort. They booked a day tour to Gallipoli without fuss ( a must!! if Aussie or Kiwi) and their pick-up service at the airport was professionally arranged. We had major issues with our airline and spent all night ( at least 6 hours) with hotel staff trying to sort. Can’t thank them enough for all their efforts.
The rooms are big, clean and with a TV, ours overlooked the beautiful courtyard which ( with a bottle of wine)we made use of at the end of every really long day. Breakfast buffets are to dream about with homemade preserves, juices, fruits and lots of home cooked pastries. There was a cute little terraced fruit and veggie garden visible from our bedroom window. There is nothing you won’t find here and the two gorgeous girls in charge we missed so very much on our departure ( along with their scrummy breakies)The view from the rooftop breakfast room over the water is stunning and some mornings we found it hard to leave. There is a feeling in this hotel that you are stopping with a Turkish family and that they are all related.
The hotel has an annex one block away too which is apparently for families. Also looked really nice. Don’t forget to ask the staff about great restaurants to eat in. Their recommendations were sound and very inexpensive. We bought oriental carpets and beautiful lights all with directions from reception. Jewellery, pottery, woollen fabric and leather goods are also great buys here too. There is no real need to take a tour of the city, it is easy to navigate on foot. All the mosques, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya, Obelisk and Bosphorus can be seen without a tour.
Well guys you didn’t get rid of us that easily, we are already planning our next visit, see you all next year and thanks for a brilliant stay in 2013, you are a great team, and many many thanks to Ismail for his help throughout!!! Thanks for Jennys birthday cake also. It was a great surprise and very thoughtful of you all. Thanks for the great weather also. See you in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#161 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing