We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, helpful staff, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #86 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Badajoz, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, helpful staff, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were really happy with the service we received at Tashkonak Hotel. They accomodated us at the last minute, and were very happy to give us plenty of helpful tourist tips. It is located right near the Blue Mosque, close to all the most important attractions in Istanbul. I would highly reccommend it!

Room Tip: There are two buildings, but only one has the breakfast room in it. I would try to choose this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    444
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
375
518
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights in Feb. Three adults stayed in one of the suites. The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. Anything we needed help with was attended to immediately. Breakfast was very good and the ladies working there were friendly and good cooks. The location is an easy walk to Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. When back in Istanbul I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want more room get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at the Tashkonak for a 4 night break at the end of February this year.
Made our booking based on the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and the central location of the Hotel.
The Hotel is fairly average in terms of state of rooms, décor etc, Certainly extremely clean, but décor a bit tired and rooms a wee bit small, as are the beds!!
Noise is a real problem with very poor soundproofing between rooms, particularly if your neighbour leaves the bathroom fan on thro the night!!
Definitely not a Hotel for anyone with a mobility problem, as there is no lift and the breakfast room is 3 floors up, and there is no lift. Having said this I'm sure the Hotel Staff would strive to accommodate this issue.
The only meal available was breakfast, which was pretty good and available for a reasonable period of time. There are loads of cafes and restaurants around the immediate area, so eating out is not a problem.
Staff were helpful and always available.
WiFi is pretty patchy, especially on the ground floor at the back of the hotel.
The immediate area outside the Hotel is pretty run down and initially disconcerting, but seemed pretty safe when walking back to the Hotel at night.

The Tashkonak is reasonable value for money, central for all the major sights and has a helpful staff team.
Would probably rate it as a 2 Star hotel for its amenities, but offering very good customer service.
Don't think the rave reviews on TripAdvisor are quite justified, but everyones entitled to their opinion!!

Room Tip: Go high, probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchtiescouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in February 2014, and were very impressed with the service and value of this hotel. Our room was clean, breakfast was very good, and all the staff we encountered were professional and friendly. The location is great: close to the Hagia Sofia and Topkapi Palace attractions, and in walking distance to the Galata Bridge. Right next door is a little store to buy snacks and drinks. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FallsChurchTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanton, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel very friendly, gracious staff and always available. The hotel is perfectly placed in the center of the old town near the Blue Mosque.
The rooms are very cleaned and confortable. The curtains are a bit short, and let go a little too light.
The breakfast is very good. it may be lack of fresh orange juice and dried fruit (dried dates, dried grapes ..), but that's a detail. (spécial thanks to the very kind women of the breakfast, specialy LULAN)
A very good place and a very good value for money. Families with children are very well received


Hotel très sympathique, personnel avenant et toujours disponible. L'hotel est parfaitement placé, en plein centre de la vieille ville près de la mosquée bleue.
Les chambres sont très propres et confortables. Les rideaux sont un peu courts, et laissent un peu trop passer la lumière.
Le petit déjeuner est très bon. il manque peut etre du jus de d'orange frais et plus de fruits secs (dates, raisins..), mais c'est un détail.
Une très bonne adresse et un très bon rapport qualité prix. les familles avec enfants sont très bien reçues.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine, Algeria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My stay in this hotel during my first visit to istanbul had made the whole experience unforgetable. The location is strategic, the blue mosque, aya Sophia, Topkapi palace, mosaic museum and the sea are close. Confortable and clean rooms, interesting views, especially from the terrasse where you can have a fresh and diversified breakfast. The friendly, smiling and helpful crew makes you feel at home, and willing to come back there. For me istanbul is connected to Tahshkonak hotel!!
Fatiha
Algeria

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a chance to stay here for 4D3N quick holiday. The staff especially Mr Ismael was very helpful. We got a 3 bed in a singld room. Not to spacey but it is comfortable for us. Main attractions like Blue mosque, aya sophia and most important the tramp is just 5-10 minutes away from Tashkonak. Breakfast on the rooftop was interesting. It would be better if they can change the menu on daily basis. Overall it was a pleasure to us to stay at Tashkonak!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing